We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Green
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We spent two nights in the carriage house, the Weybridge room, and it was lovely. I cannot comment much on the service question because all we needed was breakfast delivered and it was prompt and just as requested. It is nicely situated on a hill and if you struggle with stairs this might not be the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iog71, Owner at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you so much for contributing a review following your recent stay at The Inn on the Green. We appreciate it very much! I want to mention that access to the Orwell and Ripton rooms on the main floor of the Carriage House does not involve any stairs at all; in fact, these two rooms are fully wheelchair-accessible and are a great choice for any guest who prefers not to negotiate stairs.

I'm very glad you confirmed that the service you received was the service that you needed! We try hard to understand each guest's service requirements and to deliver exactly the personal service that matches those needs.

Thanks again for writing a review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    21
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
61
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

This place is special.
It has the character and feel of an English country hotel, but is much better run than those we have stayed in.
It does not have a restaurant but a breakfast of quality baked goods, coffee or speciality teas is delivered to your room each morning at the time of your choice.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their team, they make every effort to make you feel confortable and they deliver oustanding service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junipeross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

This inn has no cancellation or adjustment policy and the staff are very rude. I made a reservation and called literally less than half an hour later to make an adjustment and I was told I would be charged the full amount for the room regardless unless it was rented to another customer for the night I made the booking. I was treated in an appalling way over the phone. Your time would be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Thank you for your feedback. At The Inn on the Green, we try very hard to offer courteous, appropriate personal service to our guests and, in fact, to anyone who contacts us for any reason. Rude treatment of a prospective guest is completely outside the scope of our commitment and is never acceptable under any circumstances. We are sorry you feel that your experience did not meet that standard.

We do have a specific, consistent cancellation policy that is posted to our website, displayed when guests book online, described when guests phone to book, and re-stated in both the confirmation email sent to all guests and again in the reminder email sent 10 days prior to checkin. In addition, every cancellation that would incur a significant penalty according to our cancellation policy is carefully considered to see if a satisfactory solution can be found. In checking our recent records, we have not charged a penalty greater than $10 (which covers only our processing costs including credit card processing fees) since March 2010, which means that we have worked out another solution for all guests wishing to cancel in the last four months.

We will verify that all members of our staff are up to date on all of our policies to ensure that the level of service we commit to is consistently applied to all interactions. Thank you for prompting us to re-verify that our treatment of guests is always what it should be! We hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate our unwavering commitment to the comfort of our guests by booking and staying with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed here with my daughter when we visited Middlebury College. I like everything about this place: the pretty building, clean and nicely furnished rooms, helpful staff, and the great location. The beds were really comfortable and breakfast was great. I would love to come back to Middlebury and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

My daughter and I stayed here while checking out Middlebury College and felt right at home. The owner, Bruce, brought us tea and cookies when we checked in, which was soooo appreciated after the long drive and tour of the school. We stayed in the Lincoln bedroom which was great for us since it had both a queen and twin bed. Plus it has an interesting ceiling feature made from the original doors from the house (very cool!). The room was bright and airy and very comfortable. Breakfast was a basket of fresh muffins and croissants from the local bakery (really good!), an apple, banana and tea/coffee. The lnn sits right off the main town square and is a nice little walk from shops and restaurants. Don't miss the Edgewater Gallery and the view of the waterfall in town. Would definitely stay here again if we make it back to Vermont.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

I just have to post a review for Inn on the Green. I could not have picked a better place to stay in Middlebury. It's the right size, the room was well set-up and so comfortable, the bathroom amenities were great (you won't feel penny pinched here), and you could take one of their bikes out for a ride. I picked the Inn based on a review from a business traveler and crossed my fingers that someone traveling for leisure would feel completely at home and relaxed. Throughout my stay--from the minute I showed up at the door to the minute I left--they took care of me in many small ways. How could they have known that I had come a long way on very little sleep, having missed my connection the previous day and having gotten stranded elsewhere before I finally arrived in Vermont? Thank you, Bruce and Brenda, I was fully recuperated after just one night at the Inn on the Green. All the little things do add up. The attention to comfort and the sincere, warm service I received from beginning to end made all the difference during my stay. I can't wait to come back and visit you again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanghaispice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Host and hostess were friendly and unfussy. Comfortable and nicely decorated. Amazing location. What else can you ask for.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gusfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
11.3 mi away
Strong House Inn
Strong House Inn
#1 of 3 in Vergennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Green

Property: Inn on the Green
Address: 71 S Pleasant St, Middlebury, VT 05753-1478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Bruce and Brenda Grove welcome you to experience unmatched personal service and comfort at the Inn on the Green.The Inn on the Green offers traditional Vermont ambience, modern amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, and luxuries like a custom Continental "breakfast-in-bed" each morning .... just steps away from Middlebury's lively shops and restaurants and 3 blocks from Middlebury College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing