We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed there many times and loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlebury Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“stayed there many times and loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Middlebury Inn many times while our oldest son attended college there. We loved staying there. The rooms varied from average to very good, we had our favorites. We always stayed in the inn, and not the cheaper motel like rooms. The lobby is my favorite ever- beautiful large room with a fireplace and lots of desks, tables, and chairs. We often spent time there reading and talking. Afternoon tea is free each day, delicious- tea, scones, jam, fruit, etc. The breakfast is great also. The inn is right in town, and it's great to walk directly into town and go to shops, restaurants, etc. You can also drive quickly into Middlebury College or take an extended walk there- we did both many times. We have many fond memories!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letshikeluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
There is nothing more satisfying for a Manager of a hotel than to hear from guests who have stayed often. Over time and many visits, the mistakes and quirks can come out if they are there and It's nice to hear that you had pleasant memories overall. In a college town, this is more common than other destinations. If we do a good job, we hopefully will see our visitors for at least 4 years. Thank you for your loyalty and nice comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    169
    80
    16
    14
See reviews for
172
180
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were traveling to Vermont to see the color, staying 3 nights in the south, the middle & the northeast kingdom. Our stay in Middlebbury was wonderful, our accommodations at the Inn were awful. We made reservations by phone and were not told that we'd be shuffled off to a row of cheap motel rooms in the back parking lot - and pay the same price as the rooms in the main Inn! We had a small pet and understand paying more for him; however, the room we walked into was dirty, shabby, dark and looked like a room in a run-down roadside motel you'd see in a movie. The towels weren't clean, the bathroom had hair on the counter and it felt as though it hadn't been vacuumed in months. We did bring it to the attention of the front desk, asked for a different room and were told that they were full; and then got clean towels and a small amount knocked off the bill. (While explaining the situation to the front desk clerk, another customer was offered "the last room available" for $40/night less than our room). The breakfast we had the next morning was also sub-par: the service was almost nonexistent and the food was cold. Hard to believe this place is on a national historic register - don't let the outside fool you! I would never stay there again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Motel 6 would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I'm not sure what advertising you're referring to, although we do actively promote our Pet Friendly rooms of which we have just five, and which may explain why we weren't able to move you. They are all in our annex section, however there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness that you experienced nor the poor service at breakfast. For this I apologize. I'm happy that you enjoyed our town of Middlebury otherwise.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
321 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Middlebury Inn is a very traditional, older New England inn. The decor dates straight out of the 70's (printed carpeting and wallpaper) but the Inn is spotless. The rooms and bathrooms in the main inn are small. It is very convenient to the town and to Middlebury College. You'll need to be manage the stairs in the main inn. There is free wifi and a very nice buffet breakfast was included in our rate. There is also a very comprehensive recycling program. Free parking as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Comfort is what we're all looking for and I'm glad you found it here at the Middlebury Inn. I wish you were given the opportunity to ride in our elevator and avoid those stairs - it's quite a treat in our old Otis elevator. Your other nice comments are appreciated as well.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Republic, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Wonderful, beautiful Inn. Everything was GREAT. Room was perfect with a big antique bed and a jacuzzi tub. Dinner was delicious. Stay here if you love old historic buildings filled with antiques but updated with all the modern conviences.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you - it's wonderful that you discovered all the best of the Middlebury Inn. Please come back and see us (and tell your friends :)

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

On a 'leaf-peeping' trip to New England, my wife and I were interested in staying in small inns and B&Bs. One of the reasons we chose Middlebury was it was the setting for Bob Newhart's inn in 'Newhart'. We were not disapointed.

The inn has a main house and next door an additional mansion that is part of the complex. (There are also 'motel' style units on the property, but these should be avoided). We stayed in the adjoining mansion, built in 1825 and the rooms were very well appointed. The lobby in the main inn was very nice, the staff quite friendly and cooperative.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geewalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We're happy you enjoyed your visit to Vermont, but in recognition of our neighbor, The Waybury Inn, we were not the location of the Bob Newhart Show. You did stay in the oldest building in our complex, the Porter Mansion, which was converted to an Inn many years after our main Inn opened as the Addison House in 1827. You were here at a beautiful time of the year and we thank you for your nice comments.


Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAY SHORE
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband & I enjoyed our short vacation at the Middlebury Inn. It's very well located for enjoying the charm of Middlebury and the foliage in the area. We were upgraded to a small suite which was quite comfortable and very clean. We didn't mind climbing the one flight of stairs, but there was an elevator for those who can't manage stairs. We enjoyed breakfast in the breakfast room, and we also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon coffee. The Wifi signal though adequate in the lobby is not strong enough in the guest rooms, but that was our only complaint. We also had a nice dinner in Morgan's Tavern with an excellent server, Gloria.

Room Tip: Pay for your breakfast in advance; it's a nice savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We always try to upgrade as many guests as we can through our H.U.G. (Hotel UpGrade) program. It doesn't cost us anything and always makes an impression. I'm sorry you had some trouble with the WiFi signal - in a 186 year old building it's somewhat of a challenge to reach all the nooks and cranny's. And I'll be sure to pass along your appreciation to Gloria, our evening supervisor - she'll be pleased. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very good first contact on the phone for my reservation . Could not get exactly what I wanted so they offered me a little upgrade,very nice attention.
At the reception desk , again ,the staff was very kind and warm. We got there for the afternoon tea. It was great. Over six kind of tea ,delicious cookies and scones. Great start.
Our room was in the Porter House. The room was large with a small bathroom with all the necessities
All very clean. There was a small fridge in the room.
Middlebury is a nice little place and the Middlebury Inn is right in the middle of it.
I would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AventureMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Looks like you came to Vermont right at the peak of our lovely foliage this year. I'm happy that you ended up in a room that you were comfortable in and enjoyed our complimentary afternoon tea. Thanks for your kind words and by all means come back and see us again.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing