We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like being at home - but with better breakfasts”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like being at home - but with better breakfasts”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here in February on a short family break. Four adults and one kid.
Emily and Mike are a lovely laid back couple who really know how to treat their guests. We had our 4-year-old with us and she absolutely loved it.
The rooms are small, but clean and cosily furnished. The building on the whole is a bit bruised and battered really. I understand that Emily and Mike have big plans for the place and I hope they come to pass because the location is excellent and they work hard.
The breakfasts are really, really great and they set you up for the day really well. The homemade biscuits are great too.
They are totally flexible and accommodating about children and pets.
In terms of room reservations, Mike was able to make some adjustments to our booking to make our stay more comfortable. They know the area. They will give you good, unbiased advice and will go the extra mile and think nothing of it.
You will not get a warmer and more genuine welcome than at the Vermont Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    35
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
108
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Vermont Inn and had a great experience. Michael and Emily were very welcoming and helpful. Emily even offered to drive us out to dinner when our taxi was incredibly late. (Don't use Roy's Taxi.) Breakfast was nice and the fresh baked cookies were delicious. The inn was close to Pico, Killington and Okemo but also had more charm than the usual inexpensive ski town motel. Our room was very small, but it was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycmjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The staff are accommodating, the price is low and the location is perfect for skiers. Very near Pico and not more than 10 minutes from Killington, it's absolutely ideal. Having said that, the breakfast is fair. The rooms are dated and definitely need some repair, The pictures on the web site are not for each room, they are for each room category. So, I ordered a double room because I wanted a hard wood floor. (Allergies.) But there are many double rooms and I got one with carpet anyway. In fact there are so many rooms its a bit daunting. The hallway is very long and narrow. We had to go through the TV room to get to our hallway. It's a bit like a rabbit warren. Finally, I could not get my hat back after having accidentally left it in the room. (It was a great hat!) I guess the moral of the story is, if you're going skiing, need a place to crash Friday night so you can hit the slopes early Saturday morning and are leaving that same night then it might not matter. But I wouldn't stay there for a week, or go there for a romantic getaway. Just saying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Vermont Inn with my boyfriend and another couple and it was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were small, but perfect because we were skiing all day. Killington is about 10 minutes down the road, which made it extremely convenient. The breakfast that was served was very good and Emily and Mike were very helpful with any questions that we had. I will absolutely stay there again! Thanks Emily and Mike!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just gotten back from The Vermont Inn. We loved our stay there. Michael and Emily were very welcoming and very flexible to our needs which we appreciated. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice - we did enjoy the yummy cakes and bakes that were still warm at breakfast time.
Our room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space. The inn also has a Jacuzzi, sauna and games room so there is something for everyone.
If you are looking for a cosy American country getaway then I highly recommend The Vermont Inn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSiBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed here at least 5 times in the past two years. My fiance found the place when his usual hotel wasnt available. We werent sure about staying at an Inn/B&B type place but now we're hooked & won't go back. When we pull up we feel like we're returning home to visit old friends. We have come with groups and had 2&3 rooms booked at a time. They always find us a great arrangement. Breakfast is so delicious that we've stopped going "out" for breakfast. I love going downstairs and and helping myself to some coffee, relaxing and goofing off on the laptop by the fire early in the morning. Emily is always there setting up and full of energy already. or coming in after a day in the slopes and finding fresh baked cookies waiting. You cant beat it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lricords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Kate, daughter Penny, husband Neil,granddaughter Nora (3.5) and myself, enjoyed a great holiday at The Inn in Feb'14. Great facilities and fabulous breakfasts. Very surprised by the spacious foyer, lounge/bar and additional t.v. lounge, games room, gym, sauna and external hot tub. This was particularly good, as Neil does not ski so relaxed and took full advantage of this.
Our hosts, Emily and Michael, were always available 24/7 and were most helpful with their local knowledge, with regards to the best local restaurants, ski pass deals, etc,.They were extremely friendly and made use feel totally at home.
We will certainly return to The Vermont Inn, next time we plan to Ski Killington/Pico or as a visit to Vermont for the Fall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesSLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Cortina Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Property: The Vermont Inn
Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing