We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely best location in Middlebury”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place was old and rickety, but that's what I wanted from a hotel built in the 1800s in Vermont. My room on the top floor was comfortable and well worn in. It was in the back, which it recommend due to some street noise in the front. It had a lovely view of the mountains. The staff were friendly, the lobby was great, along with the free coffee and tea. It's located right in town so you can walk everywhere. I will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cah858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I'm not sure what image 'rickety' brings to mind, but there are a few creaks as you walk the wide hallways of the Main Inn. It was built 187 years ago and speaking of those wide hallways, they were designed to accommodate the wide hoop skirts that women wore at the time for grand occasions of the sort held at the Middlebury Inn. And I appreciate you pointing out our great location, just a few minutes from downtown and a 10 minute walk to the College. Thanks!

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a quality inn dating from colonial times but with private rooms with their own baths. The rooms are beyond comfortable with big beds and excellent mattresses. The staff is over the top in the service and cordiality departments. The afternoon complimentary tea, coffee and cookies in the lobby by the huge fireplace is quaint and homey. The meals offered in the tavern are delicious, hot and the portions are ample. The area offers so much to see from the Morgan horse farm to the hiking trails, bike paths and scenic rides. The local farms and gift shops offer fresh produce, maple syrups, handmade gifts and of course the famous Vermont teddy bears. Definitely a must for a weekend getaway or a week long vacation.

Room Tip: I found that the top two rooms in the inn were very quiet and above the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnajs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I think our local Chamber would like to hire you to help promote Middlebury. We think our Inn has the perfect blend of charm, comfort and history and we're thrilled that you were here to appreciate it. In our business, service is what differentiates us from our competition and I'm pleased that what we're doing seems to be working. Thanks for your nice comments and thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have been to Middlebury Inn several times now. I have tried several other places in my trips to Vermont, many quite lovely, but I keep coming back to this inn as the perfect place. It is so beautiful and the staff there is consistently the epitome of friendliness and helpfulness. From making the reservation to check-in/out to the restaurant staff it was perfect. We stayed in the annex. The annex doesn't look like much from the outside. But then you walk into this beautifully appointed room. It is roomy and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. I was there with my sister and we both commented on how well we slept which is unusual for hotels for us. The afternoon tea is quite nice if you get the chance to go. As for breakfast, don't miss it! We had it included in a package we had but would get it again if if not included. You get coffee, tea, or hot chocolate, juice, and a choice of exceptional quality, hearty meals. The toughest part was choosing what to get each morning. And the environment is so beautifully decorated it is just a joy to be there. All in all, can't say enough about how wonderful this place is and how much I look forward to my next visit. If you are heading anywhere near this area in Vermont this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 470 in the annex is a handicap accessible room. It is also closest to the main part of the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

One of the things I like to do is click on the other places our guests have visited while in town and it sure looks like you hit some of the high spots and enjoyed your self. And for those of you that have read our posts in the past, you know how much I appreciate nice comments about our Annex rooms - they're not for everybody, but they do have a loyal following and provide a level of convenience and comfort that may be different in the Main Inn or Porter Mansion. Thank you for returning and I hope we see you again soon.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a charming hotel with an historic ambience. The rooms are very well maintained and elegantly furnished. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Another charming feature is a lift, (elevator), dating back to 1922. A member of the staff will accompany you to your floor opening the doors on your arrival. Reminded me of vintage hotels in Paris. For a small charge breakfast is included with your stay. The breakfast menu is typically Vermont and the Lunch menu is equally interesting. The room rates are reasonable and will not break the bank. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a sitting area and bedroom and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

You gave your origins away when you called it a 'lift', but I'm pleased that you enjoyed our little Otis elevator, which indeed does date back to the early 20's. Our friendly staff are happy to help out and lend a hand, not just on the elevator, but throughout the Inn. They are all a remarkable bunch of hospitality professionals. Thanks for staying with us on your trip 'down south'.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Suring our recent visit to Middlebury College, we stayed at the truly excellent Middlebury Inn. The approximately 200 year old Inn was just lovely, and the accommodations were superb. The Colonial decor throughout the Inn gave the place a warm feel. As we checked in, we were notified that tea was being served. We were treated to cookies, tarts along with tea, iced tea or lemonade, in the parlor at the Inn. My daughter truly enjoyed riding up to our room on an original Otis (100 year old) elevator. (We only rode the elevator once -- when we first entered our room with our bags). Our room was large, and looked charmingly New England colonial, but the amenities were fully modern. Since Trip Advisor had notified us of a 'special' at the Inn, we were also given two vouchers: one for $15 at the Inn's restaurant, and another for $10 at many Middlebury shops (or against the hotel bill). Dinner at the restaurant was delicious, and the servers were friendly and courteous. Indeed, everyone at the Inn was quite amiable, in true Vermont fashion. The hot breakfast (pancakes for my daughter; eggs and home fries for me) the next morning (also included in our package) was also terrific. Our stay was pleasurable I fully expected Bob Newhart to walk by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albetwjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I'm happy you were able to take advantage of our Trip Advisor promotion - the Hometown Deal. Designed to offer travelers a great rate, some dining amenities and Middlebury Money for downtown shopping, it was a big success. Right now we're promoting the Spring into Summer deal - check it out! Hotels have many options for promotion, but Trip Advisor is turning out to be one of the best.

Hopefully you'll be returning to Middlebury College for many years and we hope to see you back here at the Middlebury Inn. Thank you for your nice comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This inn is conveniently located on the green in the center of town. It has been well maintained and service is great. They offer a wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinner selection. They also offer complimentary refreshments with delicious scones and cookies in the afternoon, as well as coffee at 6 am for early risers, in a comfortable lounge area. The bed and pillows offer a comfortable night sleepThey also have a staff operated elevator if needed. There is free on site parking and WiFi.I would definitely recommend this Inn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank egretnewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

You certainly touched on all of the high points of the 'Middlebury Inn' experience. We don't claim to be anything more than a truly authentic Vermont Inn with the modern touches that travelers have come to expect. We hope you'll come back for another visit soon. Thanks!

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

During our recent college tour over spring break to Middlebury, we stayed here at the Middlebury Inn. We loved everything about our stay at the Middlebury Inn. It's located right in the center of town, within walking distance to the college, the downtown restaurants, a co-op grocery store... The main building definitely feels like you're staying at a historic New England Inn. If you're looking for a modern, newly built hotel, the Middlebury Inn is not your type of place. Our room was on the second floor of the main building. In the afternoon, they offered complementary coffee, ice tea, apple cider and tasty cookies and scones. Although our room was smallish, it was clean, comfortable and everything worked. The decor and furnishings are classic. It's definitely a place we'd stay again if we visit Middlebury again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We hope your son or daughter decide to return to Middlebury College so we can get to know you better. If you stay here frequently you'll see many different styles and sizes of guestrooms and they're all classic New England. Middlebury, as well, is a great town to visit or spend four years in, while attending college. We hope to see you back. Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
233 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
291 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range: £89 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing