We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old historic hotel with the emphasis on old. A very pleasant stay none the less” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An old historic hotel with the emphasis on old. A very pleasant stay none the less”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Located right in the center of town, the Inn is ideal for students, athletes and parents of the College. The Inn is a bit rough around the edges. Our room was very small. It appeared to be a former maids room. The service was very cordial and the food was fine. I had a nice glass of Malbac at the bar. Overall it was quite pleasant but it would be hard to see it as excellent

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
You did have one of our smaller rooms and in an old Inn such as this, we have a lot of different shapes and sizes. But we should have worked harder to at least deserve a 'very good' rather than an average score. Thank you for taking advantage of our fine restaurant - Morgan's Tavern - and we will hopefully see you again in a more spacious situation.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    168
    80
    16
    14
See reviews for
171
179
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here again recently and as always had a great time in Middlebury. My only complaint is that the packages are no longer deals like they used to be. It seems like the packages are just the cost of the room, the cost of breakfast, and whatever the theme is all added together. At one time the packages gave you a discount or perk of some sort like complimentary breakfast or discounted dinner coupons, etc. It's actually cheaper in most cases to not do the "package deals" and just book the room alone. From a business owner standpoint I would try to keep the guests in-house eating as many meals in the Inn as possible....without doing the package this time we ended up eating out breakfast and dinner in town instead but we miss the packages which helped make it more appealing. That said, the staff is super nice, the afternoon tea is great, and the rooms are always clean and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin41586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
You make a very good point about the economics of packages and I will make sure we take a closer look at what we offer. You're correct that it's not enough to just combine some services, but rather to give some value to the offering as well. Unfortunately, with the exception of hotel service we have limited discount ability, due to the costs that are passed on to us by the vendors. I'm happy that you were able to enjoy your entire experience and next time we'll keep you closer at hand.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have stayed at the in a few times over the last 20+ years and it has remained the same, quaint, charming and friendly. My parents stayed there when I was a student at the College and I have stayed there with my family when back for visits. My girls love tea time and it's fun to sit back and look through the books in their library. Breakfast is a great value, and the bar offers cocktails in an intimate atmosphere. The rooms have always been clean and charming, I have never stayed outside, but that is also thanks to the Inn's upgrade!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
In the 20+ years that you have been visiting us, I would expect a few changes have been made here at the Inn, but I'm pleased we've maintained a certain level of comfort that brings you back. A nice part of living and working in a college town such as Middlebury is the continuity that multiple generations bring to the community whether living here or just visiting. Thank you for your nice comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was our second trip to the Middlebury Inn, the first having been for our honeymoon in 2007. This time we were on holiday and running day ahead of the path of Hurricane Sandy, and arrived at this lovely old inn a day after the storm. The staff had had their own problems with the wind and the rain, but were attentive, and cheerful in the realisation that a lot of their guests were refugees from NY and NZ whose homes were flooded and without power. Service had not diminished since last here, and last time our room had quietly looked over the car park, this time our room looked over the grassy island to the front and the view of the passing activity. The standard of both rooms was high, outlooks different, sleep quality the same. The 2 large double 4 posters in both rooms were equally comfortable both then and now. Food was good and varied in the restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast, and the complimentary afternoon tea in the lounge was a pleasant and familiar treat the second time round. It was wonderful to come back to a lovely old inn after 5 years to be welcomed by the same staff and remembered from the last time.. (must have been my Scottish accent LOL) . Our sorties took us through the Green Mountains, to Jericho and Montpelier this time.. such breath taking scenery, even though the storm had whipped the trees bare. Vermont in early winter is as spectacular as in the Fall ...

Room Tip: This was our second trip to the Middlebury Inn, the first having been for our honeymoon in 2007. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepiegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
It's not often I see praise for Vermont scenery from a November visitor, but I'm thrilled you had the opportunity to experience our beautiful state when the foliage crowds had moved on. And thank you for coming back a second time - I'll be sure to keep my ear peeled for a Scottish accent so I can say hi next time.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I love the Middlebury Inn. It is like stepping back into the 19th century. While I would not say it is one of the most modern hotels I have visited, it is a true Vermont experience. However, I would only get a room in the main inn building. The rooms in the newly built area resemble a motor inn!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms that open onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrk1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Our Annex rooms were built in 1965, in the hey day of the Motor Inn wave that swept the nation. And even though they have been updated repeatedly, they still retain a certain 'Mad Men' charm. As I've said before, many of our guests find them the perfect combination of convenience and functionality. But I agree, maybe not as true a Vermont experience as staying in our main 186 year old Inn. I appreciate your nice comments however.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Unexpected daughter's team win found us needing a reservation. Used Tripadvisor to locate and found this old and historic inn. We found the building well maintained, and the help were outstanding. The inn clean and atmosphere pleasant. We stayed in the main building and the team in more modern grounds hotel buildings. The room was a little pricey, but I / we knew this before booking. We stayed for the charm and experience and it was very nice.

We ate dinner at the Inn's tavern. Both our meals were well cooked.

This Inn will make a lasting impression and good memory.

Room Tip: Older main lodge has smaller rooms than more modern out buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Congratualtions to your daughter's lacrosse team. I hope they continued to win. It's funny what memorable experiences are made of, but I'm happy the Middlebury Inn helped create one for you and your family. Thank you for your nice observations.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

charming inn located right in the center of Middlebury.
EXCELLENT full breakfast, and professional service staff that makes the stay more
enjoyable.
Special cudos to reservation staff, who went above and beyond to accomodate us.
we are going back this weekend again !

Room Tip: courtyard view, not main st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mborneman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
For some reason my response last month didn't get posted, but I wanted to thank you for your refreshing comments. We have a dedicated staff that works hard and does their very best to provide an exceptional experience to our guests whether they are here on business, pleasure or just out for a weeknight dinner on our porch. Please come back soon.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing