We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Barnstead Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barnstead Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Barnstead Inn was a pleasant surprise. We go up to Manchester every summer for the Vermont Summer Horse Festival and found this place this time around. Quiet, great ambiance and pleasant company. A quick 10 minute walk and you are in downtown Manchester. We loved the rooms, very clean and bed was comfortable . You felt very much at home and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. Thank you so much Neil and Cindy, hope you enjoyed the cookies!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suemar1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    27
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
112
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Ontario
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were given the name of this inn by friends of ours. I booked last minute and was pleased that they were able to accommodate us. The online booking service was perfect. I knew right away whether there was availability.
The inn is within walking distance of downtown Manchester and all the outlet stores and the restaurants.
We had one of the rooms with a King size bed. Very comfortable. We swam in the pool. Parking was handy.
We'll come back at some point

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor, lots of windows, which we had to keep closed for privacy. 2nd floor migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Interesting trees, gardens, stream, pond, buildings. Many outdoor spots to sit and relax on the property. And check out the chill furry cat who roams the grounds! Friendly, present innkeepers. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregCorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Actually, I didn't need to stay here to give it a rating. The reservation page requires you to make a second choice. At the time there were few options so I choose another room as a second choice, more expensive, but my second choice. Wouldn't you know it but I got a confirmation for the more expensive room. Checking their site my original choice showed still available.
Upon questioning them, they did cancel the reservation, AND asked me to go find someplace else to stay, but not there.
Sorry, but I travel over 20 weeks a year, I recognize bad customer care.

Room Tip: As they told me - go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayscopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilhumph, Owner at The Barnstead Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
It clearly states on our "Check Availability" page that "the availability shown is not real time and may lag actual bookings". There is a reason for that. The room may have been sold over the phone or by other means before a guests e mail can be recieved. This guest's first choice was sold and the availability shown actually lagged at the time. So......I put him in his second choice.
He then contacted me via e mail to say that he was not happy that I "upsold" him, (whatever that means). And told me he did not wish to spend that much for the second room. It was funny because he did actually have three choices and one was even less expensive than his first choice. I could only assume that he would be fine with his second choice since he requested it.
All he needed to do was call. Not accuse me of an "upsell". When he said he wasn't happy I simply said "You will be refunded in full and please be happy someplace else. The nicest people stay here. He will not be missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I have spent many summer weekends at the Barnstead Inn and always have a delightful time. The owners, Neil & Cynthia, make you feel so welcome and at home. The rooms are nice sized, always extremely clean and were recently upgraded with flat screen TVs. The property is beautiful and a short walk to Main Street, with a heated pool to sit by on lazy afternoons. The Barnstead has b ecome our go-to home away from home in Manchester and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed here while planning my wedding for next fall. The Innkeepers are great and the Inn is beautiful! I'll be booking again next year for the wedding.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpalmer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This Inn was very clean and comfortable and also very peaceful. The grounds were immaculate and the owners were very hospitable!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkerstinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#1 of 12 in Manchester
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barnstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnstead Inn

Property: The Barnstead Inn
Address: Bonnet Street, P O Box 988, Manchester, VT 05255
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstead Inn sits in the perfect Vermont setting. A short stroll and a you will enjoy shopping and dining on Manchester's Main Street. If your desire is to remain at the Inn there is plenty of seating available around the grounds. There is a screened in Gazebo set into a beautiful flower garden. A great place to relax or enjoy a comfortable rocker on the front porch.Free wireless internet access available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barnstead Hotel Manchester
The Barnstead Inn Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing