We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
Blairstown, New Jersey
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I like to feel at home in a strange place and Jay and Judith have created a unique environment where feeling at home comes naturally. Yes, the rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms spacious, the breakfasts legendary; yes! and the hot tub is fabulous; but it is the flock of ducks marching out of the red barn and around the old farmhouse in the morning that makes it so special. The llama guarding the sheep, the white cat with blue eyes curled on the couch, and the smell of clover on a summers night carried through the bedroom window on a breeze. I slept like a baby, and woke to the smell of coffee brewing and pecan waffles cooking. Just like home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a relaxing and restorative 4 nights at Judith and Jay's Pie-in-the-Sky. The inn, situated about 25 minutes from Montpelier, is simple and down home, providing every comfort needed to soothe and restore body and mind. It is very quiet and peaceful and soon you find yourself unwinding and slowing down. I had a wonderful view from my room and would enjoy my morning coffee (always prepared by Judith the night before, so all I had to do was press ON) looking out and soaking up the sounds of early morning. Jay prepares a variety of delicious and fresh gourmet breakfasts that satisfied all the foodies in my party. They are warm and nurturing as hosts but never intrusive. The place just has a very natural flow and I think Judith and Jay set that tone. We were there for a wedding party and we had the run of all three rooms. It is a perfect place for a group of people to rent together ~ you will feel like you are living in a big comfortable farm house where, magically, a fabulous breakfast appears every morning! Highly recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved staying with Jay and Judith at Pie-in-the-Sky! The accomodations are clean and simply furnished yet very comfortable. We loved the Hot Tub at the end of our day out and about. AND did I mention the breakfasts-WOW. I am a foodie and Jay really delivers an amazing spread. He made a souffle the first morning served alongside homemade ginger scones and local bacon. Mmmmm!The 2nd morning we were treated to a local polenta bread french toast and their very own maple syrup. More Mmmmm.
We will be back to enjoy the relaxed environment and great food!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Pie-in-the-Sky is a little slice of heaven in Vermont countryside. Set on a hilltop with scenic vistas, ducks, sheep and a lama, it's a perfect place to unwind from city life. Read by the wood stove, snowshoe right out the front door, or drive half an hour to shop and dine in Monteplelier. Jude and Jay are laid back hosts that shower you with warm hospitality. Breakfast is a decadent home cooked affair, featuring treasures like baked apples, curry ginger scones and soufflé with smoked cheddar. As a vegetarian, I appreciated their care in pulling out tempeh and tofu scramble. But there's breakfast meat for the omnivores too. Guests have kitchen access for lunch and dinner, so you have the option to cook your own meals, or just bring a long some treats for pre-bedtime snack. This is a special "real" Vermont experience. It's a very intimate B&B with just three rooms, and we rented the entire suite for a reasonable rate, making for a quiet, romantic weekend. This would also be a great approach for a family with kids.

Room Tip: The Library and Master Bedrooms have beautiful views of farmland. The North Side room would be a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

I have stay at Pie in the Sky three times now and each time had been spectacular. This b & b offers a lot for a very good price. There is a cozy living room with a big wood stove and comfortable couches - a great place to read or play games on a rainy day. Breakfast is in the sun room with a wonderful view over the valley below. The sun room also has a sunk-in hot tub and heated tile floors. On the first floor is the large bathroom that is just fantastic - heated tile floors with a walk in shower with multiple shower heads. There is also a large jacuzzi tub.

The three bedrooms upstairs are all cozy ( two with queen beds and one with a single bed) with plenty of closet space and lots of book shelves with a great selection of books.

Twice we have brought up 5 people and just rented the whole 6 room sweet for a wonderful weekend

To top it off the owners, Jay and Jude, are great folks. Jay even baked us cookies on Sunday night.

This is a real farm, too, so we delighted in watching the sheep, lama, and ducks. Great cats around the place are perfect for curling up on your lap for an afternoon snooze.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTheFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We so thoroughly enjoyed Jay and Jude's hospitality and warmth during our recent stay. Such wonderful people with such an incredible home to share!

The breakfasts' were cooked perfectly to our diet specifications (vegan) while others at the table enjoyed more traditional fare. They really do try to accommodate their guests in every way.

We genuinely enjoyed the lively discussions where everyone was considered to have a valuable point of view. Such interesting guests!

We were lucky to come just as the fall colors were nearing their peak and got quite a display, even just from the breakfast table.

So many wonderful sights in VT! We plan to return....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank openvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

had a great time with the hosts and by ourselves. the breakfasts were the 2 best I had all year! the eggs came from the "egg lady' over the hill and Jay sure knows how to cook. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices

Been to Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 93 Dwinell Rd, Marshfield, VT 05658-7129
Region: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast and Retreat welcomes you to visit us and stay for a while in our quiet, comfortable Civil War-era Greek Revival 18-room farmhouse. We're located in the middle of the rich cultural zone of North Central Vermont and perched just on the edge of Vermont's wild and beautiful NorthEast Kingdom. Enjoy our spa and greenhouse in complete privacy while gazing out on beautiful views and many gardens. Take a short walk down our hill to visit a large beaver meadow and bird sanctuary (where moose occasionally appear in the spring). Help us feed the sheep outside the barn -- Or, in winter season, go sledding, snow-shoeing or cross-country skiing on our 100 plus acres. Often, there are excellent groomed trails off the snow machine trail that runs the length of the land.Pie in the Sky is an easy-find -- only a mile and a third off northern New England's major east-west U.S. Route 2. We're 13 miles from Barre, the “ Granite Capital of the World”, 14 miles from Vermont's capital, Montpelier, and 20 miles from St. Johnsbury, Vt. We are close to Goddard College, and we are the closest inn to Groton State Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pie-In-The-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast Marshfield, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing