We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great meal and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We found this place on tripadvisor and were not let down. Restaurant looks very nice, staff is friendly and knows their business. Had a wonderful meal and I recommend everybody to have dinner here if you love freshly cocked meals and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your kind comments. We are so pleased, you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere.

We look forward to your next dining experience at our historic tavern. Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    228
    83
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just great all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great ambiance, wonderful server and service, fantastic (really!) food, baby artichoke, brook trout and sea scallops in our case were fresh and delicately prepared, at incredibly good prices. Maybe make a reservation in peak season....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
"Just Great All Around", is such a wonderful way to title your review, thanks!
All of us at Ye Olde Tavern are delighted to read that you enjoyed a food,
service and price. The impression you had of our restaurant is exactly what we
hope every one of our guests takes with them when they leave. We truly
appreciate your wonderful feedback and look forward to your return visit. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ye Olde Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

While in Manchester, we always eat here. Outstanding food and great ambiance. Great staff who are always friendly. For that extra special treat, when done eating get the (I believe it's called) the Chocolate Bombe. Extra rich chocolate layer cake with flaming brandy finish. Outstanding!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
David,
Thank you for reviewing your evening at Ye Olde Tavern. The greatest compliment we can receive is your repeat business. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. The chocolate bombe is in addition to tasting awesome, is a fun dessert to serve, you get to flambé it tableside.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
226 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Loved the ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a lovely meal and great service. The restaurant offers a price fixe meal before 6pm which includes salad, dinner with sides and dessert. The homemade ale is a winner. There was nothing to complain about here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Sandy,
Thank you for the kind words and dining with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Tavern experience and were able to take advantage of the Early Bird Menu. Until next time, cheers! Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CHARM AND WARMTH ALL IN ONE RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We dined at the Ye Old Tavern last night and had a charming and welcoming experience. The Garden Room is an oasis in any season, bringing the beauty of the outdoors inside, without the heat! Marie was our waitress and could not have been more professional, helpful, and lovely. The restaurant was quite busy and despite the crowd, she managed to pay attention to her tables with grace and humor. Our appetizers and entrees were as artistically presented as they were delicious. Flavors were clean and very fresh. There are so many options available on the menu, that are sure to please any palate. Ye Old Tavern is an experience not to be missed if you enjoy carefully orchestrated food, a charming ambiance, service that is top notch, and an atmosphere that allows you to relax and enjoy your special evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Claudia,
Wow, I am speechless. a big THANK YOU from all of us for your wonderful
review and your visit! From our server team to our kitchen brigade, we were
delighted to see that "the food was artistically presented and delicious"
and the "service was professional, helpful and lovely”. Your comments
will be shared with the staff and especially Marie. She has been a valued
member of our team for 13 years and we love working with her. Our chefs take
great pride in there work and happy it showed. I must agree, the Garden
Room is beautiful with its hand hewn beams, wood stove, antique 'tchotchke' and
abundance of plants.

Many thanks again and we look forward to your return! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing