We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem near Killington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband found Red Clover Inn restaurant last year when we were staying at Killington - the meal was absolutly excellent and the inn looked absolutley lovely. The following year when booking our trip for MLK weekend we decided to stay at RC. The rooms are clean and spacious (we stayined in Elliot room) breakfast is DELISH!!! When we checked out we asked if they were booked up yet for Presidents day weekend and they said since we are coming back they would upgrade us. We called 2 weeks later and booked and stayed in Dan room. We will always come back to Red Clover when staying at Killington, other couples we spoke to we told them to go to dinner there its' absolutely amazing. RC staff is amazing they do a great job - I will always speak highly of Red Clover inn and Restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaRosen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

What a terrific review! Thank you for continually choosing the Red Clover Inn for your ski getaways! We love when our returning guests start to think of the Red Clover Inn as their home away from home (with homemade breakfasts every morning, cookies after skiing and unbelievable dinners it may be even better than home.) We look forward to having you stay with us again! Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Red Clover Inn again (our second time). We missed that the Innkeeper, Mark, was not there....but Heidi was phenomenal! We can't wait to go back again.

The Inn is maybe 5 minutes from Killington Ski Resort and way back off the road --- so it's private and secluded.

Best complimentary breakfast and to die for dinner. Get the cheese plate!

Enjoy the hot tub after skiing.

Room Tip: We like the privacy of the carriage house. Not all rooms have tvs...so if that is important make su...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Red Clover Inn. We were only there for a day (as aprt of a ski-cation,) but it was fantastic. We arrived early, hoping just to leave our bags there while we went to Killington (10 minutes away.) It just so happened that our room was available and they let us check in early. It was great! We changed and went straight to the mountain (so nice to not have to use a locker.) The next day we had a great breakfast. My wife had lemon raspberry pancakes and I a tomato, basil and mozzerella fritata. Fabulous. The room was beautiful, the service great and staff very accomodating. We then went onto to Pico mountain (only 5 minutes away.) We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Emma's room (the rooms are names after the people who once lived there.) It is...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you for your great review! Our hope is for our guests' to feel at home when they stay at the Red Clover. We strive to be as accomadating as possible. You are welcome to check in before 3pm (provided we know in advance and your room is up to our standards of readiness.) We are also fine if you need to check out late (after 11am)-- again as long as we know in advance and have no one checking into your room later that day. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Red Clover Inn! Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We really enjoyed the hospitality at Red Clover Inn. The staff's friendliness was delightful. Both my husband and I really loved the food. We're vegans and they went above and beyond to make us truly phenomenal breakfasts. Dinner was also delicious with a remarkably flavorful Butternut Squash soup. To say that they were vegan-friendly would be an understatement.
As early risers we enjoyed hanging out in the common room before breakfast began at 8am. There was always tea, coffee, and fresh-squeezed juice ready. We enjoyed the company of the other guests and made new friends with whom we are planning future trips. The accessibility of Killington was quite good. It's an easy 15 minutes to the parking lot. The outdoor hot tub makes for a marvelous reward after an exhausting day on the slopes. Then we enjoyed reason our books on the wonderful couches by the fireplace before dinner. Loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnDSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks to all of our wonderful guests who made it a great Martin Luther King Jr. weekend at the Red Clover Inn! We encourage all of our guests to get to know one another especially when they are staying for an extended period. It is always fun to hear when the friendships continue after checkout. All are welcome at the Red Clover and we try to be as accomodating as possible for those with certain dietary restrictions. We are glad you appreciated our efforts. See you again soon! Best wishes, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at the Red Clover mid-week Sunday 1/6-Wednesday 1/9/2013. We had Claire's Room and it was amazing. Everything was very clean and nice. It was great to take a nice hot jacuzzi when we came back from skiing. Skiing at Killington was great too. It snowed all day Sunday and the powder was great on Monday. Hardly anyone was on the slopes!! The food at the Red Clover is very good and the server did a great job. All in all a great stay and we would definitely go back. I bought a really nice mug with their logo on it. They even sent us a thank you note when we got home. Loved the Red Clover!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Red Clover Inn. Killington is a fantastic ski area. It is always a bonus when guests like yourself are able come on a slower week to avoid lines and practically have the mountain to themselves! Our outdoor jacuzzi tub really is the perfect spot after a long day on the slopes. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Best wishes, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Red Clover inn is my favorite place to stay when skiing at Killington or Pico or just going up to the Vermont Area. There food is basically the same as going to a 4 star restaurant. The breakfasts and dinners are amazing. They are the same owners of Tyler Place for kids, which I have never been to, but I understand is run at the same high standards as this inn. The staff are warm and friendly and the rooms are great. You have your choice of lesser price rooms that are all nice and quiet and well appointed as well as other rooms with Jacuzzi's and fireplaces. The Inn supplies snow shoes if you want when they get the snow to do so. I can't say enough about the food that is just so amazing and delicious. Even if you are staying at another facility in the area, having dinner at the Red Clover Inn is a very smart choice. I have stayed here at least three times and I have never ever had a bad experience but always a great experience.

Room Tip: Depends what you want. All the rooms are great from the upper price to the lower price. You pay mor...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

We value the lasting relationships we are able to form with our returning guests. When guests come back to the Red Clover year after year (or month after month) it inspires us to make each visit just as good-- if not better than the last. Thank you for your support of the Red Clover Inn and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Charlotte and the entire Red Clover staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We decided to take a last minute drive to Vermont, so we went online and looked for B&B's near Killington. We came across The Red Clover Inn and it had the best reviews...all excellent so we decided to come here.
We are sooo glad we did. Our initial room apparently had some plumbing difficulty, so we were upgraded to the Emma at no extra charge. I had seen this room online and it was one I would have chosen, but opted for a less expensive room. The room was beautiful, with its rustic, French flair. The bedding was beautiful and comfy and the soaking tub was great.
We had a delicious meal. The squash soup was out of this world (we would have loved the recipe!) as was the Portugese steak and the Expresso infused beef tenderloin. We can't say enough about our meal. Breakfast the next morning was excellent too (try the pancakes if they have them and the pesto omelette.)
THe staff was sooo accomodating and friendly.
We definitely plan to go back sometime and would love to have a family get-together therre at some time as well.
Next time we will remember our bathing suits for the outdoor hot tub!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Red Clover Inn. Emma's is one of our favorite rooms. We are glad you appreciated her charm! Our restaurant uses the finest quality ingredients and you can taste the freshness and creativity in every meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to the inn! Best wishes, Charlotte and the entire Red Clover Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#1 of 3 in Mendon
212 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7 Woodward Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: £100 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Clover Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is truly a one-of-a-kind experience where the Tyler Family strives to make our guests feel like personal house guests on a memorable Vermont country holiday. A haven for foodies, sports' enthusiasts, and romantics alike, the Inn and Restaurant are acclaimed for local food with European flair; stylish, comfortable lodging; fireside apres-ski and an award winning wine cellar. With mountain views on all sides and tucked off the main beat on its own private road, you'd never guess the Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is right at the cross-roads of Central Vermont within minutes of Killington and Pico's best skiing, biking and hiking. Whether you come for a brief getaway or an extended vacation, a Vermont wedding or an intimate elopement, you'll find the Red Clover Inn as special in its own way as its "big sister" property, the Tyler Place Family Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Red Clover Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mendon
Red Clover Inn And Restaurant
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing