We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite inn of all time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite inn of all time!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I'm hesitant to write a review and alert people to just how wonderful the Inn at Manchester is. I feel like it has been our little secret! From the moment you step foot in the back door you immediately feel the welcoming presences of Julie and Frank. They are the most gracious inn-keepers and really set the tone for your stay. The inn is extremely comfortable with non-fussy sitting areas complete with wood burning fireplaces and a beautiful bar for your pre-dinner cocktail. All of the rooms (we've stayed in almost all of them at this point) are comfortable, clean and tastefully appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the linens luxurious. Breakfast in the morning is my favorite. Frank makes a simple yet delicious breakfast offering a daily special in addition to eggs any style. Seconds are never a issue as another review wrote. My son has had seconds every time we've visited! If you are looking for huge screen TV's, an extensive breakfast menu, and whirlpool baths with expensive bath products then this is not the place for you. BUT, if you are looking for a true Vermont inn experience look no further.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful and different. The descriptions on the website are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    49
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
360
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I should have been more aware of the negative reviews - they are true! As soon as we entered the inn, I noticed the funky smell that others had mentioned, but at the time didn't think too much about it. The innkeeper was fairly friendly and showed us to our room on the second floor. We had booked the smallest room and were told that the bathroom was small; however, we were not prepared for a bathroom that apparently had been a closet in its previous life. There was a tiny pedestal sink and not a lot of room to move around. In fact, after showering I dried off in the bedroom! I certainly didn't see the message shower heads that were advertised and the "distinctive toiletries" were Motel 6 quality - very disappointing for an inn. The flat screen TV was small and not well located for viewing. The breakfasts that people raved about were not we have experienced in our many B&B experiences - small boxes of cereal and bananas (help yourself) and very basic and limited entrees with no offer of second helpings. We've had better breakfasts at a Residence Inn. On the second day of our stay, I noticed that the funky smell had migrated to our room and even leaving the windows open did not solve the problem. I was so bothered by this smell and concern for what it was that we checked out a day early (something we have never done before). On the plus side, the towels and bedding were extremely nice and the bed was very comfortable, but I just didn't see why the inn was so highly rated by others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alagal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy69, Owner at The Inn at Manchester, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wish we had had the opportunity to address your issues while you were here. The last thing we ever want is for someone to leave dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Cliff, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have now been going to the Inn at Manchester for over 4 years. At first we only went once a year now we go at least 3 and if we can we would go more. We can't help ourselves, it is our favorite spot. At times, I think Bill likes it better than our home. What can we say about Julie, Frank and the gang-they are OUR family. As soon as you walk in they make you feel like a million bucks. They remember everything about you. The rooms are beautiful, the beds and sheets are remarkable.. Frank's daily breakfast is scrumptious. My kids even love it. As you can tell we LOVE IT.

Room Tip: You will love any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Inn was more than we expected. Went for a summer weekend with a group of couples and had a really wonderful time. The Inn itself was very charming and it looked like so much thought had gone into all the decorations, which were beautiful. The room was adorable and very clean. The bed was super comfy and the sheets were the super soft. We loved that the Inn had a small bar itself, and we definitely took advantage of having a beer in the afternoon or a pre-dinner drink. The grounds are also beautiful. There are two large hammocks to lounge in (which we did!) and a small but very nice pool. This is a true bed and breakfast! And the breakfast both days was super super delicious. This is a great place. It's also a short drive or nice walk into town where all the outlet shops are (about 1.5 miles I think).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed for one night at the Inn at Manchester right before Christmas. What a treat! The entire inn was decorated beautifully for the holidays and the service was superb! We stayed on the first floor of the Carriage House in the Peach Blossom room. The room was pristine and comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious and the gas fireplace was an added bonus! My favorite part of the room had to be the king bed. It seriously was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Pure luxury! We will definitely be visiting this fine establishment again! Would love to visit during the summer when we can use the pool and take advantage of the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the Peach Blossom room located inside the Carriage House. It was very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay at this beautiful Inn back in September on our trip around New England. We stayed for two nights and it's safe to say that we did not want to leave this stunning place. Frank and Julie were the perfect hosts, so friendly, warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble either. The Inn is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and we had the best nights sleep under those amazing sheets!!! Franks breakfasts are delicious and a great way to start the day. We found this was a perfect base to explore the local area and it was also not too far from some other picturesque villages too. It's not hard to see why it is the number 1 place to stay in Manchester. We can't wait to return in the future and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn the first weekend of December for our 40th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful warm and friendly place! Our hosts Frank and Julie were the best, both friendly and helpful. Be sure to enjoy Frank's breakfast! We stayed in one of the comfortable suites well appointed and including a cozy gas fireplace. The Inn is located within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We can't wait to return in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
299 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
309 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#2 of 12 in Manchester
407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester
The Inn At Manchester Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing