We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy, quaint and inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cozy, quaint and inviting”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Didn't get to meet Frank (out of town) , but Julie was and she has the 'southern hospitality' charm which is so awesome! We felt so welcome and just part of a family-like atmosphere...when we wanted our 'time alone and space' we had that also. Breakfasts were a real treat...not 5-star restaurant quality, but certainly tasty and filling. Fresh fruit and coffee/tea was offered along with fresh baked muffins and such were a daily offering. It was so relaxing being in a comfortable environment for the weekend. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escape4alifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    49
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
357
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

frank & julie and their daughter are great people, and they have a really cute dog, but i didn't love my stay here. i stayed in the cinnamon room, which looks much nicer in the pictures online. it's in the back up a steep flight of stairs covered in worn industrial carpeting. the shower stall barely allows room to turn around, and there is a stained glass window right next to the bed that allows in the brightest 6am sunlight. the second night i was able to rectify it using one of the throw pillows and by draping my sweater over the valance rod.

breakfast is no frills - like not even fruit. i wrote to them 6 months before my trip to make sure they could accommodate my food allergies and then again 2 months before to confirm. i was assured they could handle anything. when i checked in, their daughter said they had my allergies covered. well, they weren't prepared for me after all. breakfast was toast with an egg and cheese on top - i am dairy-free and gluten-free and cannot eat egg yolks. so julie asked me what i would like for breakfast, offering gluten-free toast. ok...i said maybe scrambled egg whites and gluten-free toast and fruit. the egg whites were greasy and unseasoned, but the toast was good. day 2, i got gluten-free pancakes, but they, too, had no flavor whatsoever (cinnamon? vanilla? no? no.) and it was, seriously, just pancakes on a plate. no fruit.

hubby had what was served to everyone else but was also surprised by the lack of fruit and on french toast day, no eggs for protein (he's a vegetarian, so declined the sausage). i expected so much more from a vermont inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marla5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Staying here was a wonderful experience. The Inn is conveniently located in the main section of Manchester, within walking distance of a number of places and easy driving distance to others. The inn is beautiful and well taken-care-of. The first floor has several spacious public rooms, all very comfortably furnished and cozy. The huge porch with rocking chairs is a delight! The rooms are lovely; they have individual heat and air-conditioning or you can open the windows. The sheets are the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Breakfast in the large, attractive dining rooms was delicious. Frank was away so I didn't meet him but Julie was charming, warm, and gracious. Although she meets hundreds of guests a year, she treats each one as if they're a longtime friend. .

Room Tip: The Cinnamon and Sunflower rooms have their own separate staircase with their doors directly across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYYVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was my second time at The Inn. Frank and Julie come across as such warm hearted people and their entire team is always willing to help. Right from the rooms to the breakfast and the overall atmosphere in the property is just perfect. I highly recommend this property for people traveling to Manchester. Not only for the comfort but also for its proximity to the outlet stores and the main market area. One this is for sure..... I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What a wonderful experience we had staying at this Inn. The staff was so helpful, attentive, knowledgeable, and kind. This is a place we can't wait to go back to. Frank and Julie are wonderful. The rooms are clean, big, and cozy. We had a fireplace and it was just the icing on the cake. What a great place - HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitz644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!! This was our third trip to the Inn and we have planned two more weekends to return. The best things, however, (cookies not withstanding) are Frank and Julie. The rooms are big, bright and immaculate--the bedsheets are to die for. Frank makes a mean omelet and great pancakes and scrambled eggs; Julie is the perfect hostess. Everything about the Inn makes you want to return again and again.

Room Tip: We have 2 favorites. Wood Lily is perfect, right in the front of the Inn. Primrose also has a firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and I can't think of a time when I have felt more welcome on a stay away from home. The Inn is beautiful, but what set the stay apart was the hospitality of the innkeepers, Frank and Julie. I would recommend the Inn at Manchester to anyone traveling to the area. And I want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantrelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester
The Inn At Manchester Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing