We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable trip in the way back machine”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A comfortable trip in the way back machine”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Middlebury Inn is a very traditional, older New England inn. The decor dates straight out of the 70's (printed carpeting and wallpaper) but the Inn is spotless. The rooms and bathrooms in the main inn are small. It is very convenient to the town and to Middlebury College. You'll need to be manage the stairs in the main inn. There is free wifi and a very nice buffet breakfast was included in our rate. There is also a very comprehensive recycling program. Free parking as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Comfort is what we're all looking for and I'm glad you found it here at the Middlebury Inn. I wish you were given the opportunity to ride in our elevator and avoid those stairs - it's quite a treat in our old Otis elevator. Your other nice comments are appreciated as well.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    184
    86
    19
    17
See reviews for
200
198
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Republic, VA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Wonderful, beautiful Inn. Everything was GREAT. Room was perfect with a big antique bed and a jacuzzi tub. Dinner was delicious. Stay here if you love old historic buildings filled with antiques but updated with all the modern conviences.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you - it's wonderful that you discovered all the best of the Middlebury Inn. Please come back and see us (and tell your friends :)

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On a 'leaf-peeping' trip to New England, my wife and I were interested in staying in small inns and B&Bs. One of the reasons we chose Middlebury was it was the setting for Bob Newhart's inn in 'Newhart'. We were not disapointed.

The inn has a main house and next door an additional mansion that is part of the complex. (There are also 'motel' style units on the property, but these should be avoided). We stayed in the adjoining mansion, built in 1825 and the rooms were very well appointed. The lobby in the main inn was very nice, the staff quite friendly and cooperative.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geewalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We're happy you enjoyed your visit to Vermont, but in recognition of our neighbor, The Waybury Inn, we were not the location of the Bob Newhart Show. You did stay in the oldest building in our complex, the Porter Mansion, which was converted to an Inn many years after our main Inn opened as the Addison House in 1827. You were here at a beautiful time of the year and we thank you for your nice comments.


Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAY SHORE
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband & I enjoyed our short vacation at the Middlebury Inn. It's very well located for enjoying the charm of Middlebury and the foliage in the area. We were upgraded to a small suite which was quite comfortable and very clean. We didn't mind climbing the one flight of stairs, but there was an elevator for those who can't manage stairs. We enjoyed breakfast in the breakfast room, and we also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon coffee. The Wifi signal though adequate in the lobby is not strong enough in the guest rooms, but that was our only complaint. We also had a nice dinner in Morgan's Tavern with an excellent server, Gloria.

Room Tip: Pay for your breakfast in advance; it's a nice savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We always try to upgrade as many guests as we can through our H.U.G. (Hotel UpGrade) program. It doesn't cost us anything and always makes an impression. I'm sorry you had some trouble with the WiFi signal - in a 186 year old building it's somewhat of a challenge to reach all the nooks and cranny's. And I'll be sure to pass along your appreciation to Gloria, our evening supervisor - she'll be pleased. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very good first contact on the phone for my reservation . Could not get exactly what I wanted so they offered me a little upgrade,very nice attention.
At the reception desk , again ,the staff was very kind and warm. We got there for the afternoon tea. It was great. Over six kind of tea ,delicious cookies and scones. Great start.
Our room was in the Porter House. The room was large with a small bathroom with all the necessities
All very clean. There was a small fridge in the room.
Middlebury is a nice little place and the Middlebury Inn is right in the middle of it.
I would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AventureMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Looks like you came to Vermont right at the peak of our lovely foliage this year. I'm happy that you ended up in a room that you were comfortable in and enjoyed our complimentary afternoon tea. Thanks for your kind words and by all means come back and see us again.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The inn is in a great, central location, easy walking distance to the Middlebury campus and other parts of town. The main inn building is a charming historic building and the breakfasts were very good. We stayed on the ground floor in the motel annex, though, and the rooms would have fit right in at any cheap motel on any back road in America. Minimal decor, in need of paint and carpet from sometime in the last quarter century, unframed glass mirror on the bathroom wall, toilet intermittently running all night, lumpy mattresses -- you get the picture. Not sure how to compare them with rooms in the main inn but the contrast with the main inn common spaces is stark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
You're correct in stating that we have a great location, just steps from downtown shopping and a short walk to the College. We like to think we offer quite a lot more, but sometimes our annex rooms don't fit the bill. Of our 71 rooms, 50 are in our two historic buildings and of course, all guests are welcome to enjoy a meal or our complimentary afternoon tea in our Main Lobby and Morgan's Tavern. I appreciate your comments however and hope to see you back at a future date in a room more to your liking.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We first stayed at the Middlebury Inn in April 2012 when we visited the college campus. Now, our son is in his 2nd year and we are here at the beginning and end of each academic year, sometimes in between too. Although we have stayed at the main inn and even the Porter Mansion, our preference is the annex. Yes, the rooms are a bit older and can use updating, but we feel the convenience is worth it.

Chantal is fantastic! She has worked her magic on numerous occasions and found us exactly what needed.

And Patricia is so sweet... she greets me by name and makes me feel like a very special guest every time we have stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We appreciate your loyalty and I'm pleased that Chantal and Patricia, two of our many dedicated long term employees, have made you feel welcome. I hear often that the rooms in the annex, although not of the historic nature of the main buildings, provide a convenient and comfortable option for many of our guests. You don't need to read far to see that some of our guests don't see it that way, so I'm thrilled to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to send your comments to Trip Advisor.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
217 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
15.9 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing