We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked on a whim, and booked the following weekend in less than 24 hours!”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We booked on a whim, and booked the following weekend in less than 24 hours!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Erin and Michael are the Inn Keepers and could not have chosen a better life path. They warmly welcome you to this labyrinth of charm and old Vermont hospitality. The Inn was a continual add on from the original house, well documented with historical photos in the main room, which also houses a very cozy bar for evening visitor service (till 10 pm usually). Breakfast is served in the joining room with stone fireplace to continue the warmth of your bedroom or suite. They serve up such delicious breakfast , you just say "yes" to anything they are cooking. Real New England, homestyle taste. The rooms are quiet even though they were completely booked solid. Granted we were on the end so it may be the distance that helped. Clean, quaint and charming, the bed is extra comfortable and warm. Fireplace included with the suite, the bathroom was spotless with a very welcoming shower. Need more therapy after your day of Skiing? Try the outdoor hot tube - oh yea!
Easy access from Rutland on the way up to Pico/Killington. Set off the road some for peace and quiet, great parking. Only reason this place is not five stars is it is a VERY old New England B&B, but extremely well kept. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and again, and I am five days after the first.

Room Tip: Ask for "E" or "J" - those rooms are on the northwest "wing". Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draudio2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    33
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
101
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Never stayed in Mendon to ski Pico or Killington. Turned out to be a blessing not having to drive up the pass in a snowstorm. And also getting down into Rutland for dinner was easier than fighting the crowds on the Access Road and the food was much better. Table 24 and Three Tomatoes in particular were wonderful and a departure from overpriced resort fare. Lovely hosts, hot tub and sauna, a bar, made to order breakfast. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cirque_dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazenovia, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vermont Inn several times a few years ago. It is under new management now with Emily and Michael, who are gracious hosts. Our queen size room with a television and fireplace was clean and well appointed. Emily and Michael were always available to answer questions and provide suggestions, even ordering out pizza for guests on a blustery and blizzardy night. The homemade breakfasts are yummy and pleasantly substantial. We did miss the restaurant that was operating on previous visits but breakfast was a treat. The hot tub is perfect and, although we didn't use it, the workout facility is good. The Inn was quiet and comfortable. It's a good place to get away and enjoy the pleasures of Vermont. We will return and will recommend it to others who are looking for a comfortable, homey place to stay without the glitter of high end hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have lovely views. Check out the website for good photos and descriptions o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My grown up son and I based ourselves here for our annual ski visit to the Killington area. Lovely Inn with character and in an ideal position for skiing Killington, Pico and Okemo. Emily and Michael were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in room 11 (2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom) which was Ideal for our stay. Great breakfasts (daily specials, or whatever you wanted), afternoon cookies and a relaxing lounge and/or bar in the evening. Very good value and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We just came out yesterday from 3 nights during Quebec's spring break. Excellent location along route 4, but just away enough so you won't hear the cars. Mendon is just 10 minutes away from Killington in one direction and Rutland (the nearest city) in the other direction.

The place is old and sobre, with a typical New England architecture. The rooms are nice and clean. We were the only ones at the beginning of the week. Room 1 and 3 are combined room, perfect for a small family. These rooms are just next to a small living room. It's old, but we enjoyed it with the old tv and a choice of old dvd and even vhs. We watched Benji with our son. There is a selection of kids movies.

But what makes all the difference is the staff. In facts Emily and Michael are young managers living there. They are very nice and give you good indications of restaurants or other places around like Mcgrath irish pub a couple of mile away, where you can reach some snowshoeing trails. They also gave us access to their fridge, since there is no fridge in the rooms. But above all they offer an excellent service and are very friendly.

At night there are cookies available and there is always coffe, tea and hot chocolate at the bar.

The breakfast is excellent. You can always have the traditionnal bacon and egg. The bacon is crispy and tasty. Michael does the cooking and he's very good. I suggest the sausage wich comes from a local farm. It's very tasty also, a bit of pepper in it...so good! There is a different omelet every day. I took the greek one with black olives and goat chese. Wow! Pancakes with maple sirup and french toast with various topping depending of the day. I had one with berrys one day and another day a caramel topping. If you like to taste everything, beleive me, everything is so good. Thanks to Michael! Emily does the service and she's a real sunshine. Even for french speaking like us, she's easy to understand even though she speaks fast. A little accent and music in her voice to my ears. So charming!

So you have to take it for what it is. Don't expect a five star luxury hotel, but hospitality is the key here. We usually don't go too much in bed & breakfast, often going in hotels with large hd tv, inside pool and all this. But it sur gives us a taste of what it is and makes us want to try it again for sure.

I forgot, wifi is free and fast too. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 3 combined for family, close to a small living room. Otherwise, go at the other end if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre_Fournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very well received by emily and michael who will make you feel home on your vacation! Good costxbenefit! Perfect location being close to the mountains and rutland downtown! I would come back for sure!
Good for couples or familys who want to rest or enjoy the great killington resort

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We loved our stay at the Vermont Inn! My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights in a queen bed room with a fireplace (highly recommended). Emily and Mike were very friendly and had a lot of great tips on restaurants to check out in the area. We were there to ski for a few days and to also check out some of the towns nearby. The breakfasts were also delicious! There were different options everyday - we loved the omelettes and french toast options. There were always cookies out at night and water/tea/coffee as well. Remember your swimsuits! The outdoor hot tub feels amazing after a long day of skiing. We highly recommend this b&b.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Cortina Inn and Resort
5.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Property: The Vermont Inn
Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing