We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended B&B”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended B&B”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this inn. It has a quiet, comfortable atmosphere, and is well maintained. The location is great - easy walking distance to town and Middlebury College. We stayed in the Gladstone room for 4 nights. It's a very large, beautiful, immaculate room in the Carriage House. The innkeepers and staff couldn't have been nicer, and were very helpful with suggestions for activities in the area. Don't miss the Shelburne Museum - it's an excellent museum! Breakfasts were delicious, and dinner at Jessica's was excellent. This is one of the nicest inns at which we've stayed, and we've stayed at many! We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff to get details about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuntravelsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    50
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
156
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights with another couple, and were very impressed. Although it is a B & B, it's more of a country inn with many rooms. It's located in a nice residential area within a 5-10 minute walk of most of the shopping, etc. in Middlebury's town center. Our rooms in the main inn were quite spacious and well furnished, with large bathrooms. Breakfast is in the inn's full service restaurant, and was very good. You have a choice of entrees. The owners and other inn personnel were friendly and really service-oriented. The upscale restaurant here is one of the best choices in Middlebury, with good food and a decent wine list. There also is a small bar off the lobby, with a good selection of liquors, etc. Ample parking is in a lot right across the street. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and the inn is an excellent choice in this pretty little college town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Really a nice place to stay. Our room, The Sherman room in the carriage house was very big and very quiet. Service is fantastic, we had a flat tire, and the girl in the reception organised repair at a nearby garage - jut like that! The restaurant which should be good was closed, so we had to go downtown Middlebury, where we found the FIRE AND ICE (yes that's the name of the reataurant) it looks strange, but the food is really good.
Middlebury is worth a walk once you've returned from a days excursion in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

At first glance this place is really nice, however there are some areas of the B&B that need to be updated (roof is very dated, plaster coming off of some wall, etc) Although it was a nice place, I do not think I will stay here again. We stayed in the John Deer Room. This building is a short walk down the street from the main building where the breakfast is served. The breakfast was good, 4 hot plate options plus cold serving as well. We only stayed one night, but it felt more like a hotel, not a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

stayed three nights on a "Bike Vermont" tour. Great little house, owners-staff went all out to please. Food was very good. Middlebury fun little town, hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: each room is unique, call and discuss, but I don't think there are any "bad" ones. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Swift House Inn is a very comfortable B&B in Middlebury, VT. We were very pleased with our room, the garden room, with its own deck. The lighting was better than at most inns. The bed was extra-comfortable. We did have a problem with storage for our toiletries. We looked at some of the other rooms with bigger bathrooms, and they had more. Our bathroom, however, did have some mildew; and the whirlpool tub could have been more thoroughly cleaned between residents. The front-desk staff couldn't have been nicer or better informed. The breakfasts are generous. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: To stay on the first floor, pick the garden room. The rooms that we saw were larger but with an ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpromd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
There is no excuse for mildew and it has been taken care of and all other bathrooms checked!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Just enjoyed a two night stay as the beginning of a New England getaway and the Swift House was the perfect setting. Michelle and Dan and their staff are warm and friendly and have created a beautiful inn on lovely well kept grounds with beautiful seasonal flowers. Our room was large with the bed and linens so comfortable that I felt like I was in my own bed. Dan shared his favorite spots to fly fish in the area with goods results for all. Breakfast was wonderful with more choices than I've ever experienced at an inn. We also enjoyed dinner in their restaurant, Jessica's, named for a prior owner. All the entrees were incredible but I especially enjoyed the scallops.
Lots of privacy yet convenient to enjoy the town; can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing