We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They need to get better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Host Killington Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They need to get better!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

When I saw the add on the Internet, I though at least the place will be nice to have a good night of sleep. First the tub drain was clogged, we inform the front desk and they not even offer another room (was myself, my husband and my two kids using the same tub!). The ac didn't work, we had to open the window to get some air. The night stand had some syrups inside the drawer (disgusted). Next time, for sure, I'll not gonna stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    14
    23
    11
See reviews for
26
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivoryton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Quoted one price on the phone.Taxes came to more and a gratuity of $4.97 is charged as a tax. What is this all about? No answer for this charge. Watch your final checkout statement. Never saw this before.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendon hotels

Sparta, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at the Econo Lodge in Mendon, VT. for a night and it was wonderful...could not find any faults as stated in other reviews with the exception of one thing. You have to open the curtains and look at the back of the bldg. on the outside to notice that there is a small amount of renovation that needs to be done (painting, carpentry work, etc.) NOTHING TOO MUCH, SO KEEP YOUR CURTAINS PULLED UNTIL THEY FIX IT!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room not facing the street and it was quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Recently stayed here 2 nights. On the plus side the prices are very reasonable, the hotel public areas and rooms are clean, linens were good,(although sheets were a little thin), room size was nice and bed was comfortable. Also, the place is quiet and the outside grounds nice. The staff was very friendly and professional. On the negative side, the entrance road and parking lot should be paved - it is gravel which makes for dust and dirt tracked inside on carpets. The front entry door has seen better days - years ago, and should be replaced. The lobby and hallway carpeting needs to be replaced as well. All of the furniture in the downstairs and upstairs sitting areas should be thrown out! It is worn and threadbare. Also, all of the fake plants need to be thrown out as well, and please update the front desk area and get rid of the bars which are so intimidating. Larger flat screen TV's in the rooms should be standard. The location of this hotel is about 4 1/2 miles from downtown Rutland and there is plenty of parking. We would probably consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed one night. The hotel is in need of an update desperately. Everything is adequate and fairly clean. Disappointed that the hot tub in the lodge didn't work and the one out by the pool we were told, "it hasn't worked in decades". The continental breakfast was pathetic so off the Dunkin we went. Wouldn't suggest anyone go there unfortunately. The place is dark, unwelcoming and smells stale.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This winter I began skiing and tried to get to killington as often as possible. The econo lodge was the reason I was able to do so. Affordably priced with good accommodations (is cute inside like you would picture a ski lodge, not too far from the mountain, large clean room). They have someone there to answer the phone 24-7 so you can make a reservation last minute if you need to. We have also stayed at one inn and one of the "nicer" hotels and we keep coming back here. You can't beat it for the price and the rooms at the nicer places were not much different at all. For the purposes of going to killington to ski all day, eat nap and then eat again (what we do) the econo lodge is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl8217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was on a girls weekend trip to the killington area.This hotel is budget friendly.we had a great time.I like the rustic ski lodge look of the place.the staff was very helpful.had a problem with the T.V.,came to look at it right away.Already booked a future trip in Sept,and going back in the winter to go skiing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
1.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.5 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Killington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Killington Lodge

Property: Budget Host Killington Lodge
Address: 4293 US Route 4, Mendon, VT 05701-6806 (Formerly Econo Lodge Killington Area)
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Killington Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budget Host Killington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Killington Area Hotel Mendon
Econo Lodge Mendon
Econolodge Killington Area
Mendon Econo Lodge
Budget Host Killington Lodge Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing