We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Place and A Great Value”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at this lovely, restful Bed and Breakfast. The original building is over 170 years old so it has some creaks and groans but that is part of the charm. The host, Emily and Michael, treated everyone like family and achieved a blend of excellent service in an unobtrusive, laid back manner. Breakfast was a fruit/juice bar and a made to order meal consisting of Coconut French Toast, Blue Pancakes, Omelets, eggs any way, bacon cooked just right, link sausage and toast and of course, Vermont Maple Syrup.
There was an outdoor pool and hot tub, indoor sauna and work out room, tennis court and a trail I dubbed the Enchanted Forrest. All kinds of local attractions like hiking, biking, fishing, boating and on and on. Even though it was August, one lift was running at Killington to take bikers and hikers to the top or you could just ride the loop and enjoy the view. If you are ever in the area, this is the place to stay if you want to kick back, decompress and watch the mountain side.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of room sizes. We were in B on the front and it was great. All rooms on seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill9751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family and I stayed at The Vermont Inn for a family wedding. We were traveling with two young children, which isn't always easy; however, Emily and Michael ensured that we had everything that we needed. The room was immaculate and we truly enjoyed the experience of staying at the inn! I give it two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Vermont Inn is in an almost perfect location for a look at the Green Mountains. It is halfway between Killington and Rutland, right on Rt. 4. The summer views are spectacular. The Inn itself is in transition, with new out-of-town owners and a nice young couple, Emily and Michael, on property. We were upgraded to a lovely room, which had a bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. It was clean and very pleasant, if a little odd with a rather steep step between the kingsize bed and the bathroom. A little scary to negotiate the first night. But the bed was great. The cooked-to-order breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choices, although definitely not upscale. We stayed for three nights and the room was only made up the first day of our stay. We ate breakfast for the first two mornings at the same table. My wife noticed a spot on the tablecloth the first morning and the same tablecloth was there the second day. The negatives were minor, though. It was a pleasant stay with friendly, helpful people who are obviously trying to make the place even better. If you do stay here, we highly recommend two restaurants in Rutland - Table 24 and Roots. Both have varied menus with locally grown and raised produce and meats and both are very, very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hapauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Vermont Inn is set in a beautiful location with great views of the mountains and plenty of parking. It is not close to the ski lifts but in some ways that was refreshing. The owners were attentive, kind, helpful and enthusiastic. I loved the decor & the colors in the room but I could have done with out the three daddy long leg spiders above my shower. The Inn could use some freshening up but it does offer other amenities like a hot tub, pool and exercise room. We were offered several choices for breakfast which was a nice change instead of the one choice for the day that most B & B’s offer. We enjoyed the homemade cookies (warm and buttery) offered every afternoon.

Room Tip: Check to see which room was most recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rombutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We chose this place because we wanted a true Vermont experience during our New England holiday. I am so glad I did as the moment we arrived Emily and Michael made us feel like we were in their own home. They upgraded our room which was a welcome surprise, very well appointed room which was so quiet, we found the bed very comfortable. Now the breakfast is something to write home about. The pancakes are so fluffy you have to try them, not to mention the French toast that changes every day. Emily and Michael really went the extra mile for us, lending maps, deck chairs and giving us great tips of places to visit in the local area. We would not have had such an enjoyable visit to Vermont without their advice and warm welcome. I would urge you to book here instead of that soul-less hotel and really immerse yourself in the experience. We will most definitely be back, although next time we will stay longer as there is so much to do up here in the mountains. Thanks for such a good holiday. :-)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank xelhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My mom organized our reunion here after researching many other Vermont locations. After months of planning, she set my expectations of Mike and Emily pretty high. So I wasn't surprised on Friday morning when I got a call from Mike asking about my arrival time and if things were going as planned. That was the first of many times the owners went above and beyond for our family of 35, ranging in ages from toddler to 94.

We realized shortly after arrival that we didn't have a dinner plan for those guests staying Friday night. They offered up the dining room for an impromptu pizza dinner, opening up the bar and putting the beer tabs on our rooms. When it started to sprinkle on the picnic planned for outdoors the next day, again we were welcomed into the dining room. Both times we were able to save money by bringing in outside catering and use their facilities and bar at no attritional charge for as long as we'd like. Talk about gracious hosts!

The facility was perfect for larger gatherings, with smaller rooms for private conversations. There was a game room which kept the kids entertained for hours. The pool was modest, but perfect for our needs. The tennis courts had scooter tracks all over them by the time we left. We spent a good amount of time exploring the creek in back of the property, with pools for resting, rocks for climbing and muddy patches for foot print tracking. The place is the right balance of laid back and comfortable - just what we needed.

The rooms layouts were quite varied so each family found something that fit their specific needs. Our shower was hot and strong with plenty of towels, which is huge for me. The bed was comfortable with more pillows and blankets than we would ever need.

Breakfasts were fantastic, with a coffee bar, fruits and cereal available before the official breakfast hour began. The homemade hot chocolate chip cookies each afternoon were amazing. There was always a pitcher of ice water and water goblets which we needed on a hot July weekend.

If you are looking for a high end, modern hotel, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a quaint, relaxed New England inn with owners who would do anything to make your stay more comfortable, come check out the Vermont Inn.

Room Tip: The description of the rooms with photos is spot on for what you get when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling_JenRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just got back from The Vermont Inn----we could not have had a better time. Our group included elders (late 80's-early 90's), youngsters (17 months old) and everything in-between.......and Emily and Mike took care of our every need. When the area where we were to hold our picnic fell through, they stepped up and urged us to hold it at the Inn. It could not have worked out any better. Breakfast was outstanding, our rooms were lovely and comfortable (and quiet), beautiful flowers around the building, bar service on site (for those of us who imbibe!)-----Emily even took our family pictures and did not complain about all the cameras. Location was ideal---all around fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
4 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#4 of 13 in Killington
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Greenbrier Inn
Greenbrier Inn
#6 of 14 in Killington
160 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: £61 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing