We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit shabby, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Host Killington Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit shabby, but good location”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The GOOD:
1. Location- Close to Killington/Pico and many restaurants
2. Price: Low compared to most accommodations in the area
3. Lobby: Nice big fireplace, lots of magazines & newspapers
4. Cleanliness: room clean despite poor maintenance
The BAD:
1. Poor maintenance: Light bulbs out, holes in the exterior siding, broken drawers and cabinets in the room, peeling paint in the bathroom, thermostats on dented/mangled baseboard heaters do not work well so the room was hot, and windows do not open or close easily.
2. The Spa: 2-3 seat hot tub in the motel basement, caulking around the tub all cracked, scum floating on top of water under a solar cover. This hot tub had UTI written all over it, so we did not partake.
3. Breakfast: One of the worst continental breakfasts ever! Boxed donuts, coffee, tea, OJ, toast, bagels, jelly, butter, and oatmeal.....nothing else. No milk, no cereal, no cream cheese, no fruit......
4. Evening front desk staff: The kid was completely spaced out and could not answer basic questions. We had to show him on our phone which rooms were available. He said that he was having computer trouble and could not print our invoice and wanted a copy of our credit card and driver's license. When we went out for dinner he was out front smoking weed instead of watching the desk which explains his inability to answer questions and spaciness.
5. Noise: We heard every creak, footstep, door, etc. The walls and floors are paper thin. Our upstairs neighbors may have been elephants, we are not sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107, which is a single queen efficiency. It has a couch, TV, bathroom, full refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    14
    23
    11
See reviews for
26
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Just outside the area of the super high priced Killington resorts and hotels so the value was relatively good. Friendly staff, clean enough for the age of the lodge.

Rooms and beds especially have seen better days and the windows really need some work but at least they opened as the room was quite warm. Breakfast is not much but enough to get you out the door. Making sure the coffee was hot and provide some fruit would help.

Would probably stay here again for a quick visit to Killington during busy season where all you need is a clean, safe and relatively close place to stay and places on Killington Rd are charging top dollar.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank read_a_map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here during fall foliage trip for a night. Very clean rooms. People were very friendly.
They have pool tables ( pay per game) if you enjoy it. A large dining area.

I was able to hear the water pipe sounds half the night. You can hear your neighbor. ( 1st floor)

Continental breakfast is a joke. Don't expect way too much. Coffee, bred, bagel & butter. oo yes OJ !! There are nice restaurants within driving distance. Should not be a problem.

Room Tip: Get the 2nd floor. 1st floor can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaruun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We travel the US yearly staying at Choice Hotels. We were surprised at the character of the East Mendon facility...old, concealed with aging renovations. The windows didn't open and shut properly, sound and smells transferred easily from adjacent rooms, furnishings were vintage...not antique! Breakfast was basic, cost high relative to value. Econolodge might look at this facility for replacement as it is located in a lovely spot (that needs a turn lane for uphill traffic in a passing lane), near other newer accomodations. We are retirees. Perhaps for an after ski crash pad, the place is fine. We compliment staff on clean facilities and helpful dispositions, but realize they have a downhill property in an up scale environment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the NW side of the hotel face the woods and away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendon hotels

Saranac Lake, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel. Rooms were clean but overall dated. Shouldn't $115 a night include a flat screen tv instead of an old dated grainy CRT? Continental breakfast was lame - white bread toast and donuts. No cereal, milk, or fruit. Most annoying thing about my stay was I was asked to produce my drivers license and credit card upon check in. Since I had booked with a valid credit card and the Visa card merchant agreement states that merchants do not have to ask for additional ID, I asked why did I had to show my license. The clerk's response was "in case I claimed I never stayed there and refused to pay." Clerk also said I had to have a credit card because "drug dealers don't have credit cards". Gee, any hotel that greets me as a suspected drug dealer and scofflaw must really want my repeat business! My drivers license number was recorded despite my strong protest.

Be advised if you book on the web your total price will not reflect the additional 6% local rooms tax. Since computers are good at adding numbers why can't this be added to the total when you book?
When I asked at check-in for an itemized bill showing taxes and total fees I was told "it won't print out until 5 am." When I did check out I found a $1.50 per night "safe fee" on the bill - you have to ask to have this removed whether you use the room safe or not.

While the room was clean don't expect a good nights sleep here - the walls are paper thin and from room 211 we could hear every toilet flush and floor creak from the adjoining rooms.

I booked this because I thought I could trust that a chain motel - EconoLodge - would provide predictable and modern service - this was anything but that.

Oh yeah, if you stay here - be sure not to miss the basket of "free rags" in the front lobby.

Room Tip: Perhaps it is an anomaly but room 211 is so noisy you'll think you are in the boiler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtcustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I imagine this place could get quite pricey during the ski season, but during August it was a very good deal. The room # 105 was big, comfortable; free breakfast was in a ski-themed room downstairs and featured bagels, assorted donuts, coffee, juice, tea; there's an indoor hot tub, outdoor pool, and is nicely landscaped. The lady at night was very nice. No fridge or microwave in room, but there is a coffeemaker. Location is outside of both Killington & Rutland and was very quiet. It was a good location for traveling to the different things we wanted to see before heading to Burlington.

Room Tip: I guess because of its rustic quality, the floors are a bit squeeky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjcooper7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel and rooms were nice. Service was poor.The amenities which make it special were lacking. We had to get our own cups and coffee for the in room machine. The soaps and shampoo were not replaced daily. The garbage cans were not emptied until we requested it. Large bags of dirty laundry were left sitting in the hall for several days.We were very disappointed. Not a do again spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stcatharines65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
2.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
1.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.5 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Killington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Killington Lodge

Property: Budget Host Killington Lodge
Address: 4293 US Route 4, Mendon, VT 05701-6806 (Formerly Econo Lodge Killington Area)
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Killington Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budget Host Killington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Killington Area Hotel Mendon
Econo Lodge Mendon
Econolodge Killington Area
Mendon Econo Lodge
Budget Host Killington Lodge Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing