We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Farm B&B in Vermont”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollister Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Farm B&B in Vermont”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I were travelling to Vermont to visiting New England Culinary Institute in nearby Montpelier. We stayed at Hollister Farm for two nights in early May 2012. It was such a treat! We were greeted by Lee and one of their golden retrievers, Ruby, as we stepped onto the porch. The house is large yet cozy with a common room that has a small refrigerator, microwave, books and boardgames for guests. Our room was very spacious (we stayed in the one with the fireplace) and let in lots of light. We were greeted each morning by the sounds of roosters (remember you are on a farm) and wonderful smells coming from the kitchen. We feasted on waffles with homemade salted butter and maple syrup, scrambled eggs, and sausage- all from the farm! We also bought a pint of their maple syrup to take home with us. The B&B is also conveniently located close to Montpelier, Barre, Stowe and Cabot- including such attractions as Ben & Jerry's and Cabot Creamery. We'll definitely be coming back again whenever we plan to stay next in Vermont!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a diamond of a place, located on a beautiful road!! Lee was so helpful in getting our last minute reservation and the rooms are huge, spacious and you feel like you are home!!

As fellow Vermonters that were just looking for a getaway, this was PERFECT!!! You will not regret your stay at this gem!

Wish we could have had the breakfast sounded delicious!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kens183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were a family travelling through the US from Australia and wanted to experience an authentic American country farm like the ones we saw on TV growing up. A mixture of animals, kindly farmer, big wooden barn and old fashioned farmhouse. Well, we were not disappointed and it was even better than we had hoped for. Farmer Bob and his wife Lee are friendly and welcoming and encourage you to look around the farm as you please. The house and rooms are clean and comfortable. Lee is a fantastic cook and we were joined by other guests from Spain and Switzerland at the breakfast table. Most the the food comes from their farm.

Our 5 year old daughter loved to play with the two house dogs (see photos) and also the many kittens running around. When we stayed, there were a litter of new piglets to enjoy.
We stayed for 2 nights in the family suite in October 2011 and hope to come back again in December 2012. Family suite has one large bedroom with a queen bed and a single pull-out sofa bed. It also has a connecting smaller bedroom with a single bed and it's own bathroom.

If you want to see even more photos of our USA holiday click here -
http://sl.stead.id.au/USAHoliday

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laramw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a truly splendid place. I returned this year and it was just as wonderful as last year. Considering how I idealized my time there it is amazing that I loved it even more this year. The breakfast alone would be worth the trip. The fresh eggs from the roving spectacularly plumaged hens, the fresh Jersey milk, the homemade jams, maple syrup from and their sugar house, their own ham bacon and sausage are all transporting. But when Leigh makes her corn bread or her corn meal and cheddar pancakes it is spectacular. And should you be so lucky as to have her vegetable frittata you may do what I did last year and plead for an extra night. All this and a particularly comfortable bed in a lovely room make this my favorite autumn treat.

Room Tip: by all means choose a fireplace room-
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihami
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed with Bob & Lee for 3 nights out of our 7 nights in Vermont and wish we had stayed the entire time with them. Their house is clean, very comfortable, private and quiet. Lee cooks the BEST breakfast, including all of their own farm raised eggs, meats, fresh milk; cream, butter, maple syrup & homemade goodies like baked waffles, muffins, rhubarb crumb cake & jams. The house included a comfortable family room/library for guests with a small frig, microwave, dining table & chairs and a sitting area. Our bedroom had a private bath, a very comfortable bed, a fireplace & great views! There is no TV, which we appreciated. Our trip coincided with end of one of Vt's rainiest/flooded seasons so Lee generously lent me a pair of muck boots for the three days we were there. The gardens were beautiful with vegetables, flowers and trees blossoming. We especially enjoyed walking their land and spending time with Bob & Lee in the barns learning about their farm animals and their family farming philosophy. We saw a litter of piglets, a herd of many beefalo including 2 beefalo calves born within 12 & 24 hours, chickens and roosters, hogs & Jersey milk cows. We watched the cows being milked, collected some eggs & welcomed a new young stud hog. We couldn't resist buying lots of their own maple syrup & homemade jams to take home for gifts plus a beefalo roast and a 6.25 lb (!) chicken for my relative living nearby. Lee and Bob inspired us with their lifestyle and farming and stand for everything that is good and right with the USA. We felt so welcomed and were made to feel at home. We really didn't want to leave. Our plan is to stay in touch and visit again. Big tip...bring clothes & waterproof boots that are sensible for a farm, if you plan to try out some farm work.

Room Tip: plan early, we preferred room with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorerspif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We had the most wonderful time. This bed and breakfast looks like a picture in country living. Our cosy rooms had our own bathroom and fireplace. Very quiet and comfortable. The fireplace was prepared for us everyday and all we had to do was light a match. We were treated to a huge and delicious breakfast. It was new and wonderful everyday. We were able to go all over the farm at our leisure. We visited the barn often, with chickens, pigs , cows, kittens. I even helped to feed the pigs. The boys had a great time sledding. It was always warm and iniviting to go back into the house. We even had a common room that we could eat and play in. Farmer Lee and Farmer Bob were helpful with everything , guiding us with our activities in the area. Could not say enough good about this place! We had visited in the summer as well and even when we were not staying at the B&B we were able to visit the Farm and the Lees. It is a wonderful place in all seasons.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_ande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hollister in February as a Valentine’s Day retreat – it was wonderful! We had the place to ourselves (which is why we didn’t mind that there are no locks on the doors – a bit of a shock for paranoid New Yorkers), and Montpellier (which has several great restaurants for dinner) is just 10 minutes away.

We woke ourselves up at 6AM for the morning chores (milking cows and cleaning pig-pens)-totally worth it for the gorgeous view of the sunrise over the snow-covered pastures. Breakfast with the farmers was very enjoyable – delicious food and great conversation. Bob and Lee are great hosts and love to share stories and advice about their 30+ year careers as farmers.

During the daytime we borrowed the house snowshoes and went exploring in the woods or walked Ruby and Bella (two very adorable Golden Retrievers). At night after dinner, we shared a bottle of wine in front of a fireplace with the radio playing and a good book. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank us3345632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
487 reviews
8.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
380 reviews
8.1 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
103 reviews
8.6 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollister Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollister Hill Farm B&B

Property: Hollister Hill Farm B&B
Address: 2193 Hollister Hill Rd, Marshfield, VT 05658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hollister Hill Farm B&B Marshfield, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing