We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vermont Charm”
Review of Waybury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waybury Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Waybury Inn on business trip because of the discounted room rate for the time of year. We stayed in the Densmore Room which was described as "Cozy". Room was very small but very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was the same. We had dinner at the attached Pub and the staff and food were the best. Every staff member helped each other and every need was taken care without any delay at all. Room had free wifi, but the signal was very weak. The outside area surrounding the Inn was very clean and well taken care of for the time of year, we only wish the weather had been nicer so we could have enjoyed the outside dinning area and fire pit. The inside of the Inn was completely Vermont. Overall the Waybury Inn is well worth staying at for business or pleasure. Rates are a little on the high side during the summer season, but if your looking for a small New England Style Inn. You will need to give them a look.

Room Tip: Make sure to asked about the room size...cozy means small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I first stayed at the Waybury Inn six years ago and on my most recent visit, I found it to be just as comfortable and welcoming as before. The Inn offers 13 different, charming rooms, free wifi, but rooms do not have television. My room (The New England Room) was described as cozy, and as a solo guest, it was fine. A complimentary, full cooked-to-order breakfast is included in the room rate (but not the gratuity, which I found awkward); servings are generous and delicious and I was told that the maple syrup is from the Inn’s own trees.

Apart from the front desk, I found staff to be friendly, informative, and helpful, especially in the dining pub area where I enjoyed a snack on the covered porch overlooking a lovely garden and a light dinner later in the evening. The Inn’s location served me well as I traveled in and around Middlebury, Ripton, Granville, and even Burlington (an easy 1 hour drive away).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janelmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Came here as part of a bicycle tour. I must say that the owner and staff were incredibly accommodating to our group. The innkeeper gave us a history about the place. The staff had fresh baked cookies out for us everyday at 3. The rooms were fine. A bit kitsch. Sound proofing, hot water availability, modern amenities what one should expect for an historic building. Food okay- we had 2 breakfasts (quite good) and 2 dinners (one good, one below average). Drinks very expensive. Upon check out, total for 2 gin and tonics, 2 glasses of table wine, 1 scotch was a ridiculous $79.
Come here understanding what to expect and it will be a pleasant stay. Area is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Drove 3 and a half hours plus to have a nice getaway for the fall...get there at 2 to see if perhaps the room was ready and was barked at by the what I found out to be, the OWNER, who didn't say hello, welcome but jilted out "Check in is at three" and walked away. We were pretty deflated and disappointed but tried to find our upper lip again and walked back to our car to drive around for an hour until Your Highness would allow us to come get our key.
When we came back an hour later, another women was there and was a little more scripted in her welcome but it certainly wasn't sincere...(small places like this are what attract us, with the caring, hi how are you deal, ya know????)....so we get into our room which was small but fine....Bottom line, the Female Owner was around a lot but seemed to more more of a negative nuisance than anything, and I can vouch for this first hand. The dining room pub area for dinner was good...still sensed a tension with the owner lurking...breakfast was fine...owner trying to be nice to help the waitress but you could tell the waitress wished she would just disappear...and her fake how are you after telling us to come back in an hour the day before after we were COMING TO HER INN, was discouraging to recover from...whatever.
We used two towels excessively and put them on the rim of the tub as the sign said "We would love to wash YOUR TOWELS and if you NEED US TO, please drop them in the tub..." well the towels were kind of wet so we draped them over the side...duh...Wouldn't you know they actually took the wet, dirty towels and folded them and put them back on the towel rack, one of them was on the floor, I left in there because it was wet...used...they folded them and put them back on the rack...I DON"T GET IT. They also did NOT replenish the shampoo and soap that we used the first night...tacky...had to ask for more...WHAT???? VERY COLD overall...I really think the owners need to figure out why they are in this business???? They are terrible at it. The decor was sweet...in was cute but come on....my husband and I go to Inns and B and B's all over the country and this was really embarrassing. Customer Service on the OWNER's side needs work, not the staff..you could tell they were discouraged.

Room Tip: Rooms are tiny....watch you put your towels used IN THE TUB...bring your own shampoo and soap...be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foodbuzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

THe Inn is ok, staff not very friendly. Would be nice to have tea and coffee available thru out the day. The room is ok, rug is old. Noisy as we were in room 1 and you heard everybody coming and going, especially a woman who dragged her suitcase down 14 steps at 6:45am. The guests above our room walking and flushing the toilet. The resturants food was very good but the service was minimal. No mention of the specials. Had to ask for rolls. I felt like I was putting the waitress out. Breakfast food was terrible. Potatoes tasted like they had been prepared in old oil. You get a complimentary breakfast but gratituty was not included. For the price you pay to stay, they should be able to afford paying their staff well.Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Waybury Inn has an incredible history and the building has been kept up very well. We especially enjoyed the Pub for dinner as it's a friendly place with nice ambience. We've stayed at over 40 B & Bs over the years and had high expectations for this Inn, mostly because of the advertising and price. Most of the Inns we've stayed in before have made us feel very special and welcomed. Unfortunately, we didn't quite get that same sense from the Waybury Inn. There are some great things about it (history, decor and uniqueness of the building itself, nice staff in the Pub, etc.), but there are also areas we feel they could improve on. We loved the chocolate chip cookies at the counter, but how about an area for complimentary coffee/tea/cider? Normally we've been offered something in the afternoon/evening - just a simple gesture to let guests know they're 'family' for the night. It also seemed awkward to be warned that gratuities aren't included in the complimentary breakfast. I've never before stayed at a B & B where a tip was expected, mentioned, or even allowed. I realize this is an "Inn," so perhaps that's the difference, but it feels like a B & B in most ways. I'd rather have a tip included in the overall price and just not know about it. Both of us also commented immediately about how uncomfortable the bed was. It was quite hard, and we actually prefer a firm mattress. We'd suggest purchasing mattresses more appropriate for this type of accommodation, with a pillow-top and quality linens. A comforter/duvet would also be more in line with an "Inn" or B & B. We've stayed at about 50 hotels so far on this vacation alone (long cross-country trip) and even chain motels, such as Best Western, now have very luxurious beddings. Overall, we're glad we stayed at the Waybury Inn for the experience and it was also convenient for our route, but most likely would not stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front get a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MochaChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were here for a wedding and it was also our first time in Vermont. We had such a good experience here, the staff is friendly and extremely helpful! They helped plan our weekend with local attractions and really knew what kind of activities we were looking to do. The Inn is located just a short ride away from town and is such a charming place! The food was fresh and delicious! I definitely recommend staying here for a few days and enjoying Middlebury!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
231 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
630 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
30 reviews
20.5 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waybury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waybury Inn

Address: 457 E Main St, Middlebury, VT 05753-8656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: £75 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waybury Inn is known not only for its role on the Bob Newhart Show, but also for its extraordinary dining options and beautiful accommodations. The Waybury Inn's thirteen guest rooms are decorated with a little whimsy and provide all of the comforts expected in today’s lodging. It is true that we are over 200 years old, but we have spent the last ten years renovating and decorating to offer the best blends of historic charm and comfortable surroundings. Dog-friendly accommodations, deep claw-foot bathtubs, free wireless internet, a dedicated guest PC, and a full service bar are just some of the amenities we offer. All of our guests also enjoy a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waybury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing