We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hosts in a bucolic setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollister Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This stellar B + B was everything we had hoped for and more. We used it as a central location for travelling in that area of Vermont. The location is perfect,,,close to everything, yet so quiet and peaceful, you'd think you were worlds away. The farm animals are well treated, friendly and provide eggs and cream for breakfast! Lee is an incredible cook, so breakfasts are something special, not run of the mill. The rooms are quaint, clean and quiet. Would highly recommend this for a peaceful vacation, and we will definitely be back for more hikes...and more breakfasts!

Room Tip: There is an attached suite with kitchen, dining area and washer/dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dardimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollisterhillfarm, Owner at Hollister Hill Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hi Patti and Co. Thanks for a great review. We enjoyed your company as well and hope you stay with us again. Lee and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

My sister and I booked a room on the 4th of July so we could be near my daughter and her family.
I was worried that it might be hard to find a room with such short notice on a holiday but Lee put us right in a the big front facing bedroom. We had a great time with my year old granddaughter walking around the huge lawns and visiting the animals in the barn.
The breakfast the next morning was so good with fresh raspberry pancakes and their own maple syrup.
If I ever need a place to stay in central Vermont I would return.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank vtgirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Outstanding environment, spacious rooms, friendly hosts, and the best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B. We stayed here with kids and they loved walking around the farm in the morning and seeing the animals as well as the incredible gardens. HHF is as ideal as it gets if you are looking for a farm stay or just a place to crash in upper vermont. My family will definitely come back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I were travelling to Vermont to visiting New England Culinary Institute in nearby Montpelier. We stayed at Hollister Farm for two nights in early May 2012. It was such a treat! We were greeted by Lee and one of their golden retrievers, Ruby, as we stepped onto the porch. The house is large yet cozy with a common room that has a small refrigerator, microwave, books and boardgames for guests. Our room was very spacious (we stayed in the one with the fireplace) and let in lots of light. We were greeted each morning by the sounds of roosters (remember you are on a farm) and wonderful smells coming from the kitchen. We feasted on waffles with homemade salted butter and maple syrup, scrambled eggs, and sausage- all from the farm! We also bought a pint of their maple syrup to take home with us. The B&B is also conveniently located close to Montpelier, Barre, Stowe and Cabot- including such attractions as Ben & Jerry's and Cabot Creamery. We'll definitely be coming back again whenever we plan to stay next in Vermont!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a diamond of a place, located on a beautiful road!! Lee was so helpful in getting our last minute reservation and the rooms are huge, spacious and you feel like you are home!!

As fellow Vermonters that were just looking for a getaway, this was PERFECT!!! You will not regret your stay at this gem!

Wish we could have had the breakfast sounded delicious!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kens183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were a family travelling through the US from Australia and wanted to experience an authentic American country farm like the ones we saw on TV growing up. A mixture of animals, kindly farmer, big wooden barn and old fashioned farmhouse. Well, we were not disappointed and it was even better than we had hoped for. Farmer Bob and his wife Lee are friendly and welcoming and encourage you to look around the farm as you please. The house and rooms are clean and comfortable. Lee is a fantastic cook and we were joined by other guests from Spain and Switzerland at the breakfast table. Most the the food comes from their farm.

Our 5 year old daughter loved to play with the two house dogs (see photos) and also the many kittens running around. When we stayed, there were a litter of new piglets to enjoy.
We stayed for 2 nights in the family suite in October 2011 and hope to come back again in December 2012. Family suite has one large bedroom with a queen bed and a single pull-out sofa bed. It also has a connecting smaller bedroom with a single bed and it's own bathroom.

If you want to see even more photos of our USA holiday click here -
http://sl.stead.id.au/USAHoliday

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laramw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a truly splendid place. I returned this year and it was just as wonderful as last year. Considering how I idealized my time there it is amazing that I loved it even more this year. The breakfast alone would be worth the trip. The fresh eggs from the roving spectacularly plumaged hens, the fresh Jersey milk, the homemade jams, maple syrup from and their sugar house, their own ham bacon and sausage are all transporting. But when Leigh makes her corn bread or her corn meal and cheddar pancakes it is spectacular. And should you be so lucky as to have her vegetable frittata you may do what I did last year and plead for an extra night. All this and a particularly comfortable bed in a lovely room make this my favorite autumn treat.

Room Tip: by all means choose a fireplace room-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
8.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
388 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
505 reviews
8.7 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
High Hill Inn
High Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
220 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
237 reviews
8.5 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollister Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollister Hill Farm B&B

Address: 2193 Hollister Hill Rd, Marshfield, VT 05658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hollister Hill Farm B&B Marshfield, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing