We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed at Inn at least 4 times and we look forward to our annual visit. It is a great location to visit sites in Southern Vermont. The Inn is the perfect sanctuary. There is nothing that could be improved upon. We always wish we could stay longer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    49
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
357
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had a family wedding in Manchester Vermont and stayed at the Inn at Manchester. It was perfect. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The common areas are perfect for gathering with friends and family or sitting alone reading the paper. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We headed to Manchester for our first ever trip to New England with high hopes, and were not disappointed. We received a very warm welcome on arrival at the family-run Inn at Manchester - just what we needed at the end of our first day of driving on the 'other' side of the road. Our room, near the top of the building, was very romantic, and the whole place has clearly been looked after and is in a good state of repairs. Our hosts prepared two amazing breakfasts during our time there (New England is not a place to visit if you want to lose lbs!) and were full of really useful information about what to see in the local area - we'd definitely love to go back one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first trip to Vermont was made even more special by our two night stay at The Inn at Manchester. From the ease of making reservations to the delicious breakfasts, the innkeepers, Frank and Julie Haynes, are the quintessential hosts! They have truly found their calling in life! We can't say enough about our room, the grounds, and the hospitality--first class and welcoming. Our family of three had a spectacular trip thanks, in large part, to The Inn at Manchester!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MKDArtTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just returned to Boston after a 2 night – three day stay at the Inn @Manchester. It is a great place to unwind -only a little over 3 hour relaxing drive from the Boston area. The owners and proprietors, Frank and Julie Haynes really help personalize your visit. The service and accommodations are outstanding. I love the fact that you can pick out the specific room you want to stay in-the photos and details on the website are very accurate and helpful.They have several options from a simple queen room to luxurious suites in the carriage house. We stayed in "Cinnamon", a nice queen room on the second floor in the back of the building. It was the last room available during this busy time of the year.
Frank makes a great breakfast in the morning with variety every day. We spent a lot of time at the pool next to the Carriage house in the back of the building. It is in a private and enjoyable area. They are building a new barn to be able to accommodate weddings, retreats, and other small groups. They are adding on to the parking lot next to the Carriage House to accommodate the guests at the barn. Despite this construction, there was very little noise or distractions. Frank and Julie made sure that you were not bothered by the construction. We went out to dinner every night but enjoyed coming back to have a drink on the porch while enjoying the great Vermont weather and views .The rooms are very clean and well appointed, I highly recommend the Inn at Manchester -comfort, relaxation,– first-class accommodations in a very beautiful area of New England.There is a lot to do in Manchester – restaurants, shopping, activities without the crowds and traffic of Cape Cod.We have stayed there in the past and definitely plan to be up again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our family's third trip to Vermont and our first time staying in southern Vermont. We chose Manchester as our home base on the recommendation of a family member whom is very familiar with Vermont and we are very glad we followed his suggestion. Manchester is a pristine setting with many things to see and do. The Inn at Manchester was the perfect place to stay while in town. The owners and their staff were warm, welcoming and extremely helpful and accommodating. I require a somewhat restricted diet in order to feel my best and the staff went out of their way to make sure that I got everything I needed. Our family of three stayed in the Wintergreen room and it was spacious, beautiful, and immaculately clean! The beds were extremely comfortable. Our son enjoyed the location, just steps away from the beautiful pool which we had all to ourselves one warm evening. My husband enjoyed staying up quite late one night completing the puzzle mentioned in a previous review! We appreciated that the breakfasts were simple and satisfying and you could just order eggs if that was your preference. Our only (minor) criticisms are: we were not expecting the construction and it was a bit noisy in the morning on the Friday we were there. Also, my son, who is getting quite tall, had difficulty fitting under the shower head which was a hand-held one that I tried to explain to him could be removed from it's holder! Overall, we had a wonderful experience and look forward to returning some time, hopefully to see the finished result of the construction! Oops, I almost forgot to mention how much we enjoyed the adorable Chai (the not- so- miniature miniature poodle) who greeted us at breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms in the barn out back are private and spacious. They seemed very quiet except for the construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vestalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I want to echo the previous review, and since he took the time to describe the details, I will say ditto. We liked everything about this place, including the dog Chai. If I were to nitpick, I might mention it is on a busy road but our room was in the back so we heard nothing at night. I enjoyed jumping in the pool soon after our arrival and we sat around afterward to read our books. It was great to be able to have a glass of wine at the inn before going out. Manchester is such a picturesque town, and this is a great home base for travels in the area. I highly recommend Ye Olde Tavern for dinner - reminded me of the historic feeling you get in Williamsburg. The innkeepers and staff were very welcoming and proficient.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sage room and I think I must have read an old Tripadvisor review because it enticed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosscourtforehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester
The Inn At Manchester Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing