We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely luxury with easy-going hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The Inn was recommended at 8pm in a service station in Manchester. We had just been spooked by growling noises on the Appalachian Trail, were cold, hungry and desperate for somewhere to stay. Luckily, Frank took us in and quickly rang the local bar to ensure we got last food orders and a well-needed beer. The Inn soothed our nerves with a hot shower, complimentary toiletries, warm room and comfy bed. The following morning we had time to explore the Inn with it's great collection of interesting books. Frank is a keen cyclist and well-travelled. The only negative is the price - the most expensive on our trip. It really felt like home and we were reluctant to leave the sunny garden with huge trees. Highly recommended as a base for surrounding activities as well as for relaxation.

Room Tip: All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

The hosts are very friendly, and I recommend the inn highly. The room and the inn was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good. The only downside was the walls were a little thin so you could hear some noise from the other rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gparch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed here for our 2nd time, only this last visit, we went with another couple that we know. We got the BEST deal EVER; $100.00 per night for EVERY room in the place, which was offered via email ! Innkeeper Julie was away on a trip, so Janet checked us in upon arrival.

Our room,Lavender was the same room we had during our prior stay back in '07, and it was just as enjoyable as our 1st visit, only better as they NOW have TV's in ALL rooms, which they didn't during our 1st visit.

Janet made some phone calls to local restaurants to check on what was opened/closed as we stayed on Easter Sunday and NOTHING was open in town other than a handful of places. Frank had suggested Ye Tavern Restaurant, but we opted for Mulligans which was right across the street from the Inn. We should have taken Frank's suggestion.

Anyways, our arrival went well and we enjoyed some good conversation with Janet, and the Innkeepers dog Chai was adorable. Frank's breakfast on Monday morning was DELICIOUS as usual. Conversation with Innkeeper Frank was just as enjoyable this time around if not better. He's a great guy with that good old southern hospitality, as is Janet his Assistant. *The ONLY negative comment I can think of for this place-bring your own pillows to sleep on.* The beds are INCREDIBLY COMFORTABLE.

Lastly, before I forget, as Frank and Julie have mentioned on thier web site, they now have a small frig in the kirchen area set aside after hours for all guests to enjoy. It has bottled water and milk/1/2 n 1/2 & cream and if you bring something of your own that needs to be chilled. Also a new Keurig coffee maker is installed for added pleasure/convenience at NO extra charge.

*We had a great frugal lunch @ Friendly's down the road.

All in all, if you want to stay at a BnB, you CAN'T do better than THIS place for a GREAT place to stay in Manchester, Vt.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrenAndBob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

What a great place! My first experience in a B&B. I couldn't have asked for anything better. Frank and Julie are friends from the minute you meet them. The Inn is home. Everything is there that you could want. I was so pleased with my stay and now that I have seen the area close by, I plan to return to the Inn and travel to other places in Vermont. It's not often you can say "I'm going home for my vacation."

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandma4xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Taking a little respite from the everyday and celebrating our 5th anniversary we decided to go to Vermont. I had originally looked into this property but waited till last minute to book due to the unpredictable weather we have been having. When we were ready to book they were sold out but we decided to travel to Vermont anyway. Upon being lost looking for an alternate hotel I decided to call the Inn to see if they had a cancellation and to our surprise they did have a vacancy for all the days we needed!

Frank & Julie the Innkeepers are wonderful! The place is beautiful! The room was perfect (we stayed in the Sage Suite) quiet, clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. The location is perfect for just about anything you want to do in this area. I would highly recommend you looking into this property rather than the more pricey high end hotel in the area which is noisy and ultra expensive. Can't say enough about the Inn at Manchester. Loved the whole time we were there it made our stay complete. Shout out to Chai the adorable poodle that is the Innkeepers dog. So friendly and lovable.

Try the Perfect Wife for dinner, Zoeys (Double Hex) for lunches, Up at Breakfast for breakfast. The shopping is marvelous!!! and the British school of Falconry/Equinox class was the thrill of a lifetime! Getting to handle a live Harris Hawk was awesome! Oh and you need to go to the Orvis store...beautiful.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gca665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Visited the Inn a little after the fall foilage season. Manchester is a nice town, very charming. The Inn was very pleasant, and the hosts were extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Our room had a king bed and a fireplace that got extremely hot. Breakfast was very nice and tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NjHyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We just returned from another enjoyable stay at this B&B, our third time there. I often depend on Trip Advisor when travelling so I decided to write another review just to let everyone know that The Inn at Manchester is consistently excellent. Owners Frank and Julie are genuinely nice, very warm and welcoming, and they aim to please. This is a beautiful, immaculate B&B with extremely comfortable beds and wonderful bed linens (so wonderful that I purchased a set of the sheets last year because I loved them so much and bought another set this year because they are that good---worth every penny). For the last 20 years, Manchester has been our winter get away place and we have stayed at many of the inns, some very rustic (so rustic they are one step above camping), some very luxurious and upscale (with prices and attitudes to go along with them), and then there is The Inn at Manchester----the only one we want to, and will, come back to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbdbpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
434 reviews
3.7 mi away
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £122 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester
The Inn At Manchester Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing