We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could easily be a 4-star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortina Inn and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This could easily be a 4-star resort”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Let me give you the pros and cons - we travel a lot and usually stay in mid range hotels. This place has a lot to offer, it just needs a tiny bit of work to make it perfect.

Pros - great service, very sweet front desk, fantastic breakfast (I didn't go but it met my bf's standards), amazing heated pool and hot tub (not even mentioned on the webpage), a lot of amenities in the basement. Games, pool, table tennis, air hockey, etc. Loved the fireplaces!
The rooms and bathrooms have been renovated and are fantastic, warm, comfy beds, etc. Now if they can be dusted a bit better, that would be wonderful too.

Cons - definitely lacks maintenance. Feels as if half has been renovated and cleaned and half hasn't. Some carpets and surfaces are great, some are from 30 years ago. Lots of dust in the basement and hasn't been arranged or photographed for the website - and it is a hidden gem so you better go and unravel it, lots to do downstairs.

I hope they clean it thoroughly for the high season, arrange the basement, clean the bathrooms, and dust the rooms. Also update the website. It is a great property that can be making way more money with just a tiny bit of investment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaN1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    47
    27
    10
    16
See reviews for
38
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Cortina owners are working hard to restore this spacious inn. The rooms are comfortable, the pool and hot tub are nice, there is a recreation area, a huge fire pit to sit around, and plenty of room to relax with friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you read the reviews, they are mixed. This at one time was much fancier with full bar and restaurant. But it is being done over with most rooms remodeled and we had a wonderful time here. So the bar is gone, no problem, we were encouraged to bring our own food and wine, etc. to enjoy the wonderful fire pit which is centrally located with comfortable seating 360 degress around for at least 30 people. The staff even provided wine glasses. The elevator was not functional and the carpet had frays here and there, but the rooms were fresh and clean, the pool and hot tub were fantastic and staff was great. Full buffet breakfast included. A great place to share with large groups and theraputic massage available to ease aches and pains after s full day of skiing. We will be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor back side have balconies and mountain views instead of parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Cortina Inn is a perfect place for a get away located in the beautiful mountains of Vermont. Offering warm hospitality and comfortable beds. Clean and fresh. Beautiful pool and hot tub .Located close to local hot spots on the mountain ,shopping and dining a short drive away.
I needed to have a little R and R and went up for a night and I have to say it was a much needed get away, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy , quite . It was perfect. I got to take a swim, got take out and relaxed. Perfect. Thank you Cortina

Room Tip: The beds are comfortable and the rooms seem sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent a weekend at this wonderful resort hotel. Got in on a Friday afternoon, enjoyed the warm welcome of the hotel staff and got settled into our newly remodeled rooms. The rooms are luxurious with the most comfortable beds and pillows around. We loved the Vermont air, and viewing the fall foliage on Saturday and loved relaxing pool in the evening. There are several nice restaurants for lunch/dinner right around the hotel or you can go into town for more variety.

We loved the Breakfast on Sunday morning and left with a wonderful lasting impression. We will for sure be back. Thanks again for making our weekend memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This once beautiful resort hotel has been run to the ground by what seems to be a remodel gone bad terrible neglect and downsizing. Don't let the pictures fool you the pool is about the only thing remaining with any semblance of luxury or repair and cleanliness.

There is no longer a warm charming downstairs pup in which to relax after a day on the slopes out sightseeing or engaging in other area past times. No longer a restaurant offering the amazing Sunday brunches that brought folks from all over to the inn.

No blazing fire awaits you as it once did only cold empty fireplaces. No one is present with a friendly welcome as you walk through the doors just a sign asking you to call a number where on the other end you get a cold hello from some person no where near the inn itself. The rooms are dingy dirty and lacking the charm and comfort once making this inn THE place to go.

It has the feel of a tomb of a once grand place now a ghost town. The tennis courts are gone the gift shop no more tea and cookies in the afternoon no longer offered and the service beyond merely lacking in warmth there is none to speak of . What there is is unfriendly unwelcoming and full of excuses without resolutions.

Pictures in this case do not speak a thousand words unless the words those you'll see on the internet of this inn are to be considered lies from the start.

Do not spend the money it is far from worth it!!!!! in fact any price would be to much for the experience here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendon hotels

Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at at this hotel for the first time this weekend, and it was fabulous! The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was clean and cozy, the breakfast was delicious, and we loved the pool and hot tub. The location was great for viewing fall foliage, and it would also be the perfect spot for a ski vacation. We were there for a couple's get away weekend, but we plan to return for a stay with our daughter because they have some great rooms for families and the staff was very family-friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.1 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortina Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortina Inn and Resort

Property: Cortina Inn and Resort
Address: 5709 Route 4, Mendon, VT 05751-4435
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortina Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortina Inn, located in Rutland/Killington is one of Vermont’s loveliest hotel and four-season destination resort, is centrally located in the Green Mountain State only minutes from the Killington and Pico ski areas and just a few miles from downtown Rutland. Here, experience the true meaning of “relaxation” amidst the awe-inspiring beauty of the extraordinary natural environment. Virtually everything you could want is within a few steps of your door, and you’re always welcomed by a friendly staff dedicated to your every comfort.Internationally renowned for offering guests the charming hospitality of a country inn with the splendid amenities of a full service resort hotel. Cortina Inn features 57 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, all air-conditioned and many with their own fireplaces. Tastefully and uniquely furnished in luxurious contemporary décor or charming country style, every room and suite provides enviable levels of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cortina Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Mendon
Cortina Inn And Resort Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing