We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Waybury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waybury Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband took me for a surprise birthday present to this lovely Inn, we had never been to an "Inn" before so neither of us knew what to expect, but all we both could say was "Wow"! at every turn, the owner was so gracious and welcomed us with warm cookies and showed us around this beautiful property, then we went to our room where my husband had ordered flowers and chocolate covered strawberries with a bottle of champagne! The room was very clean and all the amenities were first class, as we discovered the rest of the place was too! The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly, we can't wait to come back! We had dinner both nights, one in the comforting Pub and the other in a spectacular dining room called the "Pine Room", both meals were exceptional as was breakfast both mornings, they serve their pancakes with syrup from thier own trees which were being "tapped" at the time we were there. Great place - go there - the rates this time of year are a steal

Room Tip: We peaked into all the rooms that were vacant and all the rooms are so individual, I can't pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank facebookrag s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

A birthday stay at the historic Waybury Inn in the Robert Frost Room with my fiancé was perfect respite from busy work-a-day life. The room was impeccably appointed with antiques, tasteful wall décor and a delightful bed. The secret box's contents were endearing and heart warming to an extreme. Food at the pub and at breakfast was delicious and the marscapone cheesecake with maple drizzle birthday cake (gratis) was a tasteful, tasty finish to a delightful stay. Many thanks to the staff, especially Tracey, for the hospitality. I would recommend a visit to this lovely establishment.

Room Tip: Robert Frost Room is one of the honeymoon suites... rightly so for romance and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We did not stay at the Waybury Inn but attended their Sunday brunch. Since we arrived early, we had plenty of time to walk around and enjoy the historic setting. Everything appeared clean and the staff was very helpful. The brunch was fantastic - stuffed blueberry French Toast, eggs, quiche, potatoes, bacon, fruit, cheese, desserts. The wait staff was professional but friendly. In general, an upscale county inn. However, it is a bit pricey so don't come here looking for a bargain. Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Waybury on Christmas Eve, 2012 as part of a holiday visit with our daughter who lives in Burlington. We were very happy with the experience. The inn has all kinds of historic charm and is located right on the western boundary of the Green Mountain National Forest. You can hear the rush of a mountain stream from the parking lot and a walk of a few yards brings you to a bridge crossing it. A very nice addition to the ambience. Due to the Inn's location there are all sorts of outdoor things to do close by.

We had the smallest room in the Inn but it was nicely appointed and spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We had dinner in the Pub and it was excellent. The bartender was extremely pleasant and accommodating as were the rest of the staff. I am one of those people who enjoy bending an elbow with the locals wherever I travel so I was particularly pleased that the bar was populated by several amiable local characters. Breakfast for guests is included in the price of the room and offers several excellent choices.

In my opinion, this is a first class operation in every way. We'll be back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimn142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our family spent New Years at the Waybury after discovering the Inn via the Internet. We were nervous making the long haul with two young children, site unseen, but were overjoyed by every aspect of our stay. The food, service, ambiance and proximity to Snowbowl made this Inn a hit with our entire family. As many New England inns do not welcome young children, we were surprised that our children were not only welcomed, but warmly received by Waybury's entire staff. If you are in search of an Inn offering comfort, a "sense of place" and small town hospitality all wrapped in a charmingly attractive package (so tastefully decorated, especially for Christmas) treat yourself to a visit. We'll be back! Thanks to all who made our visit so special!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyesWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We live in the area and eat at the Waybury Inn several times a year. We were a bit surprised that our recent Thanksgiving visit to their buffet was not all that we expected. We were seated in the pub at the back of the Inn and had to cope with people crowding the bar and knocking into our table. The owner at one point came over after we were seated and demanded the name on our reservation - no greeting or excusing herself. We were offered a creamy potato leek soup to begin, which the waitress served, and which was tasty and hot. We then walked to the buffet from the pub, about to 75 feet including up and down a couple of steps. The side dishes at the buffet were numerous and nice in variety, but were lukewarm by the time we got back to our table, except for the deep-fried salmon which was fresh, hot and tasty. Other side dishes included mashed potatoes, baked squash with sausage or apples, cabbage slaw, kale and Brussels sprouts slaw (interesting combination), cranberry sauce, gravy and more. Meat (turkey or roast beef) was served at a separate table; the white meat turkey came from a breast rather than a whole turkey and was so brined that it quivered as it landed on my plate. Whatever the preparation was, it removed all texture from the meat and made it the consistency of blubber. Our table setting included a bread plate and butter knife, but we never found or were offered either. Dessert choices included apple pie, pecan pie, chocolate cake or pumpkin pie, all with whipped cream and a garnish and were served by the waitress. Drinks like coffee or tea were included. Sodas and hot cider were extra. The meal cost $35/person. Note that the premises were nicely decorated. Our guest from China got a kick out of the huge stuffed moose head on the wall over our table.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed one night in November on our New England honeymoon. It was an unplanned visit since we were driving and chose the Waybury since there was snow forecast that night and we wanted a B&B that had dining on site. The bar was nice with local beers on tap. We ate in the dining room and were pleased with the food and service. The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean. Next morning's breakfast was pancakes and maple syrup - very tasty. The inn was a traditional country inn with recently remodeled upgrades. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend it and go again. Really glad we found this quaint inn.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank pottsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlebury hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
232 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
639 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waybury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waybury Inn

Address: 457 E Main St, Middlebury, VT 05753-8656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: £75 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waybury Inn is known not only for its role on the Bob Newhart Show, but also for its extraordinary dining options and beautiful accommodations. The Waybury Inn's thirteen guest rooms are decorated with a little whimsy and provide all of the comforts expected in today’s lodging. It is true that we are over 200 years old, but we have spent the last ten years renovating and decorating to offer the best blends of historic charm and comfortable surroundings. Dog-friendly accommodations, deep claw-foot bathtubs, free wireless internet, a dedicated guest PC, and a full service bar are just some of the amenities we offer. All of our guests also enjoy a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waybury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing