We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and helpful staff”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Middlebury Inn, although a bit pricey, once again we were left satisfied with our experience there. The inn enjoys a good location, convenient to the quaint center, several good restaurants and shops. The breakfast buffet is well endowed with fruits, a bit of granola, standard eggs and bacon and tasty sausages; coffee is OK but pretty average; we quite appreciated the friendly wait staff. Unfortunately, we faced the same breakfast every morning for three days. Rooms in the annex are comfortable and spacious. Great location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
I'm pleased that you found the Annex rooms to your liking. They have many attributes that make them appealing and their size is certainly one of them. I agree that we need to do a better job of always mixing up the breakfast selections, especially during this busy season of multi-night travelers - it sure sounds like we dropped the ball during your three night stay and i apologize. I will also be sure to pass along your nice comments about my staff - of course they love to hear that they are appreciated. Thanks for coming down!

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    176
    83
    17
    15
See reviews for
188
188
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Since one of our children attended the nearby college, we have stayed at the Inn about a dozen times, and I am finally getting around to writing about it. In all the times we have visited, there has never been a single problem or slip-up on the Inn's part. The staff are all friendly and attentive, and all act as though they can't do enough to make you happy the breakfast buffets are generous and delicious, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. For someone going there for the first time, there is a big difference in the ambiance between the rooms in the main building and those in the courtyard annex. In the main building are the rooms you might be looking for in an old-world inn, the traditional decor, the antique furnishings, etc. The courtyard rooms are more like a motel; however, for a family these rooms might be preferable because, aside from the drive-up convenience, for the same price range, they are quite a bit larger, can sleep more people, and have the added feature of an extra sink and mirror outside of the bathroom.

Room Tip: Main inn rooms are smaller, but more charming than courtyard annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastgirl02128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Better late than never...but a very nice review nonetheless. I can't tell you how pleased your comments make me feel. There is nothing we try harder at than to be consistent and provide the same high level of service for every guest every time. I will make sure to pass your review along to my staff and make their day as well. We hope to see you and your family return even without a child at college. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We made a one night stop over in Middlebury on a recent road trip through Vermont.
Before leaving home, I found a great deal on Travelzoo for this hotel that included a buffet breakfast.
The hotel has been in continuous service since 1827 and is a beautiful building. I made sure to ask for a room in the main hotel ( the oldest part ) as there are newer rooms also available. We wanted the old world charm.........and we got it. High ceilings, antique furniture and hallways and doors wide enough to accommodate hooped skirts !
There was tea/coffee and cookies in the late afternoon in the lounge/reception area and we took our tea outside on the veranda.
Breakfast was amazing. Great buffet and wonderful service. Tables were set up inside, and also on the veranda.
There is a bit of traffic as the main highway goes right by the hotel, but the noise did not bother us.
We visited the Morgan horse farm nearby at the University of Vermont and also the Danforth Pewter shop. Both well worth going to.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building if you want to experience the charm of the building. There are lots of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicenatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
We're happy that you were able to take advantage of the TravelZoo offer which we promote a couple times a year along with other great travel deals. In this day and age, it always pays to shop for the best deal, especially if you have a flexible schedule. Often calling the Inn or going to our website will lead you in the right direction. I also love to hear 'amazing' in the same sentence as our breakfast buffet - my staff works hard to prepare and offer the best breakfast in town. And nothing beats relaxing on our veranda on a sunny morning with a good cup of coffee to prepare for the day ahead. I appreciate your taking the time to comment.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

the staff was very helpful and friendly; we had a great stay. we needed a good place to spread out and the room is a great size, had a fridge, and a great king sized bed. breakfast was very good as was tea time! it was also close a good hike and a great swimming hole (we were there in the summer) and just one town over from bristol which was convenient. shaws nearby as well. definitely would recommend this inn!

Room Tip: make sure youre in the main building.
See more room tips
Green Features: i was proud of them. towel use, small ac unit that kept us cool
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
What a nice review! It sound like you took full advantage of the area. And finding a good swimming hole is a very Vermont thing to do. It's also not easy maintaining the Green features that we strive for in Vermont, but I appreciate your noticing. Thanks for your kind words.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I were joined by two other couples for a two night stay at Middlebury Inn when we took advantage of a Travelzoo offer (very good value). We all enjoy history and old buildings so this was a good location for us. None of us minded that due to the nature of historic buildings all the rooms were different and we didn't necessarily know what would be in store for us (as opposed to contemporary hotels where rooms are more uniform). We enjoyed the comfort of the lobby and afternoon tea. The hotel's restaurant offered a good buffet breakfast and fine dinner menu (convenient). Most of the servers were very personable and eager to please six (over sixty) somewhat loud guests. We also enjoyed the summer evenings on the balcony (after the dinner hours were over). I would like to share, however, that the queen size bed did not seem as large as mine at home and it took a while for the water in my shower to heat up. My friend's only complaint was that their room was small due to the fact it was next to the elevator. The only drawback that I can see for other patrons is the fact that the elevator must be manned by an employee and that sometimes requires a wait. If you don't use the elevator you will be climbing stairs (even to the rooms on the first floor; the ground floor is actually the lobby and restaurants). I wouldn't hesitate to return since I enjoy this type of inn. There is a newer building to the rear of the main inn. I did not enter that location so I don't know what those rooms are like.

Room Tip: Choose the main inn if you like historic rooms; make sure you are not next to the elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel has recycle bins in the hallways outside the guest rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Many years ago I worked for Holiday Inn and their motto was "No Surprises". Your comments brought that to mind. I appreciate the fact that you expect a bit of uncertainty when staying at an historic property such as ours. And of course, regardless of our physical quirks, our service should be completely professional and up to date. I'm sorry you had to wait for our 100 year old elevator - it's a great feature of the Inn, but we sometimes struggle to respond promptly. Thank you for pointing these features out.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

At first you might flinch. It is old and the A/C units are in the windows. But, it's a pleasant place to stay and, best, it's in the middle of town. It has all the charm of an historic in and is exactly what you'd expect to find on the green in an old New England town.

We chose not to eat there because there were so many little options around the town. The service folks are pleasant, the facility very charming and clean. Rooms are old and can be small. We upgraded to a luxury suite in the mansion.

All in all a very pleasant place. Neither pricey nor cheap. But, the best option if you want to be able to walk around town. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room in the mansion. I understood that you could get deals if you call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
You appear to be saying that we are a good value. When I looked the word up, descriptions like 'fair price', 'usefulness' and 'beneficial' came up. The Middlebury Inn strives to offer good value while being convenient and comfortable. We want to not only be a good option when visiting our town, but the best option and our convenience to downtown and the town green makes that even easier. Thank you.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Middlebury Inn while visiting Middlebury College, and were very happy with our stay. The Inn is lovely and decorated with beautiful antiques - our room as large, had good air conditioning ( important, as it was a very hot day), and comfortably arranged. Breakfast downstairs was delicious, and the staff was helpful with directions and accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
What nice comments - I hope your child chooses to attend Middlebury College, assuming that's why you were visiting. We love our town and the College and know you will too.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing