We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Comforting”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful & Comforting”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at this inn to attend a wedding. We found the staff to be very friendly and courtesy to the guests. Our room was inviting and very relaxing. We enjoy the comforts of the inns and will book inns before hotels. Beautiful grounds invite you to sit on the screened porch and relax with the outdoors. We understand that every inn is different in how they operate them. I respect and appreciate all that the owners do to be resourceful with energy. While I was disappointed in the portion of our hot breakfast, it was still delicious and we would visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
150
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arrived after a long drive where we had a quick and warm welcome and were then escorted to the carriage house. Our room was on the first floor, was very spacious and up-to-date with a clean bathroom. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable and therer was a sofa and sitting area to relax and read. We enjoyed a made-to-order breakfast with very friendly service in the main house the following morning.The location is close to the heart of town so that you can walk to everything and I would recommend staying on the second floor of the carriage house next time because you can hear movement upstairs from the first floor very easily. Definitely the best place to stay in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A pretty historic building with nice grounds within walking distance to Middlebury shops and restaurants. Our room in the main house was noisy – a combination of lack of insulation and the fact that the dining room and kitchen for the on-site restaurant are right underneath the rooms. Service was welcoming and responsive. Breakfast was disappointing and not on a par with other B&B’s or small inns we have experienced. There was good fresh fruit but no muffins or pastries of any kind (there was bread and English muffins for self-service toasting). The hot items were pedestrian at best and the frittata and sausage (a single small link) served the second morning were served cold. They took it back and microwaved but still. Overall did not live up to expectations.

Green Features: Other than a note that they don't change towels unless requested there was nothing in evidence
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelez1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We should never serve the entrees cold, just no excuse! I also agree that our complimentary full breakfast is not as fancy or elaborate as the single choice entree breakfast of a B&B or small Inn. Also, we do not serve fresh baked pastries; we have found that our guests seldom eat them and they go to waste. Our complimentary all-you-can-eat breakfast does include a fresh fruit bowl, bananas, grapefruit, 2 types of VT Greek yogurt, 3 cereals, Inn made granola, 4 selections of bread (either self serve or ordered from kitchen). Wait staff provide coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and 5 types of juice along with cooked-to-order pancakes, oatmeal, french toast, eggs to order, a meat and an egg special. Guests enjoy the selections and atmosphere. The room the guest stayed in is the only room over the dining room and there is very seldom a noise complaint. This spring we tore down the dining room ceiling to replace it and it gave us the opportunity to put as much insulation in it as possible to mitigate the sound. We are very proud of our designation as a Vermont Green Hotel and as owners strongly committed to the program! Our philosophy is detailed in our room guest book. Most efforts are not seen: 5 new high efficiency boilers and new room heat exchangers that have reduced oil use by over 30%; this spring we installed a guest room Energy Management System that manages room temperature when guests are Not in their room, as of now the only Inn in the state to have this. All lights are either CFL or LED. Almost all paper products used are of recycled materials; cleaning products are environmentally friendly; all paper, metal, cans, bottles are recycled including construction waste; food scraps are saved for a family raising pigs; all used linens are given to an organization to support local families who need them. The staff is trained in how to save energy. We are very committed and proud of our environmental efforts! We sometimes miss the mark for a guest, but this makes us work harder so that we can please every guest. We are a family business, with a great staff, and we all want the guest to experience what we would expect to experience at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first trip to Vermont was made even more spectacular by our two night stay at the Swift House Inn. We stayed in the luxurious Carriage House in a very spacious room with a King bed and a pullout couch--perfect for our family of three. The room was beautifully appointed, as were all the areas of the Inn. Breakfast was superb--cooked to perfection and delicious. Thank you to our hosts Michelle and Dan for helping to make our family vacation perfect!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MKDArtTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the gatehouse for 2 nights. It was a great, relaxing trip. The location was great for walking downtown, driving to VT breweries and sightseeing around VT. The staff was super helpful, the local breakfast foods were delicious! Try the homemade granola! We ate breakfast both days on the large covered porch. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: The bed in the John Deere room was a bit squeaky.
See more room tips
Green Features: They use local foods for their gourmet breakfasts and dinners. Awesome!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klariprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Swift House Inn on our bicycle trip following the Adventure Cycling Association's Green Mountain Loop route through the state of Vermont. We were in the Lucy Ford-Slade room in the Gate House across the street and a few doors down from the main part of the Inn. While the interior of the Gate House didn't appear to have quite as much warmth as the main part of the Inn it was nevertheless very nice, and we found the room comfortable. We were able to store our bikes on a rack in the garage and out of the weather. We had dinner in the restaurant within the Inn, where breakfast was also served. Both were great. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
335 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Once again Tripadvisor led us to some of the good life--this time it was because my wife wanted to pursue some laid-back rural tourism in New England, and some searching about took us to west Vermont and this highly-recommended lodging for a few nights. It was splendid!

This B&B is in a historical property, buildings about 200 years old, generous grounds carefully maintained. Like any older buildings, these have their flaws--there were some repairs and repainting going on for the porch in the gatehouse, where we slept (the main house and carriage house also have guest rooms); some of the wallpaper was scuffed, the Persian rugs were old-looking. The rooms have TVs but no desk, the wireless hub in our room had signal strength of "poor" (at one point so bad my cell phone temporarily de-accessed). There are comfy common areas with sofas and coffeemakers, cookie jars and board games, but no TV and again, no desk to speak of. The effect was to encourage us to turn off and get out, socialize with other guests, enjoy the 19th-century charm of the location.

Their central location makes them ideal for tourists who want to enjoy the town. Were we a bit younger and more vigorous, we might have walked to downtown. There's also a robust local transit system that offers free fare for short, in-town trips and limited requests for route variation.

Our room, again, was in the gatehouse. In fact, we were in the circular tower room (forget what they named it) in the front of the building. The website warned that, being right on route 7, traffic noise might be an issue, but all I ever noticed was a very low sound when the loudest trucks or motorcycles went by--and then only if I was paying attention. The upside was a comfy bed, lots of pillows, dark chocolates on the side table every morning, and a whirlpool bath! which is not included in every room, but was the reason I chose this one, and I gave it a good workout every evening.

Note that the air conditioning here is window units (in our room, mounted through the wall); the cool air doesn't enter the bath if the door's closed, I kept forgetting to try to turn on the ceiling vent to see if it would help; anyhow, the bathroom got rather steamy when I was soaking in the whirlpool. Now, if you like steam, I understand there's a sauna on the premises, but these glorious June days that greeted us were not sauna weather.

Another fabulous thing about this inn is the included full-service breakfast. Their in-house restaurant, Jessica's (see my separate review) gives them a full kitchen and generous dining room. Walking over in the a.m., I was able to enjoy on my first day a Mediterranean omelette with feta, kalamatas, tomato, and spinach--superb! The second day was an egg scramble with spring veggies--bright and sunny! On my final day, a fritatta that was equally delicious--bacon and sausage available on order, and pancakes or french toast are routinely also offered. The hot breakfast is full-service and prepared a minute; the cold selections--halved pink grapefruit, fruit salad, yogurts and cereal--are self-serve. Previous B&B experiences for me have featured breakfasts that offer no selection, just whatever the host decides to put out--Swift House puts them to shame!

Our short Vermont trip was delightful throughout, and a big part of my enjoyment was the hospitality here. We spent some pleasant evening hours sitting on the screened porch with a drink from their bar, chatting with other guests about Vermont, bicycling (there was a group of them staying for several days and riding the area), and other polite topics.

Be sure to reserve your room as far in advance as you can--word is out about this place, and they have a cadre of regulars who keep the vacancies down!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad choice--their website gives lots of info on each room so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing