We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay, but a little outdated”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We arrived in Middlebury about an hour before the official Check-In time began. The Inn was easy to find and the staff was nice and called the housekeeper right away to see if our room was ready, which was not the case. So they told us to be back in an hour and gave us advice on where to grab a bite to eat.

We were back after two hours and they showed us our room, which was the Swift Room. It was quite spacious, with a blue wallpaper of which I thought it would disturb me at first, which was absolutely not the case. The first thing we noticed was the noise from the street. Later we noticed that the windows were not able to be fully closed, so there was always a little noise. The bed was comfortable, but the posters were loose, we tried to fix it but it did not work. The bathroom was spacious too and it had a heating, which was nice, but here comes the big problem: from the bathroom you could go out to a little terrace which overlooked the grounds, and there was a double door to go out which could not be fully locked. There was always a gap between the doors which means it was always kind of chilly in the bathroom. Furthermore there were no curtains or jalousies in front of the windows in the bathroom, okay, there was not much around but I would have preferred a little more privacy.

There was a sitting area in the room too and a fireplace (not working), a TV was there and WIFI was available.

We went for dinner to a Cafe in the town because we found the in house restaurant to be a little expensive.

The next morning when we arrived to breakfast, we saw how many rooms there were, because of so many guests. They had like a buffet with some cereal and fruit salad and also English Muffins and toast. It was all a little bit like in a hotel, which I did not like.

For breakfast a girl came and took our ordered, we decided to have pancakes, but the portion was very small (2 or 3 really small pancakes). The quality of the food and the variety of choices could definitely have been better. What I absolutely didn't like at breakfast was, that the manager came to every table and asked if everything was okay except for ours.

For the price I expected more from this hotel, especially regarding the state of the room and the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winodino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

The Swift House Inn is a Vermont Country Inn and we appreciate feedback! First I will apologize that during breakfast we missed the opportunity to speak with this guest. The Innkeeper/Owner tries to speak to every guest each morning to welcome them, answer questions and just get to meet them. On full house days it is sometimes difficult to meet everyone but certainly not meant to slight anyone; again if we miss you we are sorry! The doors to the private second floor deck need to be modified. There are 2 very large interesting pocket doors then 2 french storm doors. We have a plan to replace the storm doors which would seal the draft. In the winter we completely seal the doors to prevent drafts. It will get done. New blinds will be installed in two weeks. Our breakfast service consists of a cold buffet and hot entrees, which includes: Fresh cut fruit, 3 flavors of yogurt, 2 bread types , English muffins, croissants, Inn made granola, 3 cereals, oatmeal, 3 types of milk. The wait staff will poor coffee , tea, hot chocolate and choice of 4 juices . The waitstaff will take an order for buttermilk pancakes, waffles, french toast, the daily egg dish special, eggs to order and bacon or sausage, any combination and any quantity. We have found that this type service pretty much covers any choices, dietary restrictions, and size of appetite. We try to keep it seasonal and local, always with great Vermont Maple Syrup! We apologize and missed the mark on this visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

I really can't say enough about how enjoyable our visit to the Swift House was. From the excellent customer service received from Susie and Colleen when our reservation needed to be changed last minute, to the warm and professional welcome provided by Aysa, to the delicious Sidecars mixed by Tom (and if you like after-dinner coffee drinks, ask him for a "Naked Italian," our custom concoction!), to the perfect dinner service from Myra -- and outstanding food courtesy of the Inn's chef, who we didn't get to thank personally -- to the breakfast-time chats with Dan and Michelle... this is a place we'll not forgot and will certainly plan to stay at again if we're in the area. The Alexander Twilight room in the Gate House was just right for us, and although close to the road, we found absolutely nothing out of the ordinary or disruptive in terms of noise. Kudos as well to our housekeeper (who we also did not meet in person, unfortunately), who clearly takes pride in making everything special for Swift House guests. The grounds, the common areas of the main house, the setting itself -- we loved this place. Thanks to everyone for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My family and I stayed here for one night in August on a college scouting trip to Middlebury College. We had two adjacent rooms upstairs, #22 The Governor's Room with a king and the Stewart room (with two queens) next door. Gov. Room was $166 and Stewart Room $143. The weather was hot and muggy but the air conditioning units cooled each room down nicely as long as we kept the doors to the hallway closed. Each room was extremely comfortable and we wished that we could have stayed longer. The beds were great....easy to sleep in. The staff is friendly and welcoming. There are lots of different areas on the main floor to sit and relax. The breakfast was wonderful. ( We were there on a Monday night, and didn't get to enjoy dinner at the Swift House but discovered the Storm Cafe in town nearby. It was a wonderful spot, with a creative chef and a kitchen that cranked out innovative cuisine at fair prices.) Parking was free in a small lot just across the road leading up the hill to the Inn. One of the real charms of the Swift House is that, because it sits at the far end of a huge piece of property, the Inn is removed quite a bit from the noise of the street below and is therefore blissfully quiet at night. There is also a fully stocked bar just off the main lobby. We were able to take a couple of drinks outside and sit in some wonderfully comfortable chairs on the lawn under the stars. Very calming. I'd stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Third stay at Swift House Inn, and all visits have been great. We stayed in the Battell Room, a relatively small room in the main house, but clean and comfortable. The bed was a little soft for my taste. Bathroom basic and small, again very clean.
Breakfast is included in a night's stay, with cereal and toast, fresh fruit on a buffet with coffee and tea, then a hot breakfast available for order from the waitress. My husband had the omelette, and I had pancakes with strawberries and maple syrup (real maple, of course). The owners circulated at breakfast to chat and answer questions, or just say hello and leave the guests to their coffee.
Dan and Michelle, the owners, also have a wealth of information on local attractions, and can recommend hikes, bike rides, and various activities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I have travelled all over the world and stayed in everything from dumps to 5-star hotels, so I’ve seen it all. This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable places I’ve ever stayed. From the moment we arrived we were literally treated like family. The staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and ensure our stay was enjoyable. The owners, Dan and Michele, are awesome and really go the extra mile to ensure guests enjoy their stay. The accommodations were excellent (I had one of my best night’s sleep ever), and the food in the restaurant was equally good. I look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stone_Lake_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Upon check-in at this inn, we were welcomed with open arms. The girl at the desk brought us right to our room, even though it was in another building about half a block away. She even offered to help us bring our luggage in. The rooms that were not being used were kept open as the only AC was from window units. This kept the room from being stuffy when we arrived. The innkeepers kept jars of cookies in each of their buildings' common areas, which are accessible to anyone staying in the inn. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Though choices were a bit limited, they did their best to give you what you wanted. The bed was nice and soft and the pillows were great. The only issue we had with the room was a stained glass window that had no curtains and let the sun in on us in the morning. We ended up stuffing unused pillows over it to block the sun on the second night.

There was free wifi in the main building, which is kept open all night for any of the guests to access.

This was one of the best hotel/inn experiences I have ever had. We will definitely be going back there and recommending it to our friends and family. While the inn also had a full restaurant, we did not eat there as we had other plans for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunawayJimPVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

If you find yourself in Middlebury, this is the place to stay. Each room is decorated differently but tastefully. This was once the Governor's house and the history of the building is interesting. The rooms are large and the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast includes both cold choices set up as a buffet and a choice of 3 hot entrees. The grounds are beautiful and conducive to relaxation. Although unable to dine in the restaurant, I understand that there is a new chef and according to other guests at the inn, the crab cakes are delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traverler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
230 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
191 reviews
15.7 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: £108 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing