We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic hotel with all the charm, great food AND luxury amenities”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historic hotel with all the charm, great food AND luxury amenities”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I had stayed here before and knew I'd be back. Stayed in the Porter Mansion, Room 591, which is like an updated king parlor suite (no desk, though), complete with fireplace and windows off the expansive veranda. Delightful formal breakfast buffet dining available.This room not handicap-accessible, but otherwise, a lovely place to relax, even to entertain, sleep in blissful comfort, and return time and again to the awesome offerings right outside your door. Lovely in every way. 5 STARS!

Room Tip: This is a historic hotel, NOT a sterile chain. Some rooms in an annex are standard motel fare and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendydear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We're thrilled that you found our lovely Inn so charming and "five stars' as well - thanks so much! It was also great of you to point out that we aren't a sterile chain hotel, but rather a fine historic Inn with all of the great features that go along with a beautifully restored building. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    176
    83
    17
    15
See reviews for
188
188
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is charming and what you'd expect in a very small town. Parking is nicely located in back of the hotel with an accessible entry through the dining room and to the reception desk. I shared a room with a colleague and we requested two double beds, which we received located on the second floor. There's only one elevator which is really a service elevator so the staff my access it's use (guests cannot just go up and push a button). The room is bright with traditional decor, flat screen tv, small bathroom with a window, a desk, & closet. Wireless internet is free, and it worked ok. My colleage had an itouch and was unable to get a clear signal both in the room and down in the lobby. I had a Droid X and had no issues. Strangely there were only four hangers and we had to request more. There was also no fridge in our unit which was a bummer but I dealt with it. We did pass a larger room that had a fridge but we don't know if that was a "special" room. The beds were VERY firm and the pillows VERY soft. There is also a spa and fitness room available, which I didn't use. Since the town is VERY small, walking to downtown took two minutes :) In the opposite direction a grocery store is about a 5 minute walk. I really appreciated this. Oh, the hotel also offers afternoon tea! All in all, I appreciated the hotel because it's what you'd expect in a small town. I would stay there again for a couple nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Yes, our lovely Inn in the small town of Middlebury is charming isn’t it? As with any historic establishment, it has its special features, such as the manually operated elevator, that many guests find a real treat. In addition, I would like to point out that the Inn has recently undergone extensive renovations which retain the historic charm and provide improved modern comfort and amenities. Certainly one of the true positives of many a guest experience is our proximity to the downtown area and our location right on the town green. There are great shops, museums, and of course the College in our small town and all right out the front door of the Middlebury Inn.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Charming colonial style and a darling custom of high tea with juice, cookies, and scones (free) every afternoon. Staff are friendly and obviously having fun - I caught them laughing but greeting me good morning and not trying to hide it or act artificially austere, which I liked! Nice room with good view of town and tall four poster beds.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and a room with a foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

lovely room...told us it would be small but I found it charming. Very clean. Helpful staff. snacks and drinks in the afternoon were lovely. For a fully booked hotel, it seemed a bit quiet. Two suggestions...do NOT allow smoking on the veranda. Very distasteful and drove us right out of there (to spend our money at another establishment). The breakfast buffet was quite lame. Like they hired a cook in 1942 and he's still there. NO fresh fruit (in JULY??) and mostly standard fare but cooked several hours ago. If you do not eat here, it is quite lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your nice comments about our Inn. I’ll be sure to pass on your “Very Clean” note to our wonderful housekeeping staff – they’ll appreciate it. I also thank you for pointing out the fact that the smoking area that we have designated, on the porch, can be problematic. This is something that we will address. Also, I’m sorry that you found the breakfast buffet not to your liking. With a busy breakfast, it can be a challenge sometimes to keep each item, such as the fresh fruit (which we certainly always have) well stocked on the buffet table, but we will strive to do better in the future. Thank you again for your suggestions and comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our room was nice with a working air conditioner in the 100 degree heat. The breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This Inn/hotel has a long history, but seems to now be a fading star. The porch and foyer in main Inn was pleasant enough. The service at breakfast was lacking (literally no one around + I had to wait several minutes then go back to the desk and ask them to go find some staff), the room just awful (with clogged toilet and ants on my toothbrush), and there were wifi internet issues the whole week. The convenient location at town center was probably the best feature of the whole place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardnek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffcostello, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for letting us know about the problems during your stay. You are correct that the Inn has a proud history and it is one we want to uphold and strengthen. There is no excuse for the condition of your room as you described and certainly staffing and internet issues will be addressed as well. We apologize to you and hope you give us another chance. Jeff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROOKLYN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

As a previous reviewer stated, the annex is essential a cheap motel behind the b and b that isn't very cheap. Very damp, smelled of stale cigarette smoke. We stayed because we were able to get a pet friendly room but unless you have to stay here I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoneynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffcostello, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. We do limit pets to the annex units, which were constructed in the 1960’s, versus the 1800’s for the Main Inn and the Porter Mansion. We did recently install new carpeting, new bathroom flooring and fixtures, as well as new mattresses and bedspreads, in all of the annex units. We strive to keep the rooms clean and fresh, and we sincerely hope that you give us another chance to experience the Inn, whether it be the annex or the historic Inn. We are confident that we will not let you down. Jeff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing