We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little 'Inn' in Mendon!”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

It was our first time at the Inn on our Killington/Pico ski trip this past weekend. The rooms were cozy, the sauna and jacuzzi were very inviting and the food was phenomenal! We woke up every morning at 8am to the smell of freshly brewed coffee, freshly baked banana bread or cider donuts from a local cider mill and hot breakfast! Take your pick - plenty of french toast varieties, pancakes, eggs any style or an omelet to order (different every day!). Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, drinks, cookies and fruit were available throughout the day and night - fresh backed cookies that is by Michael himself! The Inn Keepers were nothing shy of friendly and fun! Very personable and accommodating... they should be praised for their superb customer service. We will surely be back for more fun next winter!

thanks again for a fabulous weekend!
Cristina & Michael - Forest Hills, NY

Room Tip: We stayed in room E- perfect for a couple looking for a romantic weekend in the mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for The Vermont Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

I have been visiting the Killington area for many years now and always stayed on the Killington access road. This time I wanted a more personal experience since traveling with my boyfriend. I was very pleased when we got to the Vermont Inn and checked into our room. We had room E which is painted in a beautiful shade of green (my favorite color!) and is more private since it is set in the back part of the Inn, which is what we wanted. The innkeepers Emily and Mike were very accommodating and friendly right from the start!
They offered us wonderful dining suggestions in the area and even had a little get together for New Years Eve at the bar. The breakfast each morning was delicious and cooked to your liking. In the afternoon Mike always put out yummy treats like fresh baked cookies and hot cider for us to enjoy.
The Inn is conveniently located under 10 miles to Killington and a few miles to Pico and alot more activities nearby. I would definitely recommend the Vermont Inn and be a guest there again! :)

Room Tip: Room E is very private and in the back of the Inn with a beautiful view of the woods... quite serene...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here during peak ski season and we had a wonderful stay..The inn itself is very cozy and the innkeepers are great! They gave us great suggestions dining around the area, made sure that our stay was very comfortable and we felt very much at home there.. And, don't miss out their breakfast.. It truly gave us a great start to the day.. We loved The Vermont Inn and would definitely return...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckyluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife, 17 year old son and I visited the Vermont Inn just before Christmas. I'm not normally a fan of inns because I find them a little pretentious and stuffy. My wife is from the area and we had stayed there 8 years earlier under different management; we knew it had changed hands several times but read some great reviews here on TripAdvisor. Those turned out to be true! We had a wonderful time. We had a newly renovated family suite of two rooms, each with its own bath and small flat screen TVs, there was wifi throughout, and so it was perfect for a longer stay.

Recently installed innkeepers Mike and Emily (and usually absentee owners JB and Samantha who were there that week) were wonderful hosts, helpful, upbeat fun, never obtrusive but full of interesting facts about the inn and the area. Breakfasts were amazing, usually two or three choices including omelets, eggs, and some kind of french toast -- go for the apple french toast! -- with seconds always offered. Every afternoon, there were cookies, tea, and hot cider when we returned from the days activities. The hot tub was a blast! There are larger spaces for sitting and reading and watching TV.

All in all, a wonderful alternative to a hotel, but with many of the amenities you'd want. It's ideally located between Rutland and Killington, right near Pico, so you can take advantage of all three. The new team is clearly attempting to reboot the inn experience and based on our visit, they are doing a great job. We hope they continue to thrive!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room... they are doing them one by one.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyctraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

From talking to Mike a week before hand about the reservation and the accommodations I was looking for the Vermont Inn was fantastic. Needed a good setting for a strategy session with a few colleagues and a spot right by the wood stove did the trick. Very spacious rooms with fireplaces in each and spotless. Breakfast was excellent as was Emily's very friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clark495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

That was very nice stay, ekspecly the innkeepers Mike and Emily,they are very lovely people,they breakfast where the best ( french toast ). If you ned good suggestions of places to go out, just ask them, you never go wrong if you ask them ( favorite place Garlic ) don't go to Pepinos! And don't forget Mike's cookies.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorian84749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We recently spent a very comfortable week at the Vermont Inn. Michael & Emily, the innkeepers, could not have been nicer. Upon seeing the size of our dog they upgraded us to a larger room that was very clean and comfortable. We were in the area for ski race training and needed to get to the mountain early and they had no problem getting a nice breakfast out to us earlier than usual. We really enjoyed taking our dog hiking on the trails right out back. We look forward to staying there again the next time we are in the area. Jim & Jane R

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimrock914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: £85 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing