We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid visit!”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Splendid visit!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We recently visited Swift House as returning guests. We were welcomed, remembered as having been there previously, and, again, enjoyed our visit! The staff here is top notch; the owners are personable and engaging and everything is done with the focus of caring for their guests. Fireside breakfast is pure Vermont and delicious! It's a special place for us, one we can heartily and happily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseFlorence_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
151
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I selected this B&B based on both the location (we wanted somewhere near a town), access to nice places to eat, and TA reviews. We agree that the inn deserves 4 stars.

The good-
Location. Middlebury is a lovely town with some great shops an places to eat. There is even a small cinema if one is inclined to go to the movies. The inn is maybe a 5 minute walk from town, which is one of the things we liked about it.
Hiking. This area is ideal for hiking. The TAM (trails around Middlebury) are bountiful and there is also the national park nearby
Cleanliness. The rooms are spotlessly clean
Food. Breakfast was delicious and each day we were there (we stayed 3 nights) there was a different hot breakfast offered. Dinner was absolutely delicious, though we were only able to eat the one night as the other 2 nights Jessica's was closed. The wine offerings were also very good.

The bad
The only reason this was not given 5 stars is because the staff, though professional, were very impersonal. The owner Michelle was very warm and welcoming, but after breakfast we did not see her anymore. Also the bar tended to be empty in the evenings. Perhaps on nights when the restaurant is open this is less so.

I have to say we stayed at the Rabbit Hill Inn a couple of years ago, and even though it is unfair to compare, the warm and personal attention we received there (without being overbearing) is hard to achieve.

The Swift Inn however is an excellent choice for this area of Vermont and if I could give it 4 1/2 stars, I would.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Swift Room which had a huge bathroom, and small balcony (though we did not use it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
We appreciate the feedback which gives us the opportunity to understand and improve our operations, particularly interactions and service to our guests
. Michele, the Owner/Innkeeper, interacts with guests during breakfast service and when needed during the rest of the day. She is at the Inn all day, every day, and if a guest is around the Inn during the day you will see Michele many, many times. However, much of the owners' work is behind the scenes. Michele and Dan are available 24/7.
Our small intimate bar with 2 over-stuffed chairs, a couch, a bar with 4 stools, and fireplace, is used almost exclusively by Inn and restaurant guests. Some nights it is busy; on nights when the restaurant is closed it is quiet but open. Sitting on the couch in front of the wood fire with a glass of wine is a very popular guest activity. We do not want to make it a local bar and I think guests appreciate that.
The 4 Diamond Rabbit Hill Inn is our favorite Inn and we recommend it to our guests. Owners Brian and Leslie, in my opinion, are the best Innkeepers in our industry. If you are going to the Vermont Northeast Kingdom make sure you stay with them!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is a gorgeous property consisting of three different buildings, two of which are adjacent and the other is down at the end of the block, a bit of a walk. If you stay here, get a room in the main house, which is where dining room is located. Food is fabulous, both breakfast and dinner, (pumpkin french toast for breakfast was the best ever) and service in restaurant is good.
However, front desk staff were not readily helpful and not all were familiar with the locale and thus could not recommend hiking nor give directions. However, owner, Michelle, knows what to do and where to go, and if she is not too busy, is a good resource. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable, but depending upon the room, bathroom can be tiny. Be sure to take a walk on the Trail Around Middlebury.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
We always appreciate reviews that give us a better perspective on how the guests perceive our customer services. The single person front desk position is very busy, particularly in the morning, and they are not always the best source of information for active outdoor guests. Every morning Michele, Owner/Innkeeper, and/or Julie, Innkeeper, assist with breakfast and attempt to greet and talk with every guest. They help guests plan their day and give directions. They are the Concierge and resident experts, particularly for outdoor activities and day trips away from the Inn. For our bicycling and fishing guests, Dan, Owner, is available for area and route planning and any technical advice. We have discussed this review with the staff and will be better at having the right staff member assist the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Fl
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had the garden room...very clean and bedding was wonderful...loved the sheets. The granola for breakfast was delicious and had several choices for hot meal. The breakfast area was warm with a beautiful view of the garden and front lawn with fall folliage. Had a cute bar area. Wished we could have been there on day the restaurant was open at night....had great reviews....

Room Tip: Garden room has a very small,sink area. Could not put toiletries in bathroom...heater unit in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Great location in Middlebury VT. Great breakfast with with many food choices. Owner is present and aims to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are a little pricey but warrant a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Swift House Inn for three nights. The inn is full of character. The staff was charming, knowledgeable and friendly. All parts of the hotel were tastefully decorated. Our room was spotless, and our bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great. We also had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious! Highly recommended. Middlebury is a great little town, and was very convenient as a base to see different parts of Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
489 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Loved our stay at the Swift House Inn! We stayed in the turret room in the gate house. It was described as the smallest room at the inn so we were surprised that it had plenty of space, storage, and room for luggage without feeling cramped. The room was lovely...nicely decorated with touches like ice bucket, glasses, flowers. The bathroom had fluffy towels & amenities. We liked the fact that the inn is "green" and does things like recycling and has dispensers in the bathroom instead of individual bottles.

The gate house was a gorgeous old building with beautiful architecture. There is a big wrap around porch with rocking chairs. Other nice touches include homemade cookies every afternoon and a coffee and water station available to guests.

Breakfast is in the main house, which was about a 2 minute walk. Umbrellas are provided in case it's raining. The breakfasts are delicious with a choice of 4 different items each morning. You can eat in the library or out on the deck. The servers were very nice. The owner was often around chatting with guests and giving recommendations for shopping, dining, etc.

The inn is about a 5 minute walk from town.

Room Tip: The gate house is on a main street, which didn't bother us, but if you are more sensitive to noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
11.0 mi away
Strong House Inn
Strong House Inn
#1 of 3 in Vergennes
101 reviews
15.7 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing