We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Middlebury Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable Middlebury Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Swift House Inn is a very comfortable B&B in Middlebury, VT. We were very pleased with our room, the garden room, with its own deck. The lighting was better than at most inns. The bed was extra-comfortable. We did have a problem with storage for our toiletries. We looked at some of the other rooms with bigger bathrooms, and they had more. Our bathroom, however, did have some mildew; and the whirlpool tub could have been more thoroughly cleaned between residents. The front-desk staff couldn't have been nicer or better informed. The breakfasts are generous. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: To stay on the first floor, pick the garden room. The rooms that we saw were larger but with an ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpromd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
There is no excuse for mildew and it has been taken care of and all other bathrooms checked!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
149
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SW Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Just enjoyed a two night stay as the beginning of a New England getaway and the Swift House was the perfect setting. Michelle and Dan and their staff are warm and friendly and have created a beautiful inn on lovely well kept grounds with beautiful seasonal flowers. Our room was large with the bed and linens so comfortable that I felt like I was in my own bed. Dan shared his favorite spots to fly fish in the area with goods results for all. Breakfast was wonderful with more choices than I've ever experienced at an inn. We also enjoyed dinner in their restaurant, Jessica's, named for a prior owner. All the entrees were incredible but I especially enjoyed the scallops.
Lots of privacy yet convenient to enjoy the town; can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is a superb place to stay. It is elegantly furnished in classic understated New England style. The building is a beautiful 19th Century showpiece. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The beds are nice. The breakfast is excellent: a lot of choices from the big buffet and a choice of four hot dishes cooked to order. The staff was friendly and very responsive. They also made a terrific recommendation for dinner. I plan to stay here whenever I visit Middlebury in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Swift House Inn this past week as part of a long weekend in Vt . and N.H. and couldn't have been more pleased. It's an old very large property which sits within walking distance of the town center. The buildings are spread out on well manicured lawns and gardens so those who might not like an old house on a tight lot will find plenty of room to hang out both inside and out. Our room was a "garden room" which had a separate entrance and its own sitting area adjacent to it. The room itself was more than large enough and nicely appointed.

I can't say enough about the owners (Dan and Michelle) and their staff. Everyone was really friendly in a laid back and familiar way, nothing "put on". With Dan's help and directions we biked to Vergennes, Lake Champlain (almost) and back. It was fabulous.
We rented Trek hybrids from the Bike Center in town for $20 a day instead of bringing our
own.

On one night we ate at their restaurant, Jessica's. They have an outdoor deck which is where we ate. Don't let the informality fool you, Rob is a first rate chef. Tom's wine list
(now with help from Jason) is far and away one of the best lists I've ever seen in such a small restaurant. The care that went into the selections will be very obvious if you're a wine lover. They know all of their wines.

I love the Homewood Suites and have stayed in chateaus in France, "agricolas" in Italy, and "shabby chic" beach hotels in the Caribbean. I know great slices of pizza and Chinese in NYC and have eaten in 3 star Michelin restaurants. I don't usually stay at inns but from now on, the Swift House Inn is on my list of favorites!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were in Middlebury for a wedding - the bride's parents had reserved rooms at this lovely, historical bed and breakfast. Had an absolutely wonderful stay, sadly for only two nights. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing and the rooms were clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and the bathrooms well stocked with amentities and bath linens. Breakfast consisted of either serve yourself bagels, toast, fresh fruit, cereal or service by an attentive wait staff of items prepared in the kitchen. Our group had scrumptious french toast, pancakes, a delicious fresh basil tomato frittata, scrambled eggs, omelettes, fresh juice, etc. Delicious. And did we mention the warm cookies every evening! The common areas were large and inviting and the screened porch was a fabulous place for coffee and a chat (a Keurig coffee system is available for serve yourself). The Inn was close enough to stroll to the shopping areas downtown, but still remote enough to enjoy the relaxing qualities of this inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My son and I spent one night here while looking at Middlebury College. The Swift House Inn was recommended by a friend whose daughter goes to Middlebury; he stays here each time he visits (which is often, to go to athletic contests). Our room wasn't huge (the bathroom was especially small) but it oozed charm and was very comfortable. We had both dinner and breakfast (the latter included with your stay) and both were superb. The folks who run the place could not have been nicer. I'll recommend Swift House to anyone who visits Middlebury.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Inn itself is quite lovely - set back from busy Route 7 with a gorgeous property. If one could just enjoy the setting, it would be a nice place to stay. But for the next 6 weeks the road next to the Inn is being demolished (repetitively) so there is no calm, and no quiet. No naps, and no sleeping in, and no sitting out on their porch.

Clearly this is not under the Inn keepers control, but they did know about it and not mention it. We had selected this Inn and one other in Vermont from all the others, hoping for a quiet, beautiful stay. This was seriously not our trip.

Owners tried, although we had issues with almost everything else. I wouldn't return, but you might find it better once the construction calms down.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derring_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
The town has our street under much needed and significant upgrade. The project was to start in May. It finally started, unfortunately for us, the second week of July and is expected to last up to eight weeks. The work is done 7:30- 5:00 weekdays only, digging and filling, no jack hammers. The work crews are very accommodating and helpful, and have guaranteed access to the Inn. We spend time every day coordinating with the crew, informing our guests and ensuring guests are comfortable, even calling in advance if there are detours, and upgrading guests to limit exposure. We are very fortunate that almost all guests have been understanding. When the review guest checked in they expressed a concern about the work, we offered to upgrade them at no cost to a much larger, room in our Carriage House for the 4 nights, set back from the road, or we would find them accommodations in another Inn. They declined and stayed in their chosen room. After two nights we offered, again, to upgrade them , they chose to stay in their room. Upon checkout we refunded one night's stay for their inconvenience. The record high temperatures for 4 days did not help their stay. We are doing our best to accommodate and mitigate our guests' concerns, even with moving them to another Inn if desired. Only five more weeks to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing