We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Rutland)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$59
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Rutland)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$75
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
210
19
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
19
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsescargotcarriage housean appetizerjacuzzi tubamazing foodwedding weekendwine pairingliving roomrack of lambdining roomsmountain topking bedamazing weddingvermont areaquechee gorgerave reviewsthe main house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nice inn; nice location; a bit noisy; good breakfast; felt the rate I paid was somewhat high when compared to the specials
Room cleanliness when we checked in was just ok; housekeeping the following day was poor

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFS210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure our housekeeping staff is aware of your comments and make it a priority to monitor thier assignments more closely. We are pleased you enjoyed our inclusive homemade breakfast. Enjoy the rest of your fall and hopefully we will see you again soon! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My mother and I came for a one night stay to the Red Clover Inn. We stayed in the Ruby room - each room has it's own name. The word of the stay was quaint. The room was clean and ample sized. There was only one bed so I slept on a roll away cot in the room. To be honest, I'm a room snob so I was bit thrown by this and there being no TV in the room. There were other rooms with TV's though, but a bit more expensive. We had a specific request of the staff, and they were more than happy to help us out. The staff were more than accommodating to my friend for her wedding, and everything went off without a hitch. The barbeque they created for the night before the wedding was outstanding, My only complaint was that the food was cold for breakfast and for the wedding day itself. Just an FYI, there is no elevator in the hotel, so make sure if using stairs is a challenge you let them know.

Room Tip: ***PLEASE NOTE*** to get to this hotel - you have to go back roads. ***WATCH YOUR SPEED*** Apparently the local cops LOVE to pull over people from other states - as I was pulled over, along with another wedding guest, and the bride when she went to check out the location at the beginning of the summer. Even certain local people told me that people from other states are targets.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have eaten at the Red Clover three times over the past year and each time the meal has been sheer perfection. From appetizer, to salad, to main course every bite is superb. Much better than the pricey "gourmet" restaurants in Boston. The scallops were delicate and perfectly cooked, and the halibut was out of this world. The staff is knowledgeable and professional, and the ambience is lovely. It is our favorite restaurant, hands down. Thank you, Red Clover Inn--we will see you again soon.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cass842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted by your high praise and compliments. The Red Clover Inn & Restaurant is a special place. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We just had dinner at the Red Clover and it was probably the worst dinner I have ever had in a restaurant and my husband agrees. I had the flat iron steak and my husband had the escargot as an app and the veal as an entree. The steak was so tough I could barely cut it and the veal was the same. The sauce that the steak was swimming in was so hot I kept gulping down water. My husband found the escargot the same way- and he really likes spicy food. We were treating another couple to dinner and so when the chef came out we didn't say anything- not wanting to ruin the dinner for the others. We were just hoping their dinners were better- or maybe we were all just being too polite to say anything. Never again for dinner!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tricia802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and were sorry to read of your disappointing visit. The Portuguese style flat iron steak and escargot are both seasoned with piri piri peppers. They are popular dishes however, for some guests the piri piri spice is overwhelming. We will modify the menu to clearly inform guests of the spicy seasoning. Our sincere apologies for your tough entrees. We only wish you had mentioned this to your server or to Chef Colin. Had he known you were unsatisfied with your meal; Colin would have gone out of his way to make up for it and ensure you left the Red Clover content with the overall experience. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to prove we are one of the best restaurant in the area! Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I arrived at the Red Clover Inn after 23 hours of travel to meet my husband and friends so that we could attend a wedding together. The staff at the Red Clover Inn was extraordinary! They went out of their way to make sure that I had everything I needed from dinner to laundry! The food was excellent, the atmosphere relaxed, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay the Red Clover Inn. It was lovely to meet you and to hear about your amazing travels! We are glad your family and friends enjoyed thier time with us. Hopefully, you will be able to viist the inn again soon. Best wishes, Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews