We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Middlebury Treasure”
Review of Storm Cafe

Storm Cafe
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Middlebury Treasure”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stumbled upon Storm Cafe by accident when we were wondering the streets of Middlebury. This quaint Vermont town has a lot to offer and Storm Cafe is a gem. My husband and I had salads, salmon burger and black bean burger. The black bean burger was outstanding and a lot of food for lunch. We were happy to sit with a view of the river. Storm Cafe was a perfect ending to a very relaxing day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAdventureAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    66
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was a dark & Stormy night, but the food was excellent”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were advised not to let the weather deter us from the wonderful treat in store for us at this very popular restaurant. The Storm Cafe on Otter Creek is a lovely romantic setting inside or on the deck. Lily, our server was superb even on such a busy night. My husband had the duck and I had the flank steak. Of course we shared plates! My only regret was that we were in town for that one night. Everything was prepared to perfection!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyBeatriceCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A must in middlebury”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Look no farther and I never do when traveling thru this great town...... This time I had their BLT.....no question the best BLT I have ever eaten..... Wash it down with one of the local craft brews and one is close to heaven.... I have never been disappointed here and the setting, service, and ambiance is great..... Just eat here and for lunch get their early so you can enjoy the outside deck....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomtravelernewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best food in Middlebury”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

eat on the terrace overlooking otter creek. Cannot be beat. The duck is amazing but all the food is excellent. Make a res as it gets busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal of out trip to Vermont!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had the fish special, Hake, served in a sake hoisin sauce with carrot purée and fresh vegetables. Started with shared appetizers including hummus, veg, and grilled flat breads. Topped it all with a nice bottle of NZ Sauvignon blanc. Ambience was great --- sat in the covered deck and watched the rain come down around us. Truly a memorable evening, great service, and great location. We would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debandken60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Storm Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Storm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing