We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely marvelous - a real gem”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were in Middlebury for a wedding - the bride's parents had reserved rooms at this lovely, historical bed and breakfast. Had an absolutely wonderful stay, sadly for only two nights. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing and the rooms were clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and the bathrooms well stocked with amentities and bath linens. Breakfast consisted of either serve yourself bagels, toast, fresh fruit, cereal or service by an attentive wait staff of items prepared in the kitchen. Our group had scrumptious french toast, pancakes, a delicious fresh basil tomato frittata, scrambled eggs, omelettes, fresh juice, etc. Delicious. And did we mention the warm cookies every evening! The common areas were large and inviting and the screened porch was a fabulous place for coffee and a chat (a Keurig coffee system is available for serve yourself). The Inn was close enough to stroll to the shopping areas downtown, but still remote enough to enjoy the relaxing qualities of this inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

My son and I spent one night here while looking at Middlebury College. The Swift House Inn was recommended by a friend whose daughter goes to Middlebury; he stays here each time he visits (which is often, to go to athletic contests). Our room wasn't huge (the bathroom was especially small) but it oozed charm and was very comfortable. We had both dinner and breakfast (the latter included with your stay) and both were superb. The folks who run the place could not have been nicer. I'll recommend Swift House to anyone who visits Middlebury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Inn itself is quite lovely - set back from busy Route 7 with a gorgeous property. If one could just enjoy the setting, it would be a nice place to stay. But for the next 6 weeks the road next to the Inn is being demolished (repetitively) so there is no calm, and no quiet. No naps, and no sleeping in, and no sitting out on their porch.

Clearly this is not under the Inn keepers control, but they did know about it and not mention it. We had selected this Inn and one other in Vermont from all the others, hoping for a quiet, beautiful stay. This was seriously not our trip.

Owners tried, although we had issues with almost everything else. I wouldn't return, but you might find it better once the construction calms down.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derring_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

The town has our street under much needed and significant upgrade. The project was to start in May. It finally started, unfortunately for us, the second week of July and is expected to last up to eight weeks. The work is done 7:30- 5:00 weekdays only, digging and filling, no jack hammers. The work crews are very accommodating and helpful, and have guaranteed access to the Inn. We spend time every day coordinating with the crew, informing our guests and ensuring guests are comfortable, even calling in advance if there are detours, and upgrading guests to limit exposure. We are very fortunate that almost all guests have been understanding. When the review guest checked in they expressed a concern about the work, we offered to upgrade them at no cost to a much larger, room in our Carriage House for the 4 nights, set back from the road, or we would find them accommodations in another Inn. They declined and stayed in their chosen room. After two nights we offered, again, to upgrade them , they chose to stay in their room. Upon checkout we refunded one night's stay for their inconvenience. The record high temperatures for 4 days did not help their stay. We are doing our best to accommodate and mitigate our guests' concerns, even with moving them to another Inn if desired. Only five more weeks to go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We booked 2 nights at Swift House so we could visit Middlebury after being away for about 10 years. The Inn is beautiful - lush grounds, large rooms, and a restaurant that looks out on the lawn. Our room was large and as private as one would expect at a B&B. Breakfast was delicious- - the best meals we got in Middlebury. On the second day, a rather severe storm blew through and knocked out power to the Inn and much of the town. Our plans to eat at the restaurant were dashed. When we got back from dinner. the power was still off to the Carriage House. The owner's offered to move us to a room in the Main House or release us from our room and book us in another hotel. Under the circumstances, Michelle made us feel that we were completely under control to make any choice. We elected to stay and "camp" for the night. It was so quiet and calm. There was just enough "warm" water for morning showers. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for that perfect B&B experience. The homemade cookies were also great!

Room Tip: Watch the desk by the fron door of the Inn for the cookies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

While the grounds of the Inn are pleasing and the breakfast very nice, the room was in great need of updating, detail cleaning, and maintenance. The room was $250 + per night , yet the bathtub had a ring, the bathroom floor grout had several places to be cleaned, brass in bathroom was in very poor condition and needed relpaced or replated, foldout couch was in need of cleaning and very old and worn. The carpet was in need of cleaning or even replacing. The magnifying mirror in the bathroom wobbled and was barely held on by a loose screw. Poor lighting. Had to turn the heat lamp on in the bathroom to put makeup on. The mattress was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmath49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

We are appreciative of the reminder that this specific room needs attention and we need to move up the scheduled rehab of this room. We agree that the carpet, couch, and all metal fixtures need to be replaced. This room also needs to be painted and the bath lighting updated to 2011 guests' expectations. I am not sure what happened with the cleanliness as we take great care that all guest rooms and areas of the Inn are spotlessly clean. We failed in this instance and are reviewing our pre-guest arrival room inspection procedures. We are very sorry that this was such a negative impact on our guests' stay. We do take great pride in our appearance, guest service and cleanliness and will correct this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We spent two days in this lovely inn. We were greeted warmly and shown to our roomy, comfortable and airy accommodations. The inn shows a great attention to detail. The service was outstanding. We had dinner the first night in their dining room and it was so good that instead of trying other restaurants in the area, we dined there the second night. I would highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Governors Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slwbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I had a long weekend stay at the Swift House Inn and I had two entertain on two evenings. It was wonderful being able to do that without having to go outside on a very frigid weekend. The staff could not have been more accomodating. The food in the inn is very good (though maybe not quite as good as my last visit) and the wine list is outstanding. My room was comfortable and quiet. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bropaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
230 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
192 reviews
15.7 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: £110 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing