We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is a beautiful inn, very conveniently located near Middlebury College. We loved our room and the delicious breakfasts. Dinner at Jessica's restaurant was also wonderful. The owners and staff are very warm and friendly -- this is really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyb95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
149
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Swift House Inn for a recent wedding.

The food was fantastic. I tried several of the options at the rehearsal dinner and all were fantastic. The breakfasts were equally delicious and a great way to start the day.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The owner, Michele, checked us in and was around and about throughout our stay.

The room was clean and comfortable.

If we stay in Middlebury again, this will be our first choice!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was a great place to stay. We stayed here on our second night of an Inn to Inn bike tour. The staff was so friendly, and the food (dinner and breakfast) was outstanding! We would love to stay again and explore Middlebury some more!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a beautiful inn, with a charming host and hostess. The restaurant is lovely and I enjoyed a delicious homemade ravioli dinner. My only complaint was the bedding: super comfy mattress, but icky linens. You may not be as picky as I am: the linens did not appear to be 100% cotton. I was really hot all night, despite the AC, when I looked at the label the next morning, it said something about a blend and a wrinkle free coating. Give me wrinkles and 100% cotton any day. But that's just me!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen19027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The Inn is just a beautiful home and decorated in period furniture. We stayed in the Swift room (the one in the photo), very quite, and very comfortable.
Two nice robes are hanging in the closet, we thought that was a very nice touch.
Breakfast was just great. I had the omelet and the French toast, just delicious.
Gardens are just grand, on our next trip to Middlebury, I know we would stay again.
The inn is walking distance to town, and other restaurants.

Room Tip: You will definitely want to stay in the Swift room. You even get a balcony to sip wine, or drink you...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very very good. Reusing towels is great idea, I know, we do that at home.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieL143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited for one night and glad we did on our way to Saratoga after dropping our son at camp in NH. Beautiful grounds to relax and enjoy a drink before dining in their restaurant Jessica's which was really delicious. Well seasoned, farm to table and very reasonably priced especially given the quality. Room was very well appointed with comfy robe to relax in. Really enjoyable to stroll to Middlebury campus and visit town if you're inclined. Would definitely love to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debralee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

When I called to book our rooms at the Swift House Inn, Jacqueline chatted with me about what we planned to do in the area. The next week a nice package of maps and brochures came unsolicited in the mail! After a hectic family wedding in Burlington, the inn was a welcome retreat and I wish we had planned to stay more than two nights.

We also prefer inns to hotels and Swift House exceeded all our expectations. The whole property made you think that we were guests in someone's grand old home. The rooms (Swift & Clark in the main house) were nicely decorated and extremely clean with fresh flowers, direct TV and chocolates next to the bed. The common area with Keurig coffee maker and homemade cookies always available was a nice touch. We sat on the screened porch in the evening and enjoyed the lovely garden.

Breakfast every morning is cooked to order. Cereal, yogurt, bagels and juices are available for self-serve while you wait for the hot breakfast to come. Michelle Brown the owner/innkeeper makes the rounds at breakfast to answer questions and see that her guests are happy!

Our only complaint was that Jessica's in house restaurant was not open on Monday & Tuesday, but Michelle made very nice reservations for us in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBeatriceCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing