We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza at American Flatbread”
Review of American Flatbread

American Flatbread
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the historic Marble Works district, our front yard features a view of the Otter Creek falls while our back court yard offers dining by the fire circle. An old marble processing plant, our interior has marble walls and high ceilings. We have an open kitchen and the main attraction is our primitive wood-fired oven where we bake your flatbread before your very eyes! Weekly chef's specials highlight the seasonal bounty of our local farmers. Our new bar features 12 taps, fine wines, choice whiskeys and classic cocktails.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Pizza at American Flatbread”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We've been to several of the "Flatbread Pizza" chains around New England, and this seemed to be almost a carbon copy of those restaurants. It is a similar layout, with the wood-fired oven, the decor, and the menu. It is also similar in quality, which is very good. We love this type of setting for pizza and we were thrilled to find this gem in the quaint town of Middlebury, VT. Will definitely go again whenever we're in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gymrat375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Watch your pizza made with local/organic ingredients be cooked to a perfect crispiness in a brick oven. Delicious local beers on tap as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klariprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun and funky”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We try to get here every time we are in VT. The food is excellent and well priced, the servers are kind and the ginger beer is the best ever!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh, local, quality pizza”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have gone to American Flatbread many times and have always been pleased. Their variety of local toppings and special additions is always a nice surprise. Their pizza is outstanding and really isn't comparable. Don't miss this!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amymeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
298 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Great location, good beer, fantastic new bar refit and Kim!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Finally we managed to visit...as we live in Woodstock VT and are rarely in Middlebury in the evening.We've visited Burlington and Waitsfield locations which were both great...but Middlebury has a secret weapon....Kim...who knows how to tend a good bar, chat to clients and also enjoys life with a great British sense of humour as she hails from Blighty. Also being an Eddie Izzard fan makes her presence at the Flatbread a cherry on top of the cake!

The on tap beers provide an interesting selection, the daily flatbread (Tofu...and I'M A MEAT EATER...but I loved it!) which we ordered as a half and half with the other daily special were the dogs ballcocks! The chilled spinach, courgette (none of this zucchini rubbish for me!) and yoghurt soup to start with followed by a strawberry frangipani tart made for a great supper.

And then there was Kim to chat with.....one of the best looking vegetarians working behind a bar that I've seen in Vermont! She has a great smile, opinions on everything and also understands the irony of British humour (spelled the correct way!)

As Eddie Izzard says.....Herb..there's a feck in' H in the word.....so use it!

It took us 8 years to get there....don't you leave it so long!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Flatbread also viewed

 
Middlebury, VT
 

Been to American Flatbread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing