We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swift House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard Middlebury(Middlebury)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middlebury Inn(Middlebury)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Basin Harbor Club
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites(Ticonderoga)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
236
52
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
52
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcarriage housethe main housewood burning fireplaceprivate deckfrench toastclassic new englandsteam room and saunadirect tvsmall barselect registryhomemade cookiesa great place to stayposter bedbreakfast each morningroom was spotlesscommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We just happened upon this great place on our way back from a parent weekends. (We think we got the last of a what they had?) We thought we would stop in Middlebury and continue our drive back home the next morning. We were pleasantly surprised to see a nice restaurant in the hotel. We had a drink and dinner which was terrific. The staff was very friendly and the place was just perfect. Comfortable - wireless - clean and just a lovely find. We were thrilled. The owner served us breakfast in the morning and could not have been more welcoming and the food was delicious. So this ranks very high in my "perfect" find list. I will recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinMurph5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a family reunion at Swift House in Middlebury recently. The rooms were above average in size and very comfortable and clean. The staff was particularly attentive and friendly. Breakfast was excellent each morning. If the weather is okay, I recommend eating outside on the patio. Dinner is available about 4 nights per week and was above average, although expensive. The location is ideal...quiet college town but convenient to many different locales in Vermont. We used Swift House as our headquarters and toured throughout the State. This place offers all the modern comforts with a lovely New England atmosphere. We were all adults. We will consider returning to Swift House in the future.

Room Tip: owners get up early to start operations and have a place over some rooms. You may be disturbed early by their moving about. Ask for a higher room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edeneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We toured the New England states this past week. Stayed one night at Swift House in the Addison room. The room was adequate, not luxurious. The metal bed rattled and squeaked on every turn. The linen was very nice, comfy. The claw foot tub took 45 minutes to fill half way, so finally took a shower instead. The room was very warm and had no air conditioning, so had a fan brought up. The inn keepers were gracious and personable. The inn common areas are warm and well appointed. The grounds were immaculate. Breakfast was delightful and dinner was tasty, but small portions for the cost. I would not recommend a future stay, due to cost vs. amenities.

Room Tip: Ask about sq. footage. Wide angle lenses are deceptive. The carriage rooms were more updated.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightmorningstar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We always want the Inn to meet or exceed our guests expectations when they stay with us. In this case we missed the mark and are sorry. We have reviewed our, procedures and the room. Sometimes mother nature makes things difficult for us. Our rooms each have individual heat or air conditioning controls and thermostats. Unfortunately it is one or the other for the entire building. With average temps at this time of year between 40 to 60 the air conditioning was shut down for the season, a 77 degree day was a surprise and made us scramble. However the temp made for a fabulous day in Vermont! The full and hearty breakfast is always complimentary .We did not use a wide angle lens for room pictures on the website nor were the rooms overly styled for the pictures. Please see the Review "Historic Inn, modern comforts" below as this is a review of the same room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here during an Inn to Inn bike tour. We stayed in the Black Hawk room which was not in the main house. Our room was extra large - especially for an inn. We had a huge bath with a jacuzzi tub that was also the shower. All was very clean. No trouble with the Wifi - bed was comfortable & had the best sheets ever - Comphy brand sheets. Nice bath products & robes were included. We had a gas fire place in the room - and although a little chilly while we were there, it was not available to use. Not sure - would have been nice. The owner visited us at breakfast & was very helpful. Breakfast was great - and there was coffee, fruit, cookies & newspapers available in the public areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I spent an enjoyable mid-week break here a few days ago. Occasionally one pays for atmosphere with a degree of discomfort, but such was not the case at Swift House. The room was scrupulously clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom spacious (I've stayed in rooms no larger) with claw-footed tub, a small stall shower, sufficient hot water and nice towels. Robes also were supplied. The TV was flat screen and wall mounted. A cooked breakfast is offered in the room charge as well as the usual cold buffet. The owner made the rounds each morning to greet each guest personally and answer any questions. The wait staff is also very knowledgeable about the locality and will supply some harmless gossip about the town. There is dinner available at night which was excellent, and the homemade cookies at teatime were a nice touch. I've stayed in several historic inns in the area and this is the one to which I'd return.

Room Tip: The photos on the hotel website appear to represent the rooms honestly
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews