We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Ye Olde Good Time & Good Meal”
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Ye Olde Good Time & Good Meal”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have to say this was one of the most pleasant dining experiences of my life and for sure the most pleasant from my stay in Manchester. Myself and my mom stayed at the Equinox a couple weeks ago for our annual birthday trip and while we usually eat dinner on that property I decided to do some research and venture out. I am so happy I did. I saw this place online and it looked exactly like the type of place myself and my mother enjoy. It is such a cute old tavern that reeks of history in a very nice location with a very good early bird special deal with lots of dinner choices. Between 5:00-5:59 you get a fantastic meal for just under 18 bucks. I was sure to make reservations as I can tell they are very much appreciated here and also I was sure to be in by 5:59. Myself and my mom both got the chicken pot pie on the special. First we got very nice and soft warm bread along with cranberry fritters which were phenomenal . There was also some kind of nice butter that went along with the bread I think maybe maple that was very tasty. Then we got the house salad and it was delicious. It had a very tasty dressing and blue cheese crumbles. After that we got our chicken pot pies which were both excellent and my mom is hard to please but she loved it. We also got a side of green beans and coleslaw which were both good. After our meals we had a choice of desert. We both went with the vanilla ice cream with hot fudge and the vanilla ice cream was very very good. It kind of had a real old fashioned homemade flair to it, it was delicious. Our waitress was also very attentive and kind.

At the end of our meal a lady who I think was the owner was nice enough to give us a history/tour of the place when she saw myself and my mom looking around. The tavern is interesting because it has all these different history filed rooms and one room even had an original brick oven fire place and we were told about how people would cook by hanging pots over the fire. I honestly can’t wait to go back and I plan on being in the Manchester area again at the end of this week and I have already repeatedly told my boyfriend that we are making reservations for us and his parents. I want to try the turkey dinner it sounded very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
WOW, what an awesome review, thanks! I am so happy that your daughter and you enjoyed your evening at our historic tavern. Jeannette (Our General Manager), was the one who gave you a tour and I will let you her know that you mentioned it. I look forward to having you return with your boyfriend. Hopefully we will have a chance to meet. Have a great 4th of July. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    232
    83
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner meal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very good food . Well prepared and presented. I had the glazed chicken. I have eaten there before and have always enjoyed and make it a point to return.The service was excellent as always.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bill,
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review and being a 'repeat customer'. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester vt
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner on a Monday night”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you Jeanette for squeezing us in and Tiffany for taking great care of us. Delicious meal and great service. See you next time

Helpful?
Thank Juleshc2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for joining us. I will pass on your thanks to Jeannette and Tiffany. We look forward to seeing you soon! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alden, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Pot Roast Ever!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I went up to Manchester for a weekend getaway last fall and decided to try Ye Olde Tavern. We loved it! We didn't need reservations and the service was excellent. The atmosphere is casual, but the food is not. The pot roast was excellent and my husband had pork and liked that too. There is a wide selection to choose from.

My daughter and I are heading that way in a couple of weeks, and plan on dining there. If you're in Manchester, don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Tracy,
Thank you for the kind words and dining with us. I am thrilled you found the pot roast 'THE BEST EVER' and your husband enjoyed his meal too. We look forward to having your daughter and you join us in a couple of weeks. Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming.....”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A step back in time to this wonderful restaurant. We advise reservations since it it such a popular place to spend a few hours enjoying the food, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
'Warm and Welcoming" is exactly what are goal is. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to your next visit. Have a great 4th of July. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing