We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn Experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Although we've visited Manchester before, this was our first stay at the Inn at Manchester. It was a pleasant surprise with great hospitality, food and wine. It was also a treat for us in the middle of a long trip to have a room on the ground floor with deck attached. We also discovered our hostess Julie Hanes has a great sense of humor since she assisted the innkeepers of Rabbit Hill Inn with a joke on us. Julie knew we were on the way to Rabbit Hill so photos of Brian and Leslie Mulcahy were placed on our dresser and even in the bathroom. See photo below as my husband "shares" a glass of wine with Brian and Leslie. Thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    50
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
364
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Frank and Julie are wonderful hosts, attentive and welcoming. They are very helpful with local info. Beds are comfy, especially the sheets. The setting is beautiful, breakfasts are just right. The kind of place you want to keep coming back to. The chairs and hammocks on the lawn are beautifully situated for a view of the property. A classic New England weekend!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was one of the two inns (the other being the Camden Mainestay) that we returned to on our second trip to New England.

Although we hadn't booked in advance we were able to benefit from a cancellation and consequently we sampled two different rooms on our two night stay. Both were very pleasant with the second being a suite and having a large balcony.

The Inn is beautifully appointed and has a really warm and friendly feel. Much of this is down to the hosts, Frank and Julie Haynes, who are really helpful and "hands on" proprietors. Manchester itself is a beautiful township and if you are attracted to well maintained "colonial clapboard" buildings set among beautiful hills and rivers you will not be disappointed in Manchester, which is a good touring base for Central Vermont.

Frank also made a reservation for us at the Silver Fork Restaurant in Manchester, which was our best dining experience in New England, Boston notwithstanding.

If you are heading for Vermont look no further!

Room Tip: Whilst we stayed in both a standard room and a more expensive suite with a lovely balcony we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Manchester for one night before my wedding and absolutely loved my visit. The service was top notch and the Sage room was perfect. The bathroom was spacious, the bed was so comfortable that I ordered the sheets (Comphy) through Frank and Julie, and the balcony was amazing for watching the stars. I can’t say enough about the service. The bar closes around 9 pm, and I knew I wouldn’t be home until well after, so Julie put a few glasses of scotch in my room along with a bucket of ice for when I returned. It was a two-night minimum, so I gave my room to friends on Saturday. I didn’t officially check out until around 1, and even though the house keeping was done, Frank and Julie went up to clean the bathroom once more for the next set of guests.

I can’t wait to come back.

Room Tip: The Sage room, while a few flights up, was worth it for the view of the stars from the Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We highly recommend The Inn At Manchester as one of the best inns/B&Bs where we have stayed. Frank and Julie are attentive hosts; the common rooms are cheerful and inviting; our room was pleasingly decorated and had fabulous beds and linens. We stayed two nights and found breakfast each morning to be delicious. What is notable is Frank's willingness to adjust the menu to accommodate individual requests.

In addition to the Inn's attractiveness, Manchester Village is charming, walkable, close to the town Center, a variety of restaurants and shops and a five minute drive to Hildene which is a must-see.

We wish we could transport The Inn, Frank and Julie closer to our Maine home so we could visit it more often.

Visitors from Down East

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryA63678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

On a recent trip to VT, we stayed here for one night. It was a beautiful place located right on the main road into Manchester. The owners/hosts, Frank & Julie were very friendly & made us feel right at home. They offered their assistance with our luggage or suggesting restaurants for dinner. There is a fully stocked bar right at the Inn & Frank was very accommodating with opening the bar whenever someone wanted to relax with a drink. The Inn is a beautiful old house with 3 floors. There are a couple of sitting rooms as well as the dining room. Frank cooks the breakfast & Julie serves it. The food was great! They also have a carriage house behind the Inn that has a few rooms in it too. And there is an inground pool as well. Out amongst some big ole trees in the yard they have chairs & a couple of hammocks. We loved this place & would definitely recommend it. The only thing that we didnt like was the room had a bit of an odor. Other than that, the place was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmont, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My adult daughter and I went for a mother/daughter get away August 11; two nights, three days and the Inn at Manchester was as wonderful as the first time my husband and I stayed many years ago. We stayed in the Carriage house in a room with 2 queen-sized beds, lovely gas fireplace and sitting area. It was spacious, welcoming and everything appeared brand new, especially the bathroom. The bathroom was gorgeous, had a lovely, large, tiled shower, plenty of lighting and lots of counter room around the sink. The bedroom had a ceiling fan and air conditioning if we needed it.The beds were comfy and everything was spotless. The day we left it was raining, but there were even umbrellas for us to use.
Frank and Julie were both great hosts - one improvement from our last stay is a bar on site; it was so nice to have a glass of wine and sit and talk outside on the porch before we walked across the street for dinner at Mulligans. We will definitely return again!

Room Tip: We chose the Wintergreen room in the Carriage House and loved it! it is also out by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaandDanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester
The Inn At Manchester Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing