We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town waterside dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobby

The Lobby
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small town waterside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

As parents of a recent Middlebury College graduate, we have dined at this location over the last four years. Graduation night was our first dinner in the new restaurant since they opened this year. It is nice, casual dining. We were unable to be seated outside or next to window but our upstairs perch allowed a bit of a view. The menu choices were interesting and unusual but there seemed to be something for everyone. The shared appetizer of graham cracker crusted calamari garnered oohs and aahs. For a graduation weekend dinner, we were not rushed - service was friendly and good.

Regarding another reviewers comments about gender specific versus gender neutral restrooms...gender specific restrooms will make me WANT to frequent a business...there are plenty of gender neutral restrooms in Middlebury!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
231 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant on Otter Creek in Middlebury is fairly new. Before it became The Lobby, it was Jackson's on the River. Before that it was Tulley & Marie's and before that it was Woody's. Before that it was the Soup Bowl and before that it was a bakery. Most of these predecessors were successful and I suspect this place will do very well.

We stopped in for dinner with 4 adults and 2 sub-adults and between us, we had: a Classic Burger, a Venison Burger, 2 Black Bean Burgers, a Boar Ravioli, a BLT Salad, and a Smoked Salad. I had the latter salad and it was delicious. Everyone else was happy with their meal and everything was devoured, no leftovers.

This is a delightful addition to was passes for a Middlebury scene. I've been to all of the previous iterations at this location and the food is as good as the best of them, and the interior decor is far and away the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Unlike other restaurants with the same owner, this one has a different atmosphere. There is a good bar, dark walls--almost nightclubby atmosphere--and an outdoor deck fronting on the river we haven't yet had the weather to experience. Service is friendly. The menu is pub food but with a difference, a very welcome difference, some experiments with flavors. It's still relatively new, so time will tell how things even out. But I would happily visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NORNORKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to relax and enjoy the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Lobby brings a much needed blend of eclectic class without pretension to the small town of Middlebury. An absolutely charming exterior and interior. Fascinating little touches throughout. Having a spot to dine on the river is always welcome.

Enjoyed excellent wine and a lamb burger done a perfect medium rare. The food was reasonably priced and I dined with 8 others and they all enjoyed their various choices. Most of us chose burgers and nary a morsel was left of those. No one was impressed by the chips/fries- due to some of the chips being quite over done-almost burnt and some underdone. Also, a little jar of relish came along side and it didn't really pack a punch of flavor. So perhaps that could be tweaked a bit more as well.
One aspect I didn't like (and consistently have problem with at shops and restaurants) was gender specific bathrooms. I just think this is dated and if a bathroom is a single bathroom with a lock it is better to leave it non-specific. All of that aside,
enjoyed great hospitality and the staff was attentive and knowledgable.I have only ate here once and it was in February shortly after it opened. Looking forward to a return visit to try another incredible burger and enjoy the loveliest view in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, VT
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better Than Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I would give The Lobby a 3 1/2. It has a nice view, good food and great service. It is a bit abstract for those who aren't adventuresome when it comes to a meal out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMtVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobby also viewed

 

Been to The Lobby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing