We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable anniversary”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“enjoyable anniversary”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

we really liked this place - nice location, beautiful lawn, large clean room with whirlpool and short walk to our favorite restaurant "fire and ice" - we also had a nice breakfast before we headed out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
150
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here for a friend's wedding a few weeks ago and were very pleased. The staff could not have been nicer, the room had a period charm, and it's right in the middle of things.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lousiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I had no complaints about this inn. The young girl that welcomed us was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The owners greeted us every morning while we ate a delicious breakfast. The inn is a great location and allowed us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The rooms were comfortable(carpeting a little dated, but no big deal) and the public spaces welcoming. My teenage daughter and I sat on the screened-in porch drinking tea(provided by the inn) every afternoon. A really wonderful experience and great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alostyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

First of all this is a hotel spread over multiple buildings, not a B&B. We stayed there twice during a recent vacation and got two different rooms.

The first room had the worst bed ever. The mattress sagged severely and the frame squeaked loudly. I woke up with a sore back. The bed was clearly past its serviceable life and should have been replaced. It was easy to see where they went short on building maintenance. Road noise and light leaked in at night making it hard to sleep. The A/C did not work well and was noisy.

The second room was better. It had the second worst bed ever. The mattress was better but the springs/frame made more noise. Very disappointing. The nightlight didn't work and the bathroom heater made bad smells when used. Again, more maintenance that wasn't done. The A/C worked but was very noisy. Lots of light leaking in but we were in the back of the building so there was less noise.

I could not recommend this to anybody. We have stayed at many better places in the same price range. It is an all-around poor value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYJim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner/Innkeeper at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
We fell short on this visit! The Swift House Inn is a 20 room Country Inn with three buildings on almost 4 acres in town. This guest stayed in the Gate House, this building is on the road the other 2 are not. After staying one night we stored their car as they bicycled for 4 days and returned for another night stay. Their first room has the most road noise exposure but is very popular as it is a Turret and the least expensive room. The mattresses are almost new but we found a bed slat broken in half on the first bed, making it sag. This building has window A/C units and the other buildings have central A/C with individual room controls. We have since replaced the A/C unit in the first room and the bath heater and bed in the second checked out OK. The light bulb was replaced. It's not good when guests find maintenance issues but we appreciate them telling us so we can fix them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

While passing thru Vermont, we stayed one night in the Battell Room in the Main House. The room itself was nice, very comfortable bed, DirectTV service, bathrobes, and quiet. A great value for the price. The only problem was the tiny bathroom. Very old and out of date plumbing fixtures, with a claw tub forced into an ill fitting tub surround that leaked water on the floor from somewhere. Could not avoid the attacking, clingy shower curtain. The shower head was only high enough for a kid. For anyone else, it was a very annoying challenge to rinse off. The whole thing should be replaced with a standard, one-piece shower stall, along with a sink with a single, mixing faucet. Never use a tub anyway. The grounds and inn are beautiful and well maintained. Hot breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the screened porch overlooking the grounds. They had an odd rule that you could not bring any alcohol into your room. Just pick a different room than the Battell.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner/Innkeeper at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
As owners we have to agree with this evaluation of the Battell Room Bath. It is small and has a shower in a claw foot tub, which is unsatisfactory. We believe that antiquity stops at the bathroom door! The bath is an original and was scheduled to be replaced this past year however will definitely be done this winter. The Battell Room is our smallest in the Main House and has the Inns smallest bath and is thus reflected in the rate. We have owned the Swift house Inn for five years and have been continuously trying to improve the Inn. We currently have seven baths with 2 person jet tubs and another 5 with single jet tubs. We have eliminated 2 claw foot tubs used to shower and have 2 more to go, one being this room. We have no rule nor do we tell our guests that they cannot either bring their own alcoholic beverages to their room. We do have a state law which prohibits bringing their own alcoholic beverages into our licensed areas where we sell the beverages, the dinning room, common room, porch and wine bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown,NJ
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Just returned from my second stay at the Swift House Inn. I had a wonderful comfortable room with a very nice deck. I didn't eat at the Inn last time, but had two fabulous meals this time. The real revelation though, was the wine list. Very well thought out and extremely good value. I can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bropaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Roaring fire in the main house, busy restaurant, stocked bar, beautiful/comfortable room, hospitable innkeepers. My one-night stay at the Swift House was just what the doctored ordered. I had a fantastic dinner at the restaurant, slept well in my perfectly comfortable room and had a filling breakfast the next morning. Certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing