We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in New England!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have eaten at the Red Clover three times over the past year and each time the meal has been sheer perfection. From appetizer, to salad, to main course every bite is superb. Much better than the pricey "gourmet" restaurants in Boston. The scallops were delicate and perfectly cooked, and the halibut was out of this world. The staff is knowledgeable and professional, and the ambience is lovely. It is our favorite restaurant, hands down. Thank you, Red Clover Inn--we will see you again soon.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cass842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted by your high praise and compliments. The Red Clover Inn & Restaurant is a special place. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We just had dinner at the Red Clover and it was probably the worst dinner I have ever had in a restaurant and my husband agrees. I had the flat iron steak and my husband had the escargot as an app and the veal as an entree. The steak was so tough I could barely cut it and the veal was the same. The sauce that the steak was swimming in was so hot I kept gulping down water. My husband found the escargot the same way- and he really likes spicy food. We were treating another couple to dinner and so when the chef came out we didn't say anything- not wanting to ruin the dinner for the others. We were just hoping their dinners were better- or maybe we were all just being too polite to say anything. Never again for dinner!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tricia802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and were sorry to read of your disappointing visit. The Portuguese style flat iron steak and escargot are both seasoned with piri piri peppers. They are popular dishes however, for some guests the piri piri spice is overwhelming. We will modify the menu to clearly inform guests of the spicy seasoning. Our sincere apologies for your tough entrees. We only wish you had mentioned this to your server or to Chef Colin. Had he known you were unsatisfied with your meal; Colin would have gone out of his way to make up for it and ensure you left the Red Clover content with the overall experience. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to prove we are one of the best restaurant in the area! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I arrived at the Red Clover Inn after 23 hours of travel to meet my husband and friends so that we could attend a wedding together. The staff at the Red Clover Inn was extraordinary! They went out of their way to make sure that I had everything I needed from dinner to laundry! The food was excellent, the atmosphere relaxed, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay the Red Clover Inn. It was lovely to meet you and to hear about your amazing travels! We are glad your family and friends enjoyed thier time with us. Hopefully, you will be able to viist the inn again soon. Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was my first visit to Red Clover and also my first stay in a country inn. It was hard for me to judge them, since I had no comparable experiences. All I can say is that the other rave reviews capture the place. Great staff. The tavern did sell great beers and wines at reasonable prices.

Our room was adequate, quiet, clean and comfortable. A tv would have been nice, but i guess you go to an inn to get away! They do provide complementary Internet service.

We only stayed one night, which is too short a visit to understand the attention to detail that makes Red Clover a great place to stay. I would recommend Red Clover to all, except for families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry21_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for choosing the Red Clover Inn for your first country inn experience and for writing such a wonderful review! We are so glad you tried our variety of local beers and selection of wines from all over the world. As you mentioned, it is hard to experience everything the Red Clover and surrounding area has to offer in only one night. On your next visit be sure to stay for at least two nights. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

There is nothing that will disappoint you concerning your stay here. We booked Fanny’s room for our Saturday night stay in late June. The rate was $267.05 inclusive of taxes. It is a large room furnished with a king bed, casual chairs and an armoire outfitted with a TV. There is a small closet and a gas fireplace is situated across the room from the foot of the bed. A large whirlpool tub is located adjacent to the bed.
The bathroom is spacious and fixtured with a single basin vanity and a walk – in shower. The room had an exterior porch furnished with two chairs. A hot tub is located in a gazebo on the property grounds and an outdoor lounge is also located on the property.
The restaurant is the inn’s hallmark. Dinner for four, consisting of an appetizer, entrée and two bottles of wine was $256.30 inclusive of taxes and gratuities. A full breakfast is included in the room rate. There is a choice of entrees, fruit bowl, pastry, coffee/tea and fresh squeezed orange juice.
The staff is very personable. The Red Clover Inn is one of the better accommodation venues in the Killington area. Few alternatives match it and none exceed it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We very much appreciate such a detailed review of the Red Clover Inn! Our beautiful and secluded location sets us apart form the other Killington resorts. The cozy rooms and delectable dinners keep our guests returning season after season. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place is a true hidden gem! Stayed here for 3 nights. The staff really knows what it takes to make a place like this stand out. From the staff to the room and restaurant and bar everything was fantastic. We can't say enough about the staff They were very friendly and helpful. we will be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank headcase501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your review! Our small staff genuinely cares for the inn and we all do our best to make sure every guest feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the inn soon. Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Red Clover Inn is a beautiful refuge. It's a perfect spot to unwind from the hassles of daily life. The staff is ready and willing to see to anything you need. The rooms are cozy. The tavern serves great wine and spirits. Dinner at the restaurant was amazing. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for your review! The Red Clover Inn certainly is an escape from the stress and responsibilities of the daily grind. With our filling breakfasts, beautiful scenerey & relaxing rooms, Chef Colin's "amazing" dinners and Thomas' cocktails there is little reason to go anywhere else. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#1 of 3 in Mendon
212 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7 Woodward Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: £100 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Clover Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is truly a one-of-a-kind experience where the Tyler Family strives to make our guests feel like personal house guests on a memorable Vermont country holiday. A haven for foodies, sports' enthusiasts, and romantics alike, the Inn and Restaurant are acclaimed for local food with European flair; stylish, comfortable lodging; fireside apres-ski and an award winning wine cellar. With mountain views on all sides and tucked off the main beat on its own private road, you'd never guess the Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is right at the cross-roads of Central Vermont within minutes of Killington and Pico's best skiing, biking and hiking. Whether you come for a brief getaway or an extended vacation, a Vermont wedding or an intimate elopement, you'll find the Red Clover Inn as special in its own way as its "big sister" property, the Tyler Place Family Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Red Clover Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mendon
Red Clover Inn And Restaurant
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing