We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A positive experience”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A positive experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

lovely room...told us it would be small but I found it charming. Very clean. Helpful staff. snacks and drinks in the afternoon were lovely. For a fully booked hotel, it seemed a bit quiet. Two suggestions...do NOT allow smoking on the veranda. Very distasteful and drove us right out of there (to spend our money at another establishment). The breakfast buffet was quite lame. Like they hired a cook in 1942 and he's still there. NO fresh fruit (in JULY??) and mostly standard fare but cooked several hours ago. If you do not eat here, it is quite lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your nice comments about our Inn. I’ll be sure to pass on your “Very Clean” note to our wonderful housekeeping staff – they’ll appreciate it. I also thank you for pointing out the fact that the smoking area that we have designated, on the porch, can be problematic. This is something that we will address. Also, I’m sorry that you found the breakfast buffet not to your liking. With a busy breakfast, it can be a challenge sometimes to keep each item, such as the fresh fruit (which we certainly always have) well stocked on the buffet table, but we will strive to do better in the future. Thank you again for your suggestions and comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    188
    89
    21
    18
See reviews for
211
207
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our room was nice with a working air conditioner in the 100 degree heat. The breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This Inn/hotel has a long history, but seems to now be a fading star. The porch and foyer in main Inn was pleasant enough. The service at breakfast was lacking (literally no one around + I had to wait several minutes then go back to the desk and ask them to go find some staff), the room just awful (with clogged toilet and ants on my toothbrush), and there were wifi internet issues the whole week. The convenient location at town center was probably the best feature of the whole place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardnek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffcostello, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for letting us know about the problems during your stay. You are correct that the Inn has a proud history and it is one we want to uphold and strengthen. There is no excuse for the condition of your room as you described and certainly staffing and internet issues will be addressed as well. We apologize to you and hope you give us another chance. Jeff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROOKLYN
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

As a previous reviewer stated, the annex is essential a cheap motel behind the b and b that isn't very cheap. Very damp, smelled of stale cigarette smoke. We stayed because we were able to get a pet friendly room but unless you have to stay here I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoneynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffcostello, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. We do limit pets to the annex units, which were constructed in the 1960’s, versus the 1800’s for the Main Inn and the Porter Mansion. We did recently install new carpeting, new bathroom flooring and fixtures, as well as new mattresses and bedspreads, in all of the annex units. We strive to keep the rooms clean and fresh, and we sincerely hope that you give us another chance to experience the Inn, whether it be the annex or the historic Inn. We are confident that we will not let you down. Jeff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Middlebury Inn while in town for a wedding. We actually chose the Middlebury Inn over some other hotels because we wanted the bed and breakfast experience. We stayed in the courtyard annex which we assumed was just an extension of the bed and breakfast, however, we were very disappointed to discover we had paid a similar price to rooms in the main building but got stuck in a cheap motel room. The decor was old, but not in a cute bed and breakfast way and the view out the window was a scary broken down concrete building. The carpet and entire room was damp and musty smelling so we had to wear shoes the entire time. The main house at the inn looked very nice so just make sure you don't get put in the courtyard annex!!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OHIOchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffcostello, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for your post. Damp or poor smelling rooms are not acceptable to us and we promise to do better. We have made numerous improvements to the Inn, including new carpet in the annex rooms. We will continue to make improvements not just to the physical plant but to the level of service which our guests expect and deserve. We hope that you come visit us again and welcome any additional feedback that you would like to share. --Jeff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Middlebury is a lovely small town to visit with nice shopping but I suspect many visitors come for reasons related to Middlebury College which is adjacent to the town.

The good: The Inn is right in the cute downtown. I walked about 4 blocks down the main street and picked up fabulous coffee and freshly made pastry for breakfast at Otter Creek Bakery. My daughter and I had lunch at "51" on that same main streat about 2 blocks away and it was also quite good with an interesting menu. At the Inn, I was given a "luxury room" in the Porter Mansion part of the inn, which was a very large room with sitting area and old-fashioned bedspread and quaint sparkling clean bathroom. The bed was very comfortable with nice padding and I slept great. There was an individual heating/cooling unit in the room which I turned on and found to be pretty quiet on A/C mode. Since it was a balmy June night, I chose to eat dinner on the veranda in the Inn's pub and really enjoyed the meal, It was a reasonably priced menu with casual and "fancier" food, with a goal of using local ingredients. My swordfish provencal was excellent and plenty to eat. Small but good wine choices also. Service was friendly and excellent.

The bad: Very little bad. I thought the room was pricey ($182 with AAA discount) as I am used to deep discounts on hotels on Priceline (name my own price), but overall, I decided that it was a lovely evening and probably worth the overall experience. There is a motel style section in the back of the inn that may be priced cheaper but the Inn was very full on my night (they said with wedding parties) and I booked at the last minute so I probably missed the opportunity to save money. I don't blame the hotel for that.

The one little point I suggested to them on their suggestion form is to trim and weed the flower beds as they make the hotel look more shabby than it should. But mostly I say to them "Keep up the good work!"

Room Tip: Really enjoyed my stay at Middlebury Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetFreesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Very quaint inn in a picturesque little Vermont town. Nice rooms, great lounging space, very nice buffet breakfast. I would love to come back here some other time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
15.9 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing