We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Vermont vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

If you are looking for an ideal bed and breakfast with delicious food served by wonderful staff, look no further. The fact that it is so close to Pico and Killington mountains is a bonus. But even if this Inn was located with nothing surrounding it, I would still choose to stay here. Absolutely delicious breakfast each morning. The dinner menu offered amazing choices (I LOVED the salmon). The grounds are beautiful and the inn itself is charming. The rooms are so clean and full of light. I was in a room with a gas fireplace and a large whirlpool. Again, ideal. Even the sheets and towels made an impression - they were so fragrant. The staff felt like they were our old friends, and by the time we left they felt like new ones. They lit a big bonfire outside for us where we gathered under the beautiful star-lit Vermont night sky. I can't think of a way our stay could have been more ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. Our staff members work hard 365 days a year to assure The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is a property we are proud to welcome our valued guests to. Your review reafirms our commitment to this special place. We look forward to your next visit. Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from the Red Clover Inn! Great weekend, great food, great rooms! Everyone who worked there was wonderful, going above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. The rooms are really nice, with comfortable beds and nice amenities! After a long day of snow activities, we came home to warm chocolate chip cookies, a relaxing fire (both inside and out) and a hot tub! I can't say enough.....what a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Red Clover Inn! Getting to know our guests and listening to all their stories is by far the best part of my job. Everyone who walks through the door helps to make the inn the welcoming and cozy place we all love. Summer is my favorite season in Vermont and the Red Clover is the perfect spot to enjoy the endless adventures. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We drove up the winding driveway on a snowy night to find a lovely inn, decorated with welcoming, twinkling lights. We were warmly greeted and seated at a lovely table in the middle dining room. Our server, Mandy, was professional and knowledgeable about the menu and showed a real enthusiasm when answering our questions. Everything that came out of the kitchen was delicious, perfectly cooked with bright, interesting flavors. The chef had no problem doubling a quail appetizer to make it suitable for an entree and what delicious seasoning choices, fennel and roasted root veggies. Other things we loved were leek and potato soup that was like velvet, U10 sea scallops with risotto, flat iron steak with duck fat potatoes and piri piri sauce, and a key lime and pineapple pie that had unbelievable depth of flavor.
We went into the adjacent room and enjoyed the comfortable sofas in front of the blazing fireplace and watched the snow come down. This was a meal to rival the best anywhere...but I don't think anyone can compete with the charm and magic of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of the Red Clover Inn & Restaurant! We are delighted you had such an enjoyable dining experience. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated team of individuals. From the waitstaff in the front of the house to our chefs in the kitchen everyone works together to ensure the very best for our guests. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Having just spent the Presidents day weekend there with my wife and 2&4 yr old kids i have this to say.
If you have kids and don't want to feel like a 3rd rate citizen stay away.
THE CHEF has no time for any kid friendly meals even though the restaurant is 80% empty, come on now! I've worked in the restaurant biz for long time with no kids items on the menu yet the chef's I've worked with would always dish up some pasta and butter. My wife and I where not tight fisted when ordering our dinners at the RED clover, but still no love from the cook. Also it seems like they relegate all the kids to one of the rooms in the restaurant. My Kids where well behaved as i had them pretty much plugged in watching sponge bob so they wouldn't bother anyone so its not like i let them run wild.We also made sure to eat dinner as early as possible as not disturb anyone. I have to say after dropping a considerable amt of money over the weekend i was dumb enough to want to book again for the coming first weekend in March. When I called to confirm a room I was told they have a NO KIDS policy with the exception of presidents day weekend and MLK day. Well i guess they don't need the biz.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zenpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for your reveiw. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify our "no kids" policy and our belief in the importance of mainting an adult friendly environment. Children over the age of 8 are always welcome however, we restrict younger children to Christmas and President's week only. Our restaurant allows children, however we make an effort to inform everyone who calls for a reservation with children know there is no kids menu. If a guest still decides to bring thier children to dinner knowing there is no kids menu that is fine, however we expect they will order from the regular menu. Our inn is small with only 13 rooms and there are not many tables in our restaurant . Our guests who visit the Red Clover Inn are interested in a quiet, romantic getaway or date night out. Most guests appreciate the time away from the kiddies, no matter how well behaved. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay well enough to try to book again, and although we cannot accomodate your children perhaps you will find a way to bring your wife for another wonderful weekend. On a closing note, I suggest you check out our very family oriented sister resort The Tyler Place. The Tyler Place is an unbelievable all inclusive, summer resort located on beautiful Lake Champlain in Highgate Springs, VT. Their website is www.tylerplace.com. Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband found Red Clover Inn restaurant last year when we were staying at Killington - the meal was absolutly excellent and the inn looked absolutley lovely. The following year when booking our trip for MLK weekend we decided to stay at RC. The rooms are clean and spacious (we stayined in Elliot room) breakfast is DELISH!!! When we checked out we asked if they were booked up yet for Presidents day weekend and they said since we are coming back they would upgrade us. We called 2 weeks later and booked and stayed in Dan room. We will always come back to Red Clover when staying at Killington, other couples we spoke to we told them to go to dinner there its' absolutely amazing. RC staff is amazing they do a great job - I will always speak highly of Red Clover inn and Restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaRosen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

What a terrific review! Thank you for continually choosing the Red Clover Inn for your ski getaways! We love when our returning guests start to think of the Red Clover Inn as their home away from home (with homemade breakfasts every morning, cookies after skiing and unbelievable dinners it may be even better than home.) We look forward to having you stay with us again! Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Red Clover Inn again (our second time). We missed that the Innkeeper, Mark, was not there....but Heidi was phenomenal! We can't wait to go back again.

The Inn is maybe 5 minutes from Killington Ski Resort and way back off the road --- so it's private and secluded.

Best complimentary breakfast and to die for dinner. Get the cheese plate!

Enjoy the hot tub after skiing.

Room Tip: We like the privacy of the carriage house. Not all rooms have tvs...so if that is important make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Red Clover Inn. We were only there for a day (as aprt of a ski-cation,) but it was fantastic. We arrived early, hoping just to leave our bags there while we went to Killington (10 minutes away.) It just so happened that our room was available and they let us check in early. It was great! We changed and went straight to the mountain (so nice to not have to use a locker.) The next day we had a great breakfast. My wife had lemon raspberry pancakes and I a tomato, basil and mozzerella fritata. Fabulous. The room was beautiful, the service great and staff very accomodating. We then went onto to Pico mountain (only 5 minutes away.) We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Emma's room (the rooms are names after the people who once lived there.) It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you for your great review! Our hope is for our guests' to feel at home when they stay at the Red Clover. We strive to be as accomadating as possible. You are welcome to check in before 3pm (provided we know in advance and your room is up to our standards of readiness.) We are also fine if you need to check out late (after 11am)-- again as long as we know in advance and have no one checking into your room later that day. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Red Clover Inn! Best, Charlotte, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
224 reviews
17.1 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
471 reviews
5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7 Woodward Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: £121 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Clover Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is truly a one-of-a-kind experience where the Tyler Family strives to make our guests feel like personal house guests on a memorable Vermont country holiday. A haven for foodies, sports' enthusiasts, and romantics alike, the Inn and Restaurant are acclaimed for local food with European flair; stylish, comfortable lodging; fireside apres-ski and an award winning wine cellar. With mountain views on all sides and tucked off the main beat on its own private road, you'd never guess the Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is right at the cross-roads of Central Vermont within minutes of Killington and Pico's best skiing, biking and hiking. Whether you come for a brief getaway or an extended vacation, a Vermont wedding or an intimate elopement, you'll find the Red Clover Inn as special in its own way as its "big sister" property, the Tyler Place Family Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Red Clover Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mendon
Red Clover Inn And Restaurant
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing