We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to stay, but rude”
Review of The Red Sled

The Red Sled
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Sled
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to stay, but rude”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during a hiking trip because Manchester Center is a great town for resupply! This place was a bit outdated, but clean. We couldn't get the TV to work for the LONGEST time because they have a very complicated remote, and they do not have regular tv they have Netflix and the connection was off.

The next morning we needed to go in to town and needed a ride, like we were offered. First he tried to tell me to hitchhike and then he said they were going in ten minutes anyway and if we could get ready we could just go with them. We got ready as fast as we could, but didn't tidy up the room since we were getting our backpacks organized and staying another night. Upon returning the owner said the housekeeper was APPALLED at the way we left the room (clean piles of clothes, stuff sacks on floor- we were backpacking!) and that we should give her a good tip. They never said anything about housekeeping before and didn't offer a "do not disturb" tag. I thought it was rude of him to lecture me.

There was no AC and no screens on the windows so if you wanted to cool the room down you had to deal with bugs.

The next day he asked us to hitchhike to town and to the trailhead, even though previously he offered us rides (for $5).

We were told laundry was $5, but upon giving it back to me the woman said "actually it's more money cause your clothes seemed heavy, so it's $8." Fine, but that would have been nice to have been told ahead of time.

It's a place to stay, but I felt very uncomfortable there!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kswantita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Sirs,
Of the hundreds of hikers we take each year; I have to say, this gentleman was the only exception.
This couple came off the road and asked for a room, they were shown a room and expressed immediate satisfaction.
Firstly, they asked if a ride was available to town about 1 1/2 miles away; we said if a member of the staff would be going to town they were welcome to a ride at no cost.
The following morning they checked out and went for breakfast to a local diner. They returned and asked to stay another night, by now the room had been cleaned by a housekeeper who voiced despair to us at the filthy state the room was left in, it had taken her more than an hour to clean. This was mentioned with kindly words to the gentleman who then apologized with comments (to me the writer) and said it would not happen again.
They were also informed as is every hiker that the standard Laundry was $5.00 per small bundle which is hiker usual, but, that it was charged by weight. Their bundle being much larger, it carried $8.00 We were never asked for a do not disturb sign, nor was it ever mentioned.
Thank you
John Hullican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Recently, we stayed at the Red Sled Motel for a skiing week. The rooms have been renewed to an excellent standard, comfortable, clean and charming with many decorative features.
Our hosts were informative, ready and willing to help at all times.
We will be back in the summer to see the many new plans the owners have for that season, some of which are already in place.
Jan & Chris in PA

Room Tip: All good vakue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at the Red Sled Motel during the Vermont Summer Festival "Horse Show". I speak first to the quality of the central air conditioning system which was quiet and consistent in temperature. Then there was the stocked trout pond with plenty of room for casting and tying on the manicured grassy slopes.

The rooms are well kept with all the ammenties. The next time I visit Manchester, I will go back to the Red Sled

Tricia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have stayed at The Red Sled many times and enjoyed it each time. The pool is great and very clean, as are the rooms and the entire property. Enjoyed the outdoor fire at night, a grat way to meet other travelers. Looking forword to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital District, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My husband and I took a spur of the moment trip over Memorial Day weekend and we came upon a quaint little motel named the “The Red Sled” in beautiful Manchester, Vermont. We had a wonderful experience. Our room was lovely; it contained everything that is important to me. It was spacious; it had very comfortable mattresses; a clean, well kept bathroom with plenty of hot water; a flat screen TV; and a view of the mountains that left me feeling serene and relaxed. I was surprised to see our room even contained hand crafted furniture. Before retiring for the night we sat on the motel’s back deck (overlooking the pond, fields and mountains) and enjoyed the wonderful fresh air of Vermont.
There is a lot to see and do in the Manchester area and I’m hoping to bring my kids and grandkids back sometime soon. The outdoor pool was being opened for the season and will surely be a big hit with the kids.
Mary Beth

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynlady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amenia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The place is a dump,heat sucks, cleanliness is a hit and miss. owner is elusive, and gone quite often. Not worth the money !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebond49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Owners were not present during the stay of this guest due to a lease agreement. Owners returned in June and were greeted by an intolerable mess to clean up.
We hope we have done a great job and would welcome any return guests.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

This was the WORST motel experience I have ever had. We called to book the room that day and the manager/ owner knew we were driving up in one of the worst storms in years. We got there at 11 pm plus the owner knew we had been driving for hours. He lied to my boyfriend saying the heat was on and the room was warm. We got into the room, the heat was all the way off and it was literally 50 degrees. It took an hour to heat up, since it has old electric baseboard heaters. As I tried to get warm under the covers, I was welcomed by a huge, disgusting black fly in the sheets! The next morning I woke up to NO hot water for a shower and then proceeded to wait 2 hours for a plow to come. It had snowed over 2 feet and even at 9 am (Stratton opens at 8am) a plow still had not come. We had to dig/ push ourselves out by hand, because of course there was no shovel or help from the owner. When I called to reason with the owner and ask for a refund he proceeded to, get this, yell at me saying that the heat was on, there was hot water, that I should have said something the next morning and not that night and on and on. (Of course he never mentioned not plowing.)

Completely unprofessional, on top of the place being uninhabitable!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneEP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
We are sorry, but the heat and hot water were both working fine as we knew you were coming. As for the weather conditions: we have no control over and no matter how many times we called the plowing contractor, it was a case of "when I can get there" due of course to the horrendous unexpected amount of snowfall overnight. Our apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Sled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Sled

Property: The Red Sled
Address: 2066 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-4464
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Sled 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Red Sled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Sled Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing