We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DeLIGHTful!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollister Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A terrific B & B. The Lights are very gracious and hospitable hosts, serving great breakfasts and joining in breakfast conversations with their guests. My wife and I, and brother-in-law and friend, all agreed-----a great place to stay while touring Vermont.

Room Tip: Disregard reference to swimming pool---did not have but could not unclick our rating.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Hollister Hill Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

We’ve recently returned from a trip to New England including a stop in Vermont to sample the state’s spectacular fall foliage, pretty villages and bucolic surroundings. We picked Hollister Hill Farm based on Tripadvisor reviews and spent three nights there in early October, staying in the “little house,” a self-contained annex attached to the “big house” where the other two B&B rooms are located.

Property - Hollister Hill Farm is superbly located just northeast of Montpelier with lovely views over rolling hills and set in 205 private acres. Finding it is easy provided you have a GPS and the Hollister Hill access road (unpaved but graded) runs close to the farm but isn’t loud or busy. The farm itself is composed of a beautiful Federal-style brick farmhouse, a sugar house (where maple syrup is still produced), barn (harbouring contented cats, chickens, ducks, turkeys, pigs and cows and a farm shop selling the farm’s organic produce - meat, syrup, milk, eggs and veggies, in season) and various outhouses. The property is beautifully maintained (as are the gardens surrounding the main house) without being too manicured. Two golden retrievers complete this perfect picture.

The little house - the annex is attached to the main house but comes with a separate entrance and a private terrace (with gas BBQ) overlooking a lawn bordered by sugar maples. It is very spacious (and is much larger than it looks on the website) and furnished with all mod cons, including: a well appointed kitchen; a large sitting/dining room with TV (follow the operating instructions or you risk losing the signal and incurring the ire of Lee and Bob!) and a good selection of books and games; a bathroom with bath and washing machine/tumble drier; a large, quiet bedroom and an entrance hall in which to leave wet coats and boots (no outside footwear to be worn indoors). For an extra fee you can opt to have breakfast in the main house though we preferred to stock up in the farm store and cook our own. Nights were very quiet and we would have slept well had the bed’s mattress been less hard (we had to place the extra covers under the sheet to make it bearable).

Activities - Hollister Hill farm is very well located close to all the classic tourist attractions of Montpelier (definitely worth spending a day in Vermont’s tiny, quaint state capital); the Rock of Ages in Barre (the world’s largest granite quarry); Bragg Farm (nice sugar house exhibit and award winning maple syrup, as well as gift shop); the Grand View Winery (excellent fruit wines and lovely views weather permitting); the Cabot Creamery (factory tours and gift shop) and Ben and Jerry’s ice cream factory (again tours and gift shop which were overcrowded and disappointing). For those seeking more active things to do there are plenty of outdoor activities including hikes. We opted for the Virginia Stranahan Memorial Town Forest system of trails just down the road from the farm (it took 4 hours for us to do all of them but if you only have a limited time we recommend heading for Moon Field which comes with views and stunning fall foliage… in fall, obviously!) and Camel’s Hump a longer car drive away (a more strenuous 4-5 hour hike with 790 m elevation gain and panoramic views from the 1,245 m summit, Vermont’s third highest and the only high peak not marred by human development). There are plenty of activities on the farm too and children are well catered for. Although far from being a spring chicken, I spent many happy moments in the barn with the kittens and watching the pigs which appear well cared for and contented (though I still think pigs should have access to the outdoors).

The hosts - A major reason for staying here was because Lee and Bob believe in humane, organic farming and they are certainly living up to that belief, which is all the more commendable in view of the pressure to produce and use growth hormones in the US. Bob told us his farm store was very popular and doing exceedingly well and the produce we sampled was good (the cheese and pork were excellent, the maple syrup good, but the raw milk was less creamy than we expected and the beefalo was a little tough). We didn’t have much contact with Lee and Bob and they at times seemed a little curt, but we had opted to cloister ourselves away and perhaps didn’t get the chance to sample their warmth and hospitality and they did offer helpful advice when cornered.

Verdict - A lovely place to stay and soak up the bucolic Vermont countryside and we recommend the place to anyone seeking a peaceful farm stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at Hollister for 3 nights at the beginning of October. We wanted to get to know the real Vermont and this is what we got. Some of the best foliage sights we saw where just around the farm.
The House itself is lovely. We stayed in a room with a fire place . It's very romantic and comfortable. If you want you can get up early in the morning and help bob with his animals. At 8:30 all the guests sit together with Lee and Bob for breakfast. The food lee cooks is great ( Lee- we still fantasize about your pumpkin muffins) and the conversation is even better. We are a bit shay couple and we didn’t know if we will like the common breakfast but it turn out to be one of our best experiences of our trip.
Lee and Bob are real nice and it was a real treat staying with them and getting to know them. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ililili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This stellar B + B was everything we had hoped for and more. We used it as a central location for travelling in that area of Vermont. The location is perfect,,,close to everything, yet so quiet and peaceful, you'd think you were worlds away. The farm animals are well treated, friendly and provide eggs and cream for breakfast! Lee is an incredible cook, so breakfasts are something special, not run of the mill. The rooms are quaint, clean and quiet. Would highly recommend this for a peaceful vacation, and we will definitely be back for more hikes...and more breakfasts!

Room Tip: There is an attached suite with kitchen, dining area and washer/dryer.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dardimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollisterhillfarm, Owner at Hollister Hill Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hi Patti and Co. Thanks for a great review. We enjoyed your company as well and hope you stay with us again. Lee and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My sister and I booked a room on the 4th of July so we could be near my daughter and her family.
I was worried that it might be hard to find a room with such short notice on a holiday but Lee put us right in a the big front facing bedroom. We had a great time with my year old granddaughter walking around the huge lawns and visiting the animals in the barn.
The breakfast the next morning was so good with fresh raspberry pancakes and their own maple syrup.
If I ever need a place to stay in central Vermont I would return.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank vtgirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Outstanding environment, spacious rooms, friendly hosts, and the best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B. We stayed here with kids and they loved walking around the farm in the morning and seeing the animals as well as the incredible gardens. HHF is as ideal as it gets if you are looking for a farm stay or just a place to crash in upper vermont. My family will definitely come back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I were travelling to Vermont to visiting New England Culinary Institute in nearby Montpelier. We stayed at Hollister Farm for two nights in early May 2012. It was such a treat! We were greeted by Lee and one of their golden retrievers, Ruby, as we stepped onto the porch. The house is large yet cozy with a common room that has a small refrigerator, microwave, books and boardgames for guests. Our room was very spacious (we stayed in the one with the fireplace) and let in lots of light. We were greeted each morning by the sounds of roosters (remember you are on a farm) and wonderful smells coming from the kitchen. We feasted on waffles with homemade salted butter and maple syrup, scrambled eggs, and sausage- all from the farm! We also bought a pint of their maple syrup to take home with us. The B&B is also conveniently located close to Montpelier, Barre, Stowe and Cabot- including such attractions as Ben & Jerry's and Cabot Creamery. We'll definitely be coming back again whenever we plan to stay next in Vermont!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
8.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
499 reviews
8.7 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
106 reviews
8.1 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Montpelier
106 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollister Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollister Hill Farm B&B

Address: 2193 Hollister Hill Rd, Marshfield, VT 05658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hollister Hill Farm B&B Marshfield, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing