We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely inn in the heart of Middlebury”
Review of Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Green
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Early in June, we were treated to a delightful stay at the Inn on the Green in Middlebury. Everything about this inn is charming. Each room, named after local Vermont town, shows its own character, and offers a very comfortable night in the quaintest surroundings. Even though the inn is located at the center of the town, it is a quiet haven. Our breakfast, which was delivered to our room, was copious and delicious. The innkeepers, Bruce and Brenda, are the most gracious hosts and are very attentive to their guests. The Inn on the Green represents the quintessential New England historic village inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murielalmquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We loved this place. Great welcome from Jen the inn sitter for the owners who are on a summer vacation. Got a tour of the property and explanation of all the amenities. Especially loved the free snacks and coffee tea service in the lobby. Great selection of magazines and newspapers, especially my beloved Wall Street Journal which were available for us to read, plus comfy wing chairs in the front room to relax in. Our room had a handmade quilt, wonderful (I MEAN WONDERFUL) black out curtains which I have never seen in a bed and breakfast before. This allowed us to comfortably sleep in till 9 AM when we were given a breakfast in bed on a charming tray with all glass containers of Fruit, wonderful pastries, coffee with real vermont cream, homemade jam, local honey, etc.... We could have also ordered cerel or yogurt, but this was more than enough for us. We were stuffed!! Some may call this a continental breakfast, but the only thing lacking was a hot entree, but who needs that when you have huge home made croissants!! Make sure to order the cinnamin twists, delightfully chewy and sweet. The location was right in the center of town, but we didin't hear a bit of traffic noise, nor hallway noise either. We were on the first floor and found that very convenient for going in and out in a snap. We only stayed a day, but wish we had booked a longer stay, but were in a hurry to get back home after being at my mother's funeral. This was a real treat for us. My only suggestion would be to put the TV higher up so is easier to see from the bed, but that is so minor since we only watched the 6 oclock news. By the way, if you are in town, make sure to make a reservation for the Fire and Ice restaurant a short walk away. This place had an amazing salad bar and wonderful decor. They had hundreds of historic curios covering every square inch of the wall space and an entire speedboat in the middle of the center room!! Middlebury should be on everyone's plans for a visit to Vermont. I can only imagine how beautiful it would be in the winter and Fall as well!! Thanks to Jen and staff for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: We loved our first floor room. Was very quiet and convenient. Great air conditioning too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were only able to stay one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfast was delicious and it was nice having it delivered to our room. The room was very clean and well-kept, and we appreciated the Aveda amenities. We enjoyed being able to walk to town and to the college.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cozy but right in town! The inn is situated on a quiet road one block above the main street, so you can walk anywhere, and there is a lot to see. We arrived at the inn and were kindly offered a suite that had become available and was more suited for the 4 of us. The experience was quiet and lovely, with breakfast brought at the time you specified. The baked goods are from the Otter Bakery which you will most likely visit while touring the town!!! We would definitely stay there again.
Thanks Jen and staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My two daughters and I stopped in Middlebury to tour the college. Our room was delightful. The beds were super comfy, and the room was quiet and clean. In the morning, our breakfast was delivered to our room, which actually turned out to be our downfall. We had planned to get up, eat breakfast, and get on the road to go to the next college, but the pastries and coffee from the local bakery were so delicious and our room was so cozy, we ended up making a leisurely morning out of it. We missed our subsequent college tour, but didn't really care! This was such a nice break on our hectic scramble around New England.

Although we didn't meet the innkeepers because they were out of town, the other staff members were wonderful. The people in Vermont, in general, are incredibly nice and hospitable. I would stay here again, but I would make sure it's for at least two days!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the Lincoln bedroom in the Inn on the Green. Its a great location where you can walk into town. They bring breakfast to your room which is lovely. They provide evening snacks and coffee and tea service and do a turndown service which is just so nice. Our daughter visited Middlebury College and we also got to tour town a bit. It was lovely. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: The Lincoln Room was fun. All the original doors make up the ceiling of the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelegreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a great stay here during our east coast college tour trip. We scheduled it so we would have one down day in Middlebury. Good choice. The B&B is very nice. Great location, you can walk right to town and take in the views of the waterfall from above and at the foot bridge. I went on a lovely run through town, up through the campus and then back to the fantastic co-op that carries very good food choices. We stocked up on cheese, wine, fruit and crackers for the rest of our journey.

The owners of the B& B are there to help you with anything and to ensure you have a great stay. Although breakfast is light since they don't have a full kitchen. It was perfect for my daughter and I. My husband and son, who are big eaters, ended up supplementing with other food. Not everyone will need to do this. Fruit, pastries, yogurt, granola, juice and coffee is just fine.

If we come back to Middlebury, we will certainly stay at this charming B&B!

Room Tip: It can be a bit loud in the front if there is something going on at the community center. Best to br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momskiseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
230 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
286 reviews
2.0 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
30 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Green

Address: 71 S Pleasant St, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: £114 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Bruce and Brenda Grove welcome you to experience unmatched personal service and comfort at the Inn on the Green.The Inn on the Green offers traditional Vermont ambience, modern amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, and luxuries like a custom Continental "breakfast-in-bed" each morning .... just steps away from Middlebury's lively shops and restaurants and 3 blocks from Middlebury College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing