We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location! Fantastic 3-day Stay”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mathews, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location! Fantastic 3-day Stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I visited during Peak Leaf color. This location was perfect for accessing many areas of the state from viewing the beautiful countryside, SOooo many covered bridges, ferrying on Lake Champlain, touring breweries, Ben & Jerry's, Cabot.....it was endless! The location is beautiful with awesome views in a quiet location. I loved seeing the original photos of the Inn and the families who lived there. I would have liked to see more on the history. Our room was VERY clean and the Queen size bed was just dreamy and Oh, so comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and fresh. The television was small (I don't watch television) so I was very pleased to read my book in the lovely sitting area in our large room. Very nice! Emily and Michael were perfect hosts! There were yummy homemade cookies everyday and evening. Breakfast choices were available every morning with each day offering something extra special. It was perfect. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Different rooms offer different amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    35
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I recently rented the entire Inn for our daughters wedding. Members from both families stayed for two nights and we all had a terrific time. The ceremony was held on the front lawn and the reception in the dinning area , dancing in the bar and socializing in the living area. The younger crowd piled into the hot tub at 2 in the morning.
Emily and Michael were wonderful hosts. They attended to all our needs and everything went off without a hitch. They were both simply awesome! .
My wife and I will be back for more treks to the Green Mountains and my daughter and her new husband I'm sure will do the same. .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend 2013. We were at the Inn for two nights. It is a lovely place with very friendly and helpful owners. When we we arrived, they gave us a tour of the inn and showed us to our room. Imagine my surprise when I saw that it was more like a suite than a typical hotel room, with an outer foyer, then a step up to the bedroom. Lo and behold, there was a giant two-person jacuzzi tub in the room. I was shocked and pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the food was AMAZING and the views from this inn are wonderful. I should also mention that although the inn looks slightly dated, it is very well-kept and doesn't feel old. I will likely be back the next time I am looking for a cozy yet deluxe experience in Vermont. For the price I paid, this was way more than I would have expected!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonGal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marly-le-Roi, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were only there for a night and Emily and Michael immediately gave us the home Vermont experience we were looking for. We had the A suite wich was nice and roomy. I didn't sleep very well,but I can't blame the beds, very comfortables. The Ac was kinda hard to set, though.
Breakfast was delicious and it was overall a very good but somewhat pricey experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loicbilliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at this lovely, restful Bed and Breakfast. The original building is over 170 years old so it has some creaks and groans but that is part of the charm. The host, Emily and Michael, treated everyone like family and achieved a blend of excellent service in an unobtrusive, laid back manner. Breakfast was a fruit/juice bar and a made to order meal consisting of Coconut French Toast, Blue Pancakes, Omelets, eggs any way, bacon cooked just right, link sausage and toast and of course, Vermont Maple Syrup.
There was an outdoor pool and hot tub, indoor sauna and work out room, tennis court and a trail I dubbed the Enchanted Forrest. All kinds of local attractions like hiking, biking, fishing, boating and on and on. Even though it was August, one lift was running at Killington to take bikers and hikers to the top or you could just ride the loop and enjoy the view. If you are ever in the area, this is the place to stay if you want to kick back, decompress and watch the mountain side.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of room sizes. We were in B on the front and it was great. All rooms on seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill9751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family and I stayed at The Vermont Inn for a family wedding. We were traveling with two young children, which isn't always easy; however, Emily and Michael ensured that we had everything that we needed. The room was immaculate and we truly enjoyed the experience of staying at the inn! I give it two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Vermont Inn is in an almost perfect location for a look at the Green Mountains. It is halfway between Killington and Rutland, right on Rt. 4. The summer views are spectacular. The Inn itself is in transition, with new out-of-town owners and a nice young couple, Emily and Michael, on property. We were upgraded to a lovely room, which had a bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. It was clean and very pleasant, if a little odd with a rather steep step between the kingsize bed and the bathroom. A little scary to negotiate the first night. But the bed was great. The cooked-to-order breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choices, although definitely not upscale. We stayed for three nights and the room was only made up the first day of our stay. We ate breakfast for the first two mornings at the same table. My wife noticed a spot on the tablecloth the first morning and the same tablecloth was there the second day. The negatives were minor, though. It was a pleasant stay with friendly, helpful people who are obviously trying to make the place even better. If you do stay here, we highly recommend two restaurants in Rutland - Table 24 and Roots. Both have varied menus with locally grown and raised produce and meats and both are very, very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hapauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Cortina Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Property: The Vermont Inn
Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing