We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for a very enjoyable three nights at The Vermont Inn. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The view was extraordinary. Wifi in the room was very strong.

A "cooked as you like it" full breakfast was served each morning. We ate dinner at the restaurant two nights and the food was imaginative and excellent tasting. The service was friendly and efficient. We ate our meals outside on the deck each day; the view is great.

The large lawn area out front was great for late afternoon wine and cheese.

The hot tub was extra clean.

The front desk provided a map of close hiking trails, some which were very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a great view. Rooms in the back are looking out towards close in trees, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked a room a month in advance at the Vermont Inn. It had recently changed hands a few months before our arrival. It is now owned by absentee owners. The room we were assigned was very comfortable but dimly lit with low wattage bulbs. There is no counter space in the bathroom. The white furniture in the room is lovely, worn spots have been sanded and not yet painted. There was no safe or telephone in the room. There was no room guide booklet with important information on Inn policy and information such as check in and check out times. The price of the room was about double the advertised coupon rate for chain hotels nearby.

We decided to dine in after reading the menu which advertised $5,00 martinis and $5.00 flatbreads. Without any explanation from the bartender, when the bill arrived there were discrepancies in the price of the vodka martini. It seems that all vodka martinis are not the same price despite their advertisement that martinis were $5.00. The flatbreads were also advertised at $5.00, however our bill reflected a higher price. We also ordered garlic soup which was very disappointing as it did not have a garlic flavor and the dipping breads were burned and blackened. The flat-bread we ordered also had burnt edges. The atmosphere seems peasant in the bar restaurant and patio. The service was friendly. . Perhaps with better management things will approve.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sherman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We just had our Family Reunion at the VT Inn and I must say they certainly went out of their way
to provide us with the best experience EVER!... Michael and Emily and Dillon and all the other servers were awesome the atmosphere felt homey cozy and completely relaxed . They were right on top of all of our needs They didnt rush anything just went with the flow the food was amazing and plentiful. The rooms were spotless with very comfortable beds :) I gave them 5 stars because they deserve it .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful Inn with spectacular views. After being closed for a few years, the restaurant reopened during our stay (July 3rd). The food and service was excellent. The atmosphere of the inn and the friendliness of all the staff is exactly what one would expect from a Vermont experience.
They are also pet friendly which is not always an easy thing to find in upscale B & Bs and inns.
The pool was out of service as they are doing many improvements to the inn and the grounds. It will all be worth it in the end.
Thanks again, Emily and Michael and staff who will go above and beyond to make your stay as wonderful as possible!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front offer great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank canuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a great laid-back setting for our family reunion! We were able to basically take over the common areas and set up outdoor games on the lawns. The front patio was a favorite hang out spot as well as the dining room. The staff was helpful, friendly, and fun. We had delectable breakfasts and a delicious barbeque. Looking forward to our next reunion!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our extended family took over the Vermont Inn for a family reunion for 4 days in late June, 2014. The facility is charming and the staff incredible. The managers Mike and Emily exceeded our expectation in every way. They were totally responsive to our large, unruly group (41 of us). The fully breakfasts are fantastic. Every request of ours was met with a big smile and immediate response. There is daily maid service in the rooms (unusual for a lot of B&B's). There is a full bar on site.The setting is gorgeous, with a view of the nearby mountains at Killington. We're already making plans to return to this B&B for our next reunion in two years. Be aware the pool is currently closed for major service, but the inn has s a hot tub and sauna. There is a large patio facing the sunset and a large grassy lawn for games/sports. The landscaping is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just celebrated our Family Reunion at the Vermont Inn- 43 of us from 9 months to 76 years. There was something for everyone and it could not have been more perfect. The rooms were spotless, the food was extraordinary and the innkeepers provided our family with everything possible to make the event memorable. Michael and Emily were so amazing in their management style- Even a special guest appearance by Mickey Mouse!!!
Thanks to all who made this so perfect.

Room Tip: Many large,charming suites. Ask and they will help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Bob1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: £69 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing