We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollister Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Lovely place for a weekend!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We spent our anniversary at Hollister Hill B&B and truly had a fantastic time. The place was quaint and charming, taking rustic elements from farm life and implementing them into every aspects of the B&B. Each room featured a special element of its own, a fireplace/sauna/etc. We selected the option of fire place, and enjoyed it thoroughly, with the hosts replenishing wood daily.

The hosts themselves were fantastic - both warm people and great hosts. Offering helpful tips and interesting info when needed, and quietly working on the farm or grounds in other moments. The farm grounds, animals, and store are well kept and close to the B&B, so visiting and touring is easy to make part of your stay at Hollister Hill.

Each morning, breakfast is served. Absolutely delicious! Made from most of the items the farm produces, which is fun to get a chance to taste some of the fruits of the families labor. Conversation at breakfast was particularly interesting, learning the in's and out's of farm-life, in addition to the history behind Hollister Hill.

We'd recommend this place to anyone looking for a genuine farm experience, a quiet weekend away, or a romantic/rustic trip with close company.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

With the passing of my mother last year, and most of my family gone, I was facing my first Christmas without them. Friends opened their homes during the holidays, but I needed to get away and reboot my spirit. How lucky I was to have found Hollister Hill Farm and B&B on the internet! Not only did I find the peace and quiet I needed, but the beauty surrounding the farm, with its snow-covered hills; and the warm and accommodating nature of its owners, Lee and Bob Light, and their visiting family, turned into an incredible blessing. I was the only paying guest during the Christmas holidays, while the others were family members that had driven or flown in from other parts of the country for a reunion. Not only was I given lovely accommodations in a quiet corner of the house (with a fireplace to relax by); but the entire family took me under their wing and made me feel welcome and part of the festivities. Lee and Bob especially made sure I was a part of their family Christmas dinner, and it was WONDERFUL! Lee is a fantastic cook, to say the least! She even got me to eat brussel sprouts (made her special way) - a vegetable I've hated all my life! The breakfasts were especially delicious and plentiful. Lee also has quite a green thumb, and I was encouraged by her relatives to return in the Spring or Summer to view her beautiful gardens. Also, their farm is quite a revelation.....I've never seen a barn so clean! The cows, pigs, chickens, cats, etc. etc. etc., are well cared for and it was great fun to view their antics. I was fortunate to be there when a young calf was born, and some new piglets were wheeling around their mama. Children would love this place. Lee and Bob are no-nonsense, hard-working people and it really shows in the care of their farm and B&B. I could spend only four days at Hollister Hill because of an impending snowstorm - but those four days were magical to me and packed with special sights. A road trip to Montpelier and Burlington and Lake Champlain (along Rt. 2 per Lee's instructions) proved especially interesting. And a drive on the backroads surrounding Hollister Hill Farm (per Lee's special map) was especially picturesque. It's a photographer's paradise. My "Christmas in Vermont" with the Lights was a true gift. They made it feel like home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyLeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashpee, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Will always return to my quiet place...Amazing warm wonderful Hosts Bob & Lee to greet you and make you feel so welcome...Cozy rooms with old fashion decor...overlooking the barn and mountains is my favorite room.. I Love how Bob & Lee let me help feed all the barn animals with them at 6am (yup 6am and dont be late ) lol... The full breakfasts in the am are to die for....fresh everything from the farm...eggs,meats and jams.... Lee is an amazing cook..and Bob always with a cheery smile and offers his working farm experiences...and stories... Both lovely people...and I enjoy staying there a couple times a year.....for the last 5 years now.... Claudia F

Room Tip: all of them cozy and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We will remember this vacation for the rest of our lives and it is all because of the welcoming arms of Lee and Bob, along with the beauty that resides at Hollister Hill Farm!

I don't know where to start regarding our amazing week at Hollister Hill Farm. Perhaps the breakfasts will be a good place -- they were AMAZING! Lee made something different for us every single day that we were visiting. From pancakes with bacon and eggs to poached eggs in cheese sauce, every single item was delectable, homemade, and home-grown.

The Little House is where we stayed. It was perfect! The decor struck just the right balance between beautiful and comfortable. It was very nice to have a private space and be able to cook the wonderful products produced there at the farm (as well as from other local farms -- check out the co-op in Plainfield). Yet, we were steps away from our morning visit and breakfast.

At breakfast, we felt like family. Lee and Bob are lovely folks -- accepting, caring, flexible, and sharing. They were more than happy to spend the morning chatting about Vermont, farm life, politics, cooking, or family. There is a lot to learn from these two! It was a delight to visit with them each day.

The farm is in a great location. It is in the town of Plainfield, which is an adorable town and, surprisingly, has everything you need. It is very close to Montpelier, which is a great place for shopping or dining. The farm is centrally located in the state, so driving anywhere was relatively easy.

Just a few steps across the road is the farm store and barn. In the store, the Lights have fresh milk, cheese, meats, jams, maple syrup, and veggies. We were able to purchases items with which to make dinner that evening (and it was added to our bill). The barn was a great source of entertainment and knowledge; Bob was often available to teach us about how the animals are raised and bred, etc. The animals themselves were a joy; each day, we visited with the cats and kittens, fed the pigs, walked with the chickens, and talked to the cows (especially the baby, Helen!).

The property itself is just stunning. You are more than welcome to use the snowshoes on the porch or just wander around, discovering the pond or watching maple sap drip into the buckets. Don't forget your camera-- there is beauty to behold around every bend!

Hollister Hill Farm was a diamond of a find for us. Our lives have been enriched in so many ways by the farm and by its hosts. The Lights are well-known and -loved around town; mention their names and everyone will smile and send hellos back with you. You will not find a more magical place to spend time in Vermont!

Room Tip: The Little House was perfect for a couple wanting a bit more space and a place to cook meals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollisterhillfarm, Owner at Hollister Hill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you so very much, we enjoyed meeting you as well. We hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Lee and Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A terrific B & B. The Lights are very gracious and hospitable hosts, serving great breakfasts and joining in breakfast conversations with their guests. My wife and I, and brother-in-law and friend, all agreed-----a great place to stay while touring Vermont.

Room Tip: Disregard reference to swimming pool---did not have but could not unclick our rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
292 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We’ve recently returned from a trip to New England including a stop in Vermont to sample the state’s spectacular fall foliage, pretty villages and bucolic surroundings. We picked Hollister Hill Farm based on Tripadvisor reviews and spent three nights there in early October, staying in the “little house,” a self-contained annex attached to the “big house” where the other two B&B rooms are located.

Property - Hollister Hill Farm is superbly located just northeast of Montpelier with lovely views over rolling hills and set in 205 private acres. Finding it is easy provided you have a GPS and the Hollister Hill access road (unpaved but graded) runs close to the farm but isn’t loud or busy. The farm itself is composed of a beautiful Federal-style brick farmhouse, a sugar house (where maple syrup is still produced), barn (harbouring contented cats, chickens, ducks, turkeys, pigs and cows and a farm shop selling the farm’s organic produce - meat, syrup, milk, eggs and veggies, in season) and various outhouses. The property is beautifully maintained (as are the gardens surrounding the main house) without being too manicured. Two golden retrievers complete this perfect picture.

The little house - the annex is attached to the main house but comes with a separate entrance and a private terrace (with gas BBQ) overlooking a lawn bordered by sugar maples. It is very spacious (and is much larger than it looks on the website) and furnished with all mod cons, including: a well appointed kitchen; a large sitting/dining room with TV (follow the operating instructions or you risk losing the signal and incurring the ire of Lee and Bob!) and a good selection of books and games; a bathroom with bath and washing machine/tumble drier; a large, quiet bedroom and an entrance hall in which to leave wet coats and boots (no outside footwear to be worn indoors). For an extra fee you can opt to have breakfast in the main house though we preferred to stock up in the farm store and cook our own. Nights were very quiet and we would have slept well had the bed’s mattress been less hard (we had to place the extra covers under the sheet to make it bearable).

Activities - Hollister Hill farm is very well located close to all the classic tourist attractions of Montpelier (definitely worth spending a day in Vermont’s tiny, quaint state capital); the Rock of Ages in Barre (the world’s largest granite quarry); Bragg Farm (nice sugar house exhibit and award winning maple syrup, as well as gift shop); the Grand View Winery (excellent fruit wines and lovely views weather permitting); the Cabot Creamery (factory tours and gift shop) and Ben and Jerry’s ice cream factory (again tours and gift shop which were overcrowded and disappointing). For those seeking more active things to do there are plenty of outdoor activities including hikes. We opted for the Virginia Stranahan Memorial Town Forest system of trails just down the road from the farm (it took 4 hours for us to do all of them but if you only have a limited time we recommend heading for Moon Field which comes with views and stunning fall foliage… in fall, obviously!) and Camel’s Hump a longer car drive away (a more strenuous 4-5 hour hike with 790 m elevation gain and panoramic views from the 1,245 m summit, Vermont’s third highest and the only high peak not marred by human development). There are plenty of activities on the farm too and children are well catered for. Although far from being a spring chicken, I spent many happy moments in the barn with the kittens and watching the pigs which appear well cared for and contented (though I still think pigs should have access to the outdoors).

The hosts - A major reason for staying here was because Lee and Bob believe in humane, organic farming and they are certainly living up to that belief, which is all the more commendable in view of the pressure to produce and use growth hormones in the US. Bob told us his farm store was very popular and doing exceedingly well and the produce we sampled was good (the cheese and pork were excellent, the maple syrup good, but the raw milk was less creamy than we expected and the beefalo was a little tough). We didn’t have much contact with Lee and Bob and they at times seemed a little curt, but we had opted to cloister ourselves away and perhaps didn’t get the chance to sample their warmth and hospitality and they did offer helpful advice when cornered.

Verdict - A lovely place to stay and soak up the bucolic Vermont countryside and we recommend the place to anyone seeking a peaceful farm stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at Hollister for 3 nights at the beginning of October. We wanted to get to know the real Vermont and this is what we got. Some of the best foliage sights we saw where just around the farm.
The House itself is lovely. We stayed in a room with a fire place . It's very romantic and comfortable. If you want you can get up early in the morning and help bob with his animals. At 8:30 all the guests sit together with Lee and Bob for breakfast. The food lee cooks is great ( Lee- we still fantasize about your pumpkin muffins) and the conversation is even better. We are a bit shay couple and we didn’t know if we will like the common breakfast but it turn out to be one of our best experiences of our trip.
Lee and Bob are real nice and it was a real treat staying with them and getting to know them. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ililili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
8.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
376 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
483 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
8.1 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
102 reviews
8.6 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollister Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollister Hill Farm B&B

Property: Hollister Hill Farm B&B
Address: 2193 Hollister Hill Rd, Marshfield, VT 05658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hollister Hill Farm B&B Marshfield, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing